At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Platforms
- thinkorswim Desktop, thinkorswim Web, thinkorswim Mobile, Schwab.com, Schwab Mobile
- Regulators
- SEC, FINRA, SIPC, CFTC
- Leverage
- 50
Our Verdict on Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade)
4.6/5Overall score
Risk warning: Stocks and ETFs can lose value; margin borrowing, forex, options and futures involve additional risks, including leverage, margin calls and losses that can exceed deposited collateral in certain circumstances.
Charles Schwab acquired TD Ameritrade in October 2020 and completed its final legacy-client conversion in May 2024. It suits self-directed investors seeking U.S. stocks, ETFs, options and research, particularly those who want to choose between Schwab’s investing platforms and thinkorswim. Online U.S.-listed stock and ETF trades can be commission-free, while options and other products may carry charges. The broad product range and thinkorswim tools are useful strengths, but Schwab does not offer native copy trading, and negative balance protection is not stated for margin, options or futures. Securities brokerage and futures/forex clients also use separate legal entities with different protection arrangements; the relevant details are set out below.
| Best for | Self-directed investors focused on U.S. markets who want research, account tools and thinkorswim. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Traders seeking native copy trading or negative balance protection on leveraged products. |
| Biggest strength | A broad set of investment products paired with thinkorswim desktop, web and mobile platforms. |
| Main drawback | Costs vary by product, and negative balance protection is not stated for margin, options or futures. |
How we reviewed it: We assessed the stated pricing, account choices, regulatory arrangements, platform capabilities and market access. This is not a first-hand test of execution or withdrawals. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Online U.S.-listed stock and ETF trades can be placed with $0 commission.
- Offers thinkorswim Desktop, Web and Mobile, with advanced charts and options analysis on desktop.
- Provides access to stocks, ETFs, bonds, options, funds and futures, among other products.
- Many standard brokerage account openings have a $0 minimum deposit.
What to consider
- Listed options, futures and some other products carry charges; costs vary by product and service.
- No native copy or social trading is offered.
- Negative balance protection is not stated for margin, options or futures trading.
- SIPC protection does not cover market losses and does not apply to the separate futures and forex affiliate.
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1971 |
| Regulator / licence | For U.S. securities brokerage clients, Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. is listed with FINRA (CRD 5393) and the SEC (8-16514). U.S. futures and forex clients contract with Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC, a CFTC-registered FCM/RFED. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $0 for many standard brokerage account openings; Schwab One International accounts typically request $25,000. |
| Account types | Standard, Retirement, Education Savings, and Specialty/Business. |
| Trading platforms | thinkorswim Desktop, Web and Mobile; Schwab.com; Schwab Mobile. |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, crypto products, ETFs, options, mutual funds and futures. |
| Maximum leverage | Eligible forex clients may use up to 1:50; standard equity margin is generally up to 2:1, while approved portfolio margin may reach 6.6:1. Futures leverage varies by contract and margin. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD. |
| Demo account | Yes; thinkorswim paperMoney provides simulated trading. |
Is Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) Safe, Legit and Regulated?
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
Schwab’s securities brokerage and futures/forex businesses use separate legal entities, so the applicable client protections depend on which business holds the account. The securities broker-dealer is Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.; U.S. futures and forex clients use Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC (United States futures and forex clients); Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (United States securities brokerage clients); Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (United States securities brokerage clients) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | CFTC (United States futures and forex clients); FINRA (United States securities brokerage clients); SEC (United States securities brokerage clients) |
| Licence / registration | CFTC: CFTC-registered FCM/RFED; FINRA: CRD 5393; SEC: 8-16514 |
| Client-money arrangements | Schwab says securities and cash are segregated from corporate assets under the SEC Customer Protection Rule. The futures and forex business is handled by a separate affiliate. |
| Negative balance protection | No negative balance protection is stated for margin, options or futures trading; clients may be responsible for a shortfall. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible assets missing after failure of Schwab's U.S. SIPC-member securities broker-dealer may qualify for up to $500,000 of SIPC protection, including a $250,000 cash limit. This does not cover market losses. Futures and forex positions at the separate affiliate are not protected by SIPC. |
SIPC concerns eligible assets missing after a broker failure, not a fall in investment value. Cash swept to bank accounts may instead be subject to FDIC rules. Segregation is a client-money arrangement, not protection from trading losses.
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
Compare costs by instrument and holding period: a commission-free stock or ETF order does not make borrowing on margin or holding a leveraged position cost-free.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Schwab uses product-based pricing rather than a single account-level spread schedule. Online U.S.-listed stocks and ETFs can be traded commission-free; listed options are $0.65 per contract online. Other products and services may carry separate commissions or fees.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Holding certain positions beyond the broker’s daily rollover can bring an overnight charge or credit. The rate is not fixed: market, size, trade direction, interest rates and duration all matter. | Overnight funding is linked to the broker’s daily rollover time. The instrument, size, direction, interest rates and number of nights determine the amount. |
| Currency conversion | No | No separate broker currency-conversion fee is listed; exchange-rate costs may still apply |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: Outgoing wire transfers may carry a fee (the published individual-investor guide lists $25 for broker-assisted wire transfers and a lower online wire fee when offered). | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Outgoing wire transfers may carry a fee (the published individual-investor guide lists $25 for broker-assisted wire transfers and a lower online wire fee when offered). |
Margin interest adds to the cost of carrying a debit balance, and short positions may incur stock-borrow charges. For those trades, financing and borrow costs can matter more than the initial order charge.
Which Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) Account Should You Choose?
