At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $100
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, WebTrader
- Regulators
- FSC Mauritius, SVG FSA, ASIC, SVG FSA
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on ZERO Markets
3.9/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.
ZERO Markets is a plausible fit for forex traders who want MetaTrader and can choose between spread-only Standard pricing and raw-spread Super Zero pricing with commission. Desktop MT4 and MT5 also support Expert Advisors, while the broker lists a wider range of CFD markets. The decisive drawback is that protections and leverage are not uniform: they depend on the contracting entity, jurisdiction and account, and negative-balance protection is not guaranteed for every general retail account. The sections below explain the account-cost trade-off and the relevant client protections.
| Best for | Scalpers and algorithmic forex traders seeking MetaTrader accounts with a choice of spread-based or commission-based pricing. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Traders who require the same negative-balance protection and leverage terms across all jurisdictions and account types. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of Standard and raw-spread Super Zero pricing, with MT4 and MT5 support for desktop Expert Advisors. |
| Main drawback | Protections and trading conditions vary by entity, jurisdiction and account; negative-balance protection is not guaranteed for all general retail accounts. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the stated entity and account terms, costs, platforms, instruments and funding information; it does not claim first-hand trading or withdrawal tests. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers Standard and Super Zero pricing, including raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a stated commission of $2.50 per side per standard forex lot.
- MT4 and MT5 support desktop Expert Advisors and automated trading.
- Lists forex, index, commodity, stock, bond, cryptocurrency and ETF CFD markets.
- Offers a demo account and Islamic account option.
What to consider
- Negative-balance protection is not guaranteed for all general retail accounts.
- Regulatory protections and leverage depend on the entity, jurisdiction and account type.
- Super Zero commissions apply in addition to the spread.
ZERO Markets at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2017 |
| Regulator / licence | ASIC (Zero Securities Pty Ltd AFSL 244040; ZERO Financial Pty Ltd is an authorised representative); FSC Mauritius (ZERO Financial Ltd, GB21026308); New Zealand FMA route identified with FSP569807 (registration is not necessarily an investment-services licence). |
| Minimum initial deposit | $100 USD or equivalent |
| Account types | Standard, Super Zero and Islamic |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and WebTrader |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETF CFDs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 on eligible offshore or professional accounts; jurisdiction and asset limits apply. Australian retail major forex is capped at 1:30. |
| Account / funding currencies | AUD, USD, EUR and GBP |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is ZERO Markets Safe, Legit and Regulated?
3.7/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
ZERO Markets uses several legal routes. Australian clients are identified with ZERO Financial Pty Ltd as an authorised representative (AR 001301717) of Zero Securities Pty Ltd, which holds AFSL 244040; the representative is not itself the AFSL holder. ZERO Financial Ltd is listed under FSC Mauritius licence GB21026308. The New Zealand route identifies ZERO Financial Ltd or an applicable local entity with FSP569807, a registration that is not necessarily a licence to provide investment services.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | ZERO Financial Pty Ltd (AR 001301717) under Zero Securities Pty Ltd (AFSL 244040) (Australian clients via authorised-representative structure); ZERO Financial Ltd / applicable New Zealand entity (New Zealand); ZERO Financial Ltd (International / Mauritius entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | ASIC (Australian clients via authorised-representative structure); FMA (New Zealand) (New Zealand); FSC (Mauritius) (International / Mauritius entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Licence / registration | ASIC: AR 001301717 (under AFSL 244040); FMA (New Zealand): FSP569807; FSC (Mauritius): GB21026308 |
| Client-money arrangements | The broker says client funds are held in segregated accounts. Confirm the arrangements and protections that apply to the entity on your account. |
| Negative balance protection | Stated for eligible Pro Trader account holders; it is not guaranteed for all general retail accounts. Availability depends on jurisdiction and account type. |
| Investor compensation | For Australian clients, ASIC client-money protections are distinct from statutory compensation for broker insolvency. Other group companies and private policies have different terms; trading losses remain the client's risk. |
Segregation of client funds should not be read as statutory compensation for broker insolvency. The listed negative-balance protection is limited to eligible Pro Trader account holders, not all general retail accounts.
