At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $100
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, TradingView
- Regulators
- ASIC, FSCA, FSA, FSC
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on FP Markets
4.4/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.
FP Markets may suit active forex and CFD traders choosing between Standard’s spread-only pricing and Raw’s lower starting spread plus commission. Its platform range includes MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView, subject to account availability. Raw’s starting spread alone does not establish a lower total cost: the commission, trade size and spread at execution all count. The other key limitation is product structure: listed share and crypto markets are CFDs, not direct holdings. The entity serving a client also determines applicable leverage and protections; the regulatory section explains the distinctions.
| Best for | Active forex and CFD traders comparing spread-plus-commission pricing and platform options. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors seeking direct ownership of shares, ETFs or cryptocurrency through the listed CFD products. |
| Biggest strength | Two distinct forex pricing models and access to MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView, subject to account availability. |
| Main drawback | Raw-account costs include commission, and total trading costs depend on the live spread and trade size. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available account, fee, regulatory, platform, market and funding details, distinguishing stated terms from measured outcomes. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Standard and Raw forex pricing models let traders choose between spread-only pricing and a raw spread with commission.
- MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView are listed, with account-dependent availability.
- The broker lists forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrency and ETF CFD markets.
- Demo and social copy-trading options are listed.
What to consider
- The Raw account's $3-per-side-per-standard-lot forex and metals commission must be included when comparing total costs.
- Many listed products are CFDs and do not provide ownership of the underlying shares, ETFs or crypto.
- Leverage, protections and applicable entity depend on client location and classification.
FP Markets at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2005 |
| Regulator / licence | ASIC — First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd, licence 286354; CySEC — First Prudential Markets Ltd, licence 371/18; FSCA — FP Markets (Pty) Ltd, licence 50926. The applicable entity depends on client location and registration. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $100 for Standard and Raw accounts; IRESS accounts: $1,000. |
| Account types | Standard and Raw; IRESS accounts are also listed for share CFDs and DMA trading. |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and TradingView. |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs, offered as CFDs or other derivatives. |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 for eligible international clients; UK/EU retail major-forex leverage is capped at 1:30. Limits depend on entity, classification and product. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, EUR, GBP, SGD, CHF, CAD, JPY, HKD, PLN, ZAR, MXN and BRL. |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is FP Markets Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
FP Markets operates through separate group entities, and the contracting company determines which protections apply. First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd is listed under ASIC authorisation 286354 for Australian clients; First Prudential Markets Ltd holds CySEC licence 371/18 for eligible EEA clients; and FP Markets (Pty) Ltd is listed under FSCA licence 50926. These authorisations do not remove trading risk.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd (Australian clients using the ASIC entity); First Prudential Markets Ltd (EEA/EU clients using fpmarkets.eu); FP Markets (Pty) Ltd (South African clients / clients routed to the South African entity) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | ASIC (Australian clients using the ASIC entity); CySEC (EEA/EU clients using fpmarkets.eu); FSCA (South African clients / clients routed to the South African entity) |
| Licence / registration | ASIC: 286354; CySEC: 371/18; FSCA: 50926 |
| Client-money arrangements | The broker says it segregates client funds from company funds. The stated arrangement does not itself guarantee recovery in an insolvency. |
| Negative balance protection | FP Markets states that it offers negative balance protection; applicable terms may vary by entity and account classification. For Australian retail CFD clients, local protections apply subject to classification. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible retail clients of the Cyprus ICF-member firm may receive the lower of 90% of a qualifying claim or €20,000 if protected assets cannot be returned. Other group entities have separate arrangements; market losses are excluded. |
Segregation is not an insolvency guarantee, while negative balance protection does not prevent losses from market movements; both depend on the applicable terms and client status. Cyprus ICF compensation covers qualifying claims, not trading losses. South African clients should establish whether FP Markets (Pty) Ltd is their CFD provider or an intermediary referring them to another group entity.
