At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Platforms
- ActivTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView
- Regulators
- FCA, SCB, BACEN & CVM, CMVM, FSC
- Leverage
- 1000
Our Verdict on ActivTrades
4.2/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.
ActivTrades suits traders who want a choice of ActivTrader, MetaTrader and TradingView, alongside research and webinars. Its Individual and Professional accounts use variable spreads, with forex, indices and commodities generally commission-free. The main drawback is that the quoted spread is not the whole cost: share CFD commissions, overnight financing, currency conversion and inactivity charges may also apply. The contracting entity is another important distinction because regulatory and compensation protections differ. ActivTrades is worth considering for its platform choice, but is a less direct fit for investors seeking ownership of assets rather than leveraged price exposure.
| Best for | Forex and CFD traders who want a choice of ActivTrader and MetaTrader platforms, with webinars to develop their skills. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors seeking direct ownership of shares, ETFs, bonds or cryptocurrencies rather than CFDs. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of ActivTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView, complemented by research and educational resources. |
| Main drawback | Total costs can include variable spreads, financing, share CFD commissions, currency conversion and inactivity fees. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses ActivTrades’ stated account terms, fees, protections, platforms, markets and funding information. It does not present broker claims as first-hand test results. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers ActivTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView.
- Forex, indices and commodities are generally commission-free.
- Lists a broad range of CFD markets and research resources.
- Regular webinars cover market developments, charting and risk management.
- The broker says it segregates client funds and offers negative balance protection; UK FSCS protection may apply to eligible claims involving the UK company.
What to consider
- Variable spreads and additional costs mean total trading costs can extend beyond the quoted spread.
- Share CFD commissions may apply, starting from 0.10% of transaction value.
- A $10 monthly inactivity fee may apply after 12 months without activity when there is a positive balance.
- CFDs do not confer ownership of the underlying assets.
- Regulatory and compensation protections differ by contracting entity.
ActivTrades at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2001 |
| Regulator / licence | UK: FCA, ActivTrades PLC, licence 434413. ActivTrades Corp is listed with a Bahamas company registration number, not a verified SCB licence number. |
| Minimum initial deposit | No minimum generally; USD 250 may apply in certain jurisdictions, with higher stated minimums for China and Brazil. |
| Account types | Individual and Professional |
| Trading platforms | ActivTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradingView |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies, ETPs and futures-linked CFDs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:400 on the advertised professional account; retail limits and eligible leverage depend on entity, client classification and asset |
| Account / funding currencies | Account currencies: EUR, USD, GBP, SEK and CHF. Funding currencies: Available funding currencies and conversion charges vary by payment method and contracting entity; see the funding options in the client account |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is ActivTrades Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
ActivTrades PLC, the UK entity, is regulated by the FCA under licence 434413. ActivTrades Corp is identified as a Bahamas entity, but 199667 B is a company registration, not a verified SCB investment-services licence. The contracting entity determines which protections apply.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | ActivTrades PLC (United Kingdom); ActivTrades Corp (International / Bahamas entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | FCA (United Kingdom); SCB (Bahamas) (International / Bahamas entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Licence / registration | FCA: 434413; SCB (Bahamas): 199667 B (company registration; SCB licence number not verified on cited page) |
| Client-money arrangements | ActivTrades says client funds are segregated from company operating funds. Entity-specific terms apply. |
| Negative balance protection | ActivTrades says negative balance protection is available to retail and professional accounts globally; check the terms for the account and entity. |
| Investor compensation | The UK company falls within FSCS investment protection up to £85,000 per eligible claimant, per firm. This does not automatically extend to overseas accounts or cover ordinary market losses. |
Segregation separates client money from company operating funds but does not prevent trading losses. Negative balance protection addresses a different risk: ActivTrades says it is available to retail and professional accounts globally, subject to the relevant terms. FSCS investment protection of up to £85,000 applies to eligible claims involving the UK company; it does not cover ordinary market losses or automatically extend to overseas accounts.