ZERO Markets Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
The headline spread is only one part of the cost comparison: trade size and frequency affect how a separate commission weighs against a wider spread. Overnight financing and payment-related conversion costs can also matter, particularly for positions held beyond the trading day or accounts funded in another currency.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Standard uses variable spreads starting from 1.0 pip and generally has no forex lot commission. Super Zero starts from 0.0 pips and charges $2.50 per side per standard forex lot. A 0.0-pip starting spread is not a zero-cost trade: compare the live spread and commission at your usual trade size, since spreads vary.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Swap is charged or credited on positions kept open overnight; the broker says a triple swap is normally applied on Wednesday for weekend settlement. | Swap is charged or credited on positions kept open overnight; the broker says a triple swap is normally applied on Wednesday for weekend settlement. |
| Currency conversion | A currency-conversion charge may apply when a deposit, withdrawal or trade uses a different currency from your account. The cost varies by entity, product and conversion route. | The charge is relevant when a payment, instrument, trading result or settlement needs converting to the account currency. The rate depends on the entity, product and conversion route. |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: ZERO Markets publishes route-specific withdrawal charges: for example selected e-wallet withdrawals cost 1%, and SEPA bank withdrawals may cost 0.2% with a minimum EUR 8; the client portal shows applicable current rates. |
For traders holding positions overnight, swaps may be charged or credited, with triple swap normally applied on Wednesday for weekend settlement. ZERO Markets says it levies no internal deposit or withdrawal fees; payment providers may still charge their own fees, and currency conversion may add a cost when transaction and account currencies differ.
Which ZERO Markets Account Should You Choose?
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
Standard, Super Zero and Islamic accounts each have a $100 minimum deposit or equivalent. The practical choice is between Standard's spread-based forex pricing, which generally avoids a separate lot commission, and Super Zero's raw-spread pricing plus commission; there is no volume threshold in the available terms showing when one becomes cheaper. Compare the live spread and commission with your usual trade size and frequency. Islamic accounts follow the selected base account's spread and commission structure without standard overnight swaps, though administrative holding fees may apply instead. MT4 and MT5 are listed for these accounts; leverage depends on entity, instrument and client classification.
ZERO Markets Trading Platforms
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
ZERO Markets relies on MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and WebTrader rather than a proprietary desktop platform. Traders who need Expert Advisors must use desktop MT4 or MT5; web and mobile access supports monitoring and trading but not bots or custom scripts.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | With MT4, traders can use MQL4 Expert Advisors to automate strategies. Browser and mobile access is useful for checking positions, but neither version runs those bots. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 provides MQL5 indicators, Expert Advisors and backtesting in one desktop terminal. Web and mobile access is available for placing trades, but not for running bots. |
| WebTrader | Web, Mobile | This MetaTrader WebTrader lets you place trades and view charts in a browser or on mobile. It won't run Expert Advisors or custom scripts; for automated trading, you'll need desktop MT4 or MT5. |
For a workflow that depends on automated execution, the choice is between desktop MT4 and MT5; WebTrader is limited to charting and manual access.
Markets and Instruments Available
3.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
The listed range spans leveraged forex and CFDs on indices, commodities, stocks, bonds or rates, cryptocurrencies and ETFs. Product availability and leverage restrictions vary by market, account and region.
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 60 | Keeping a forex trade open overnight can result in swap or financing charges. The account determines which currency pairs are available and the margin required. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:30. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 14 | Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Trading hours, contract terms and financing costs can differ between cash and futures versions. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:20. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 15 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Trading hours vary by contract. Financing charges may also apply. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 813 | Stock CFDs track share prices without giving traders ownership or voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 2 | Trading bond derivatives does not give you the bonds themselves or their coupon payments. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 11 | Crypto-linked contracts provide exposure to price movements, not ownership of the coins. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:2. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 23 | Trading an ETF CFD does not mean owning units in the fund. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. The exact number and selection of ETFs have not been fully verified and may vary by account. |
CFDs provide price exposure without ownership: stock CFD holders have no share ownership or voting rights, while ETF, bond and crypto CFDs do not confer ownership of fund units, bonds or coins. This differs from buying and holding the underlying asset. The stated regional restriction is material for crypto products: UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
ZERO Markets says algorithmic trading, hedging and scalping are permitted, and offers VPS hosting subject to eligibility conditions. It does not provide a standalone direct API. Copy and social trading are available through MT4-linked services, including Signal Start and Brokeree; PAMM is also listed among its platform features.