FP Markets Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Standard quotes spreads from 1.0 pip with no FX commission; Raw quotes floating spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $3 per side per standard lot for forex and metals. These are starting spreads, not a promise of the spread available when a trade is placed. To compare the models, include the spread at execution and the Raw commission for the trade size, as well as any overnight financing if you hold positions.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Outside forex and metals, the cost structure changes by product: stock CFD commissions depend on the market, with the stated Iress starting rate at 0.11%, while crypto, index and commodity CFDs are typically commission-free, with costs built into the spread.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Holding certain positions beyond the broker’s daily rollover can bring an overnight charge or credit. The rate is not fixed: market, size, trade direction, interest rates and duration all matter. | Overnight funding is linked to the broker’s daily rollover time. The instrument, size, direction, interest rates and number of nights determine the amount. |
| Currency conversion | No | No separate broker currency-conversion fee is listed; exchange-rate costs may still apply |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: FP Markets does not charge for bank-wire withdrawals under its published FAQ; merchants and receiving banks may apply their own transfer charges to certain methods. |
Rollover financing is a separate, variable holding cost: depending on the position, it may be charged or credited. FP Markets lists no broker deposit, withdrawal, inactivity or currency-conversion fee, though external bank or provider charges may still apply.
Which FP Markets Account Should You Choose?
4.9/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Standard suits traders who prefer to avoid a separate forex commission; its quoted spread starts at 1.0 pip, and the minimum deposit is $100. Raw also requires $100 and may suit traders willing to pay $3 per side per standard lot on forex and metals in exchange for a lower starting spread. Neither is automatically cheaper: the actual spread and trade size determine the comparison. Standard lists MT4, MT5 and cTrader, while Raw also lists TradingView. IRESS accounts, with a $1,000 minimum, are described for share CFDs and DMA trading.
FP Markets Trading Platforms
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The platform choice affects where analysis and execution take place. MT4 and MT5 support desktop-based automated strategies, while cTrader offers cBots; TradingView can chart and generate alerts, but an external system is needed to turn those alerts into live trades. Because availability differs by account, select the account and platform together rather than assuming the full lineup is available on every account.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | For traders who rely on MQL4, MT4 offers custom indicators, Expert Advisors and strategy testing. Automation stays in the desktop terminal, which can be hosted on a VPS. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | Multi-asset tools and MQL5 Expert Advisors make MT5 useful beyond basic manual trading. Its full development and testing environment is desktop-only, although trades can be monitored elsewhere. |
| cTrader | Web, Desktop, Mobile | cTrader's C# and Python cBots offer a route to automated trading. You'll need a desktop for coding and backtesting, but supported cloud execution doesn't require a VPS. |
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | TradingView makes technical analysis and strategy backtesting accessible across devices. It can send alert webhooks, but an external system must handle any resulting live trade. |
FP Markets also lists a proprietary mobile app and social copy-trading platform.
Markets and Instruments Available
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 70 | Trading exotic or less liquid pairs can cost more; holding positions overnight may also incur swap or financing charges. Available currency pairs and margin requirements depend on the account. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:30. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 19 | Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Trading hours, contract terms and financing costs can differ between cash and futures versions. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 12 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 10000 | Stock CFDs track share prices without giving traders ownership or voting rights. Holding a position overnight may result in financing costs. Short-selling terms depend on the contract. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:5. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 2 | Trading bond derivatives does not give you the bonds themselves or their coupon payments. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 11 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:2. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 300 | Trading an ETF CFD does not mean owning units in the fund. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:5. |
These markets provide price exposure through leveraged forex and derivatives, not direct holdings of the underlying assets. A CFD tracks a market price but does not convey ownership: stock CFDs confer no shares or voting rights, ETF CFDs no fund units, crypto CFDs no coins, and bond derivatives no bonds or coupon payments. UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives, and available products and leverage depend on market, jurisdiction and account. Some positions may also incur overnight financing.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
For market preparation, FP Markets lists research, trading ideas, an economic calendar, sentiment, Market Buzz and technical analysis; the Academy adds video courses, platform guides, a glossary and multilingual live webinars. Its social trading service and supported third-party options allow copy trading, with provider performance information and allocation settings available to followers. Signal providers may set performance fees from 0% to 50%; subscribers have no registration or maintenance fee under the stated terms. VPS hosting is also listed, with free eligibility tied to monthly volume: 10 standard lots on Standard or 20 lots on Raw. Rapid price changes or limited liquidity can produce better or worse execution than requested, so a stop order may not fill at its requested price.