ActivTrades Fees, Spreads and Commissions
3.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
ActivTrades’ pricing combines variable spreads with product-specific charges: most forex, index and commodity trades are generally commission-free, while other costs can affect what you pay. The spread alone therefore does not capture the cost of a trade, particularly when positions are held overnight or involve currency conversion.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
The Individual and Professional accounts use variable bid–ask spreads. Account records describe major FX spreads from about 0.5 pips, while the available EUR/USD listing gives an average of 1.1 pips; these are different pricing measures, not a guaranteed trading cost. Forex, index and commodity trading is generally commission-free, while share CFD commissions start from 0.10% of transaction value. Overnight financing can add to costs when positions are held beyond the daily rollover.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Some positions held overnight incur financing, while others receive a credit. The calculation reflects the instrument, position size, buy/sell direction, interest rates and number of nights held. | This applies to eligible positions still open at the daily rollover time. The rate changes with the instrument, trade size, direction, interest rates and number of nights. |
| Currency conversion | A currency-conversion charge may apply when a deposit, withdrawal or trade uses a different currency from your account. The cost varies by entity, product and conversion route. | The charge is relevant when a payment, instrument, trading result or settlement needs converting to the account currency. The rate depends on the entity, product and conversion route. |
| Inactivity | After 12 months with no activity, the fee is $10 a month. | The $10 monthly charge starts after 12 months without activity. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: Most withdrawals are free. Certain bank transfers may carry a £9 fee (or equivalent), alongside possible bank or destination-country charges. | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Withdrawals are generally free, but a £9 (or equivalent) fee may be charged on certain bank-transfer withdrawals; destination-country or banking charges can also apply. |
Holding positions past the daily rollover makes financing relevant, while an account left inactive can incur the monthly charge shown above. Currency conversion may also affect payments and trading results when their currency differs from the account currency. ActivTrades generally does not charge for deposits, but payment-route, entity, currency or provider charges may still matter.
Which ActivTrades Account Should You Choose?
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
ActivTrades lists Individual and Professional accounts, both with variable spreads and generally no fixed minimum deposit. The Individual account is the straightforward option for traders who do not qualify for Professional status. Professional status may suit eligible, experienced traders seeking the applicable professional terms, but eligibility depends on factors including trading volume, portfolio size and experience; it should not be chosen on leverage alone. Both account types generally avoid forex and CFD dealing commissions, with possible share CFD charges. Minimum deposits can differ by jurisdiction.
ActivTrades Trading Platforms
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
The practical platform choice is between manual trade management through ActivTrader’s web and mobile access, and desktop automation through MT4 or MT5. TradingView can support chart-led analysis and strategy testing, but a Pine Script strategy does not place live broker orders; automatic execution requires a supported external integration.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| ActivTrader | Web, Mobile | ActivTrader is ActivTrades' web and mobile platform for placing trades and managing positions. It's geared toward manual trading; there isn't documented support for writing or running EAs or cBots inside it. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | For traders who rely on MQL4, MT4 offers custom indicators, Expert Advisors and strategy testing. Automation stays in the desktop terminal, which can be hosted on a VPS. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 is designed for multi-asset trading and automated strategies written in MQL5. Its Strategy Tester and EA execution are desktop features; web and mobile are better for everyday trading. |
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | TradingView offers detailed charts, Pine Script strategy testing and alerts. Pine strategies don't place live broker orders by themselves; automatic execution needs a supported external integration. |
Markets and Instruments Available
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 49 | Keeping a forex trade open overnight can result in swap or financing charges. Available currency pairs and margin requirements depend on the account. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:30. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 31 | Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Holding costs, rollovers and trading hours depend on the contract. Leverage can reach 1:1000 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 22 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Financing charges may also apply. Leverage can reach 1:1000 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 1000 | Share CFDs let you trade stock prices without owning the shares. UK retail leverage is usually capped at 1:5, although professional clients and other entities may have different limits. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 6 | Bond derivatives track bond prices without giving traders ownership of the bonds or coupon rights. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:5. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 16 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 500 | ETF CFDs track fund prices without giving traders ownership of ETF units. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:50. |
| Others | Futures-linked CFDs; Futures-linked CFD instruments not counted separately | Some futures-linked CFDs may also appear under other markets. Trading hours, funding costs and rollover rules differ by contract. The number of distinct instruments has not been confirmed. |
These products provide leveraged price exposure, not ownership of the underlying shares, fund units, bonds, commodities or coins; CFD holders do not receive the rights attached to those assets. Which instruments and margin terms are available depends on the account and region, and UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
For research and preparation, ActivTrades lists market analysis, trading ideas, an economic calendar, market sentiment and Market Buzz, while its regular webinars cover market developments, charting and risk management. MT4 and MT5 also support desktop automation and strategy testing; the broker lists API trading and copy trading through Pelican, but gives no further detail here on their functionality. Changing live quotes can result in execution at a different price from the submitted price, which is not a measure of execution quality.
