At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $10
- Platforms
- TradingView, MetaTrader 4
- Regulators
- ASIC, FCA, CySEC, CMA, SCB
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on Capital.com
4.5/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and spread bets are leveraged products that can produce rapid losses. Buying shares or ETFs outright involves market risk too, but unlike a CFD it can provide ownership of the underlying security.
Capital.com offers CFD and, where permitted, spread-betting workflows through its app, TradingView and MetaTrader. In September 2026 the broker also introduced direct stock and ETF investing for eligible European Economic Area clients, covering more than 2,280 securities across the combined range. This direct-investment service should not be confused with the platform’s stock and ETF CFDs and was not yet advertised as available to UK clients at launch. MT4 is listed, and MT5 is supported outside the UK. Pricing, protection and product access depend on the legal entity, market and account type; leveraged positions can also incur overnight funding and currency conversion costs.
| Best for | CFD traders seeking app, TradingView or MetaTrader tools; eligible EEA clients seeking both trading and direct stock/ETF investment. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors assuming direct shares and ETFs are available in every country, or clients who want native copy trading. |
| Biggest strength | Web/mobile and chart-platform choice plus the newly introduced direct-investment route for eligible EEA clients. |
| Main drawback | Product ownership, leverage and client protections differ sharply by product, legal entity and country. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses Capital.com’s stated account terms, fees, platforms, markets and entity-specific protections. It does not present broker claims as personal trading or withdrawal test results. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers CFD and regional spread-betting/1X choices, and direct stock and ETF investing for eligible EEA clients.
- Provides a proprietary web and mobile platform alongside TradingView, MT4 and regionally available MT5.
- Lists no broker deposit, withdrawal or inactivity fees.
- Includes a demo account and more than 30 short courses in the Investmate app.
What to consider
- CFD positions do not confer ownership; direct stocks and ETFs are available only to eligible European clients and are not a universal product.
- Overnight financing may apply to leveraged positions, and currency conversion can add a fee.
- Client protections, leverage and available products vary by contracting entity and jurisdiction.
Capital.com at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2016 |
| Regulator / licence | ASIC (AFSL 513393), FCA (793714), CySEC (319/17) and SCB (SIA-F245); the contracting entity depends on your location. |
| Minimum initial deposit | 20 USD/EUR/GBP by card, Apple Pay or e-wallet; bank-transfer minimums are generally 50–100 USD/EUR/GBP, depending on region. |
| Account types | CFD and regional spread betting and 1X choices; direct stock/ETF investing for eligible EEA clients from September 2026. |
| Trading platforms | Capital.com web/mobile platform, TradingView, MT4 and MT5 where available (MT5 unavailable to UK residents). |
| Markets | CFDs on forex, indices, commodities, stocks, crypto assets, ETPs and interest rates; direct stocks and ETFs for eligible EEA clients. |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 30:1 for retail clients in applicable jurisdictions; up to 500:1 may be available to qualifying professional clients on specific assets and under certain jurisdictions. |
| Account / funding currencies | GBP, EUR, USD, AUD, PLN, NOK, CZK, DKK, HUF, SEK, CHF, MXN, HKD and AED. |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is Capital.com Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Capital Com Australia Pty Ltd (Australia); Capital Com SV Investments Limited (EEA / Cyprus); Capital Com (UK) Limited (United Kingdom); Capital Com Online Investments Ltd (International / Bahamas entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | ASIC (Australia); CySEC (EEA / Cyprus); FCA (United Kingdom); SCB (Bahamas) (International / Bahamas entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Licence / registration | ASIC: AFSL 513393; CySEC: 319/17; FCA: 793714; SCB (Bahamas): SIA-F245 |
| Client-money arrangements | Capital.com says retail client funds are segregated from company funds in ring-fenced bank accounts. |
| Negative balance protection | Stated for standard retail accounts. Professional clients may give up certain protections, including negative balance protection, when opting for professional status. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible UK clients may qualify for FSCS cover up to £85,000. Eligible Cyprus ICF claims are subject to a limit of the lower of 90% of a valid claim or €20,000. Other arrangements depend on the entity and eligibility. |
Segregation and negative balance protection do not prevent trading losses. Compensation schemes cover only eligible claims under their rules, not market losses. Capital.com also describes private insurance arrangements for some international clients, subject to eligibility and policy terms.
Capital.com Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
CFD and spread-betting trades generally have no per-trade dealing commission, while the 1X account also uses spread-based pricing. Because spreads vary by instrument, compare the quoted spread for the market you intend to trade rather than treating the commission-free structure as the whole cost.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Leveraged positions kept open overnight may receive a credit or be charged an overnight funding adjustment; unleveraged 1:1 CFD positions are generally exempt except on limited markets. | Leveraged positions kept open overnight may receive a credit or be charged an overnight funding adjustment; unleveraged 1:1 CFD positions are generally exempt except on limited markets. |
| Currency conversion | When the traded currency differs from the account’s currency, Capital.com’s UK pricing lists a conversion markup of 0.7% for retail accounts and 0.5% for Pro accounts. | The UK fee schedule lists a 0.7% conversion markup for retail clients and 0.5% for Pro clients when the market currency differs from the account currency. |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Capital.com lists no broker withdrawal fee for standard supported withdrawal methods; any receiving-bank or payment-provider costs are separate. |
Overnight funding varies with the instrument, trade direction and prevailing rates, so it matters most to positions held beyond the trading day. The 1X account is intended to avoid this charge, though limited market-specific exceptions apply. The broker lists no deposit, withdrawal or inactivity fee; payment-provider charges may be separate.