FP Markets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.9/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Deposits and withdrawals are listed through bank transfer, cards, e-wallets and crypto. The method options have different processing estimates, and the stated card, bank-transfer and some e-wallet timings are specific to Australia rather than guaranteed arrival times for every client.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Live-account activation requires KYC and anti-money-laundering checks. FP Markets lists proof of identity, such as a passport, national ID card or driver's licence, and proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement issued within the previous six months. An applicant’s residence and registration route determine the entity serving the account.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. External bank charges may apply. | Deposit processing time: 1–3 business days (Australia). Withdrawal processing time: 1 business day approval + 1–3 business days arrival (Australia). |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: Usually instant (Australia). Withdrawal processing time: 1 business day approval + 1–3 business days arrival (Australia). |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Skrill/Neteller; provider fees may apply. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: Usually instant. Withdrawal processing time: Usually instant after 1 business day approval (Australia). |
| Crypto | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: Up to 1 hour (network-dependent). Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 business day. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/7 through chat, email, phone, callback service and a help centre. Listed support languages include Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Thai and Vietnamese.
Who Should Choose FP Markets?
The practical choice for an active forex trader is between Standard’s no-FX-commission structure and Raw’s lower starting spread with a per-side commission; the cheaper option depends on the actual trade. The account and platform lineup matters too, since TradingView is listed for Raw but not Standard. For investors, the more decisive distinction is that the listed stock, ETF and crypto products are CFDs rather than direct holdings.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Active forex trader comparing pricing models | Good, if the commission and spread suit your trade size | Standard has no FX commission; Raw combines spreads from 0.0 pips with a $3-per-side-per-standard-lot commission. |
| Trader seeking multiple platform choices | Good | MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView are listed, with account-specific availability. |
| Investor seeking ownership of shares or crypto | Poor | The listed stock and crypto products are CFDs, not ownership of shares or coins. |
FP Markets vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Fusion Markets- Lower commission
ActivTradesForex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, BondsDetailed Review
PepperstoneASIC, SCB, CySEC, DFSA, SCA, BaFin, CMA, FCADetailed Review
For a trader who needs TradingView, the Raw account is the listed route; for one prioritising no separate FX commission, Standard is the alternative. That platform-pricing trade-off is more specific than choosing on the spread alone.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee FP Markets entities?
The listed entities include First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd under ASIC licence 286354, First Prudential Markets Ltd under CySEC licence 371/18 for eligible EEA clients, and FP Markets (Pty) Ltd under FSCA licence 50926. Your contracting entity depends on your location and registration.
What is the minimum deposit for FP Markets accounts?
The listed minimum deposit is $100 for Standard and Raw accounts. IRESS accounts, described for share CFDs and DMA trading, have a $1,000 minimum.
How do FP Markets Standard and Raw forex fees differ?
Standard has spreads starting from 1.0 pip and no FX commission. Raw has floating spreads starting from 0.0 pips and a $3 commission per side per standard lot for forex and metals. Actual trading costs depend on the spread and trade size.
Which trading platforms does FP Markets offer?
FP Markets lists MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and TradingView. Platform availability varies by account; the listed Raw account includes all four, while Standard lists MT4, MT5 and cTrader.
Can I own shares or cryptocurrency through FP Markets?
The listed stock and crypto products are CFDs. Stock CFDs do not provide share ownership or voting rights, and crypto CFDs track prices without providing coins held in a wallet.
What funding and withdrawal methods are listed?
Bank transfer, debit or credit card, e-wallets and crypto are listed for deposits and withdrawals. FP Markets lists no broker fee for bank-transfer deposits and withdrawals, card deposits and withdrawals, and e-wallet deposits and withdrawals; external bank or provider charges may apply.