ActivTrades Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
Identity and residence verification are required before clients can fund and trade. Bank transfer, cards, e-wallets and crypto are listed as funding and withdrawal methods, but availability depends on location and account. The payment method also affects processing time and, for some bank transfers, the potential withdrawal fee.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
ActivTrades says verification is digital and requires proof of identity, such as a passport, national identity card or driving licence, and proof of address, such as a recent utility bill or bank statement. Account approval and available services depend on residency and the entity handling the account.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available with no minimum amount. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fee: Up to GBP 9. | Deposit processing time: 3–5 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available with no minimum amount. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: 30 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 business day. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available with no minimum amount. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: 30 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 business day. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available with no minimum amount. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: 30 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 business day. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/7 through chat, phone and email. Listed support languages include English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Bulgarian, Arabic, Chinese, Malay and Vietnamese. The contact email is [email protected] and the phone number is +44 (0) 207 6500 500. Formal complaints follow the procedures of the entity responsible for the account.
Who Should Choose ActivTrades?
ActivTrades is a closer fit for traders who can use its platform choice—particularly manual users of ActivTrader or MetaTrader users who need desktop Expert Advisors—and who are comfortable with CFD exposure. Professional status is not simply an account preference: eligibility depends on trading volume, portfolio size and experience.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Manual trader wanting web and mobile access | Good | ActivTrader provides web and mobile trading, alongside MT4, MT5 and TradingView. |
| Algorithmic trader using MetaTrader | Good | MT4 and MT5 support platform-specific Expert Advisors and desktop strategy testing; VPS hosting is listed subject to trading-volume requirements. |
| Investor seeking direct ownership of shares, funds or crypto | Poor | The listed products are CFDs that track prices and do not provide ownership of the underlying assets. |
ActivTrades vs Alternatives
BDSwiss1:2000Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No withdrawal fee
- No commission
AvaTradeForex Pairs, ETFs, Commodities, Cryptocurrencies, Indices, OptionsDetailed Review
CMC MarketsFCA, ASIC, BaFin, CIRO, MAS, FMADetailed Review
If direct ownership of shares, funds or crypto is essential, the listed CFD products do not meet that requirement.
FAQs
Is ActivTrades regulated?
ActivTrades PLC is regulated by the UK FCA under licence 434413. ActivTrades Corp is identified as a Bahamas entity, but the stated number 199667 B is a company registration, not a verified SCB investment-services licence. Protections depend on your contracting entity.
What account types does ActivTrades offer?
ActivTrades lists Individual and Professional accounts. Both use variable spreads and generally have no fixed minimum deposit, although minimums may apply in certain jurisdictions. Professional-account eligibility depends on factors including trading volume, portfolio size and experience.
Does ActivTrades charge trading commissions?
Forex, indices and commodities are generally commission-free, with costs built into the variable spread. Share CFD commissions may apply and are listed as starting from 0.10% of transaction value. Overnight financing and other fees may also affect total cost.
Which platforms can I use with ActivTrades?
ActivTrades lists ActivTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradingView. MT4 and MT5 support desktop Expert Advisors and strategy testing. TradingView offers charts and Pine Script strategy testing, but a Pine strategy does not place live broker orders without a supported external integration.
What markets can I trade with ActivTrades?
The listed markets include forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, bond CFDs, ETF CFDs, crypto CFDs and futures-linked CFDs. These are derivatives, so they do not provide ownership of the underlying assets. Availability depends on region and account; UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.
How long do deposits and withdrawals take?
Listed estimates are 3–5 business days for bank transfers, about 30 minutes for card and e-wallet deposits, and up to one business day for card and e-wallet withdrawals. Actual availability, fees and processing may depend on the payment method and account entity.