The broker states that triggered orders fill at the first available quote and that it does not requote; this describes its execution policy, not measured fill quality, and slippage may still affect prices during volatile or illiquid conditions. For market preparation, listed resources include analysis, an economic calendar, price charts, sentiment and news. Video tutorials and blog-based trading explainers provide educational material, but are separate from the execution tools.
ZERO Markets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 3.9
Opening a live account requires identity and address verification, and the stated minimum deposit is $100 or equivalent. Payment options and processing times differ by method, as set out below.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
ZERO Markets requires KYC verification. The stated documents are a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a passport or driver's licence, and recent proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement. The broker's stated address-document age is usually within the previous three to six months.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard opening balance). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: Instant–3 business days. Withdrawal processing time: up to 2 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard opening balance). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard opening balance). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not specified. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard opening balance). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not specified. |
| Payment gateways | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard opening balance). Withdrawals through this method are not confirmed. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal fee information is not available. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not available. |
Customer Support
Support is available by live chat, email and phone, with stated hours of 24/5. Listed support languages include English, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Malaysian, Indonesian and Chinese. The contact email is [email protected] and the phone number is +61 (0)2 7908 3133.
Who Should Choose ZERO Markets?
The most useful decision is whether your forex costs and workflow suit the account you would actually use: Standard avoids a separate forex lot commission, while Super Zero pairs raw spreads with commission; automated strategies require desktop MetaTrader. Traders who need guaranteed negative-balance protection across all retail accounts should not assume it is available.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Scalper or active forex trader | Good, conditional | Super Zero offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips and a stated commission of $2.50 per side per standard forex lot; total costs depend on the live spread and trade size. |
| Algorithmic MetaTrader trader | Good, conditional | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors; desktop is required to run bots, and VPS eligibility conditions apply. |
| Trader prioritising uniform retail protections | Not ideal without checking first | Entity, jurisdiction and account type affect protections; negative-balance protection is not stated as guaranteed for all general retail accounts. |
ZERO Markets vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No commission
ActivTradesForex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, BondsDetailed Review
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade)SEC, FINRA, SIPC, CFTCDetailed Review
For forex, choose Standard if you prefer spread-based pricing or Super Zero if raw spreads suit your trading and you can account for the separate commission; choose desktop MT4 or MT5 if automation is essential.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee ZERO Markets?
The listed routes include ASIC for Australian clients through ZERO Financial Pty Ltd as an authorised representative of Zero Securities Pty Ltd (AFSL 244040), the FSC Mauritius for ZERO Financial Ltd (GB21026308), and a New Zealand FSP registration, FSP569807. The New Zealand registration is not necessarily a licence to provide investment services.
What is the minimum deposit at ZERO Markets?
The stated minimum is $100 USD or equivalent for Standard, Super Zero and Islamic accounts.
How do ZERO Markets' Standard and Super Zero accounts differ?
Standard uses variable spreads starting from 1.0 pip and generally has no forex lot commission. Super Zero has raw spreads starting from 0.0 pips and a $2.50 commission per side per standard forex lot.
Does ZERO Markets offer MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5?
Yes. Both are available, alongside WebTrader. Desktop MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors; the web and mobile versions do not run bots or custom scripts.
What markets can I trade with ZERO Markets?
The listed products include forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, bond or rate CFDs, crypto CFDs and ETF CFDs. These CFDs provide price exposure rather than ownership of the underlying asset, and availability can depend on region and account.
Does ZERO Markets charge deposit or withdrawal fees?
ZERO Markets says it does not charge internal deposit or withdrawal fees. A bank, e-wallet or other payment provider may charge its own fees, and currency conversion charges may apply depending on the transaction route.
Does ZERO Markets guarantee negative-balance protection for every client?
No. It is stated for eligible Pro Trader account holders, but is not guaranteed for all general retail accounts. Availability depends on jurisdiction and account type.