Which Capital.com Account Should You Choose?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Capital.com Trading Platforms
4.9/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | Pine Script lets you test strategies and set alerts in TradingView. Those alerts are signals rather than live trades unless a compatible bridge or execution service handles them. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | For traders who rely on MQL4, MT4 offers custom indicators, Expert Advisors and strategy testing. Automation stays in the desktop terminal, which can be hosted on a VPS. |
MT5 is not available to UK residents. Device access, direct-investment support and enabled features depend on product and region.
Markets and Instruments Available
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 147 | Trading exotic or less liquid pairs can cost more; holding positions overnight may also incur swap or financing charges. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:30. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 48 | Trading an index CFD does not mean owning the shares that make up the index. Trading hours, contract terms and financing costs can differ between cash and futures versions. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:20. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 83 | Commodity CFDs provide price exposure without physical delivery. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 5100 in supplied CFD listing; direct shares separately available to eligible EEA clients | Stock CFDs track share prices without giving traders ownership or voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 553 | Trading these crypto-linked contracts does not mean owning the coins or holding them in a personal wallet. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:2. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 1300 in supplied CFD listing; direct ETFs separately available to eligible EEA clients | ETF CFDs let traders follow fund prices without buying the ETF units. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients. |
| Others | Interest-rate CFDs; 10 | The range of interest-rate CFDs and their maturity dates vary between regional entities. |
The CFD rows describe derivative price exposure, not ownership of shares, ETF units or coins. Separately, Capital.com launched direct stock and ETF ownership for eligible EEA clients in September 2026, covering more than 2,280 securities in its combined direct-investment range. The new service does not extend automatically to UK or other non-EEA clients. UK retail clients are also excluded from crypto CFDs; contract eligibility and leverage vary by entity and product.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Capital.com Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.7/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.5
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Submit a government-issued photo ID and recent proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement, through the platform or mobile app. The permitted countries and applicable entity depend on the client’s residence, so check eligibility during registration.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 50 / AED 190 (or full smaller balance). | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: up to 3 business days. Withdrawal processing time: Processed within 24 hours; up to 5 business days to arrive. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 20 / AED 80. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 50 / AED 190 (or full smaller balance). | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: Processed within 24 hours; up to 5 business days to arrive. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Generally USD 50 (account minimum; wallet support region-dependent). | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 5 business days. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals through this method are not confirmed. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal fee information is not available. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not available. |
| Mobile Money | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals through this method are not confirmed. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal fee information is not available. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not available. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/7 through live chat, WhatsApp, telephone and email. Support languages include English, German, Italian and Spanish. The contact email is [email protected] and the telephone number is +44 2080893577.
Who Should Choose Capital.com?
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| App-focused CFD trader | Good, if CFDs and regional terms fit | Web and mobile trading, market updates, charting and short educational courses are available. |
| Trader seeking unleveraged exposure | Good, subject to market availability | The 1X account offers 1:1 exposure, spread-based pricing and no overnight financing in its stated schedule. |
| Eligible EEA investor seeking direct shares or ETFs | Conditional | Direct ownership was introduced in September 2026 for eligible EEA clients; CFDs and 1X contracts still provide derivative exposure, not underlying ownership. |
Capital.com vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
FP Markets- No separate currency conversion fee
AdmiralsStocks, ETFs, Bonds, Forex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, CryptocurrenciesDetailed Review
CMC MarketsFCA, ASIC, BaFin, CIRO, MAS, FMADetailed Review
The key account decision is whether the 1X account’s unleveraged exposure suits the markets you want; the separate direct-stock/ETF service is available to eligible EEA investors, not every Capital.com account.
FAQs
Which regulator oversees my Capital.com account?
The regulator depends on your location and contracting entity: the listed entities are supervised by the FCA, CySEC, ASIC or the SCB in the Bahamas. Check your client agreement to identify the entity serving your account.
What is Capital.com’s minimum deposit?
The stated minimum is 20 USD/EUR/GBP for card, Apple Pay or e-wallet funding. Bank-transfer minimums are generally 50–100 USD/EUR/GBP, depending on account and region.
Does Capital.com charge trading commissions?
CFD and spread-betting trading generally uses variable spreads without a separate per-trade dealing commission, although financing and FX conversion may apply. Capital.com announced zero commission for eligible EEA direct stock and ETF investments in September 2026; check any exchange, currency-conversion and account-specific charges.
Which platforms can I use with Capital.com?
Capital.com provides its own web and mobile platform, TradingView and MetaTrader 4. MetaTrader 5 is also supported for eligible clients, but the broker states that MT5 is not available to UK residents. Expert Advisors require a compatible MetaTrader desktop installation or separate hosting.
What markets can I trade at Capital.com?
Capital.com lists CFDs on forex, indices, commodities, stocks, crypto assets, ETPs and interest rates, subject to eligibility. Since 28 September 2026 it has additionally offered direct stock and ETF ownership to eligible EEA clients; the combined direct-investment range exceeds 2,280 securities. These holdings are distinct from CFDs, and the new service is not available to all countries. UK retail clients cannot trade crypto CFDs.
How long do deposits and withdrawals take?
Card and e-wallet deposits are listed as instant, while bank-transfer deposits may take up to three business days. Card and bank-transfer withdrawals are processed within 24 hours and may take up to five business days to arrive; e-wallet withdrawals may take up to five business days. These are processing estimates, not guarantees.