3.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
Schwab lists Standard, Retirement, Education Savings and Specialty/Business accounts. Many brokerage accounts can be opened with $0, and the account records list the same online U.S. stock and ETF pricing and $0.65-per-contract online listed-options fee across these categories. The account label therefore does not, on the stated pricing, determine a different trading-cost schedule; choose by purpose and eligibility instead. Margin has a separate U.S. regulatory minimum of $2,000 in equity. Schwab One International accounts typically request a $25,000 initial deposit.
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) Trading Platforms
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
For chart-led or options-focused work, thinkorswim Desktop offers the most detailed documented setup; Web and Mobile trade some depth for a lighter active-trading workflow. Schwab.com and Schwab Mobile are the simpler choices for account management and routine investing. Alerts and conditional orders support rule-based actions, but the platform information does not document a general-purpose environment for unattended trading bots.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| thinkorswim Desktop | Desktop | thinkorswim Desktop offers detailed charts, options analysis and plenty of room to customise an active-trading setup. You can use thinkScript for studies, alerts and conditional logic, but it isn't documented as a general-purpose, unattended trading-bot engine. It's a powerful desktop tool, though it takes some learning. |
| thinkorswim Web | Web, Mobile | thinkorswim Web gives you a lighter way to trade actively and study charts in a browser, with mobile access as well. It includes alerts, studies and conditional orders, but not a documented way to run your own unattended trading bots. Some of the desktop platform's deeper tools are missing. |
| thinkorswim Mobile | Mobile | thinkorswim Mobile covers trading, charts, alerts and position management on your phone. You can use alerts and conditional orders, but it doesn't offer the desktop version's level of customisation or a general-purpose environment for coding unattended trading bots. |
| Schwab.com | Web, Mobile | Schwab.com is a convenient place to manage an investing account and place trades through the web or mobile. It isn't intended to be a programmable trading workstation, and no built-in bot-development environment is documented. |
| Schwab Mobile | Mobile | Schwab Mobile helps you place trades, keep an eye on investments and manage your account from your phone. It has fewer specialist trading tools than thinkorswim, and there's no documented environment for creating your own automated strategies. |
Markets and Instruments Available
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Spot forex (margin); 82 | Forex trading involves leverage. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:50. |
| Indices | Index futures / options / ETFs; 50 | Index trading is available through ETFs, futures and options; you cannot own an index itself. Futures margin may work out to roughly 1:8 to 1:33 leverage. |
| Commodities | Commodity futures / options; 50 | Commodity trading is offered through futures, options and funds, with no physical delivery. Futures margin may be roughly equivalent to 1:8 to 1:33 leverage. |
| Stocks | Direct shares; 12000 | You can buy shares outright, including fractional shares if eligible. Borrowing on margin needs separate approval and depends on the security and account. |
| Bonds | Direct bonds; 60000 | Treasury, corporate and municipal bonds are offered. Which ones you can trade, and whether margin is required, depends on the security and account. |
| Crypto | Crypto futures / crypto ETPs; 10 | You can get crypto exposure through exchange-traded products and futures, while buying coins directly follows separate rules. The UK retail restriction covers derivatives, not every crypto product. |
| ETFs | Direct ETFs; 2300 | These ETFs are held outright, not as CFDs. Borrowing against them requires approval and depends on the security. |
| Options | Exchange-traded options; Only markets/exchanges reported, not individual options contracts | The selection of listed options changes with strike prices and expiry dates. You may need trading approval, and margin requirements depend on the strategy. |
| Others | Mutual funds / futures; 9000 | Mutual fund access, transaction fees and futures margin requirements all vary by product and account. |
The key distinction is whether a position represents ownership or exposure through a contract. Stocks and ETFs are held outright, while an index is accessed through ETFs, futures or options rather than owned directly. Commodity exposure uses futures, options or funds, with no physical delivery; crypto ETPs and futures likewise do not mean that coins are bought directly through the same route.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
Screeners, price charts, trading ideas and market commentary support market review, while the economic calendar can help track scheduled events. Guides and learning events cover stocks, ETFs, bonds, options and portfolio planning. thinkorswim adds advanced charts, thinkScript custom studies and paperMoney simulation; API access is listed for market data, account information and order management. These resources support analysis, practice and account or order workflows, but do not establish a particular execution result: best-execution requirements apply, while changing market conditions can still produce price improvement or slippage. Schwab does not offer native copy or social trading.
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
3.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.6
Opening an account involves KYC and AML checks, and eligibility can vary by residence and account type. Schwab’s stated application information may require personal details, a U.S. SSN or TIN for U.S. citizens, government-issued photo identification and proof of residence.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Applicants should be prepared to provide their legal name, date of birth, employment status and residential address. Stated identity documents include a valid passport or driver's licence; proof of residence may be a recent utility bill or bank statement showing the applicant's name and current address. Approval and available account options depend on the applicant and account.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available with no minimum amount. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 1 (US ACH only). | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: 1–3 business days. Withdrawal processing time is not specified. |
Customer Support
Support is available by phone, chat and email, with branch support also listed. The stated support hours are 24/7, and supported languages include English, Spanish, Chinese and Cantonese. The U.S. phone number listed is 800-435-4000.
Who Should Choose Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade)?
Choose by workflow as well as account purpose: routine investing can use Schwab.com or Schwab Mobile, while chart- and options-led activity points to thinkorswim. For options, that platform choice comes with a $0.65-per-contract online charge and applicable trading approval; the table below compares the main user profiles.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Self-directed U.S. stock and ETF investor | Good | Online U.S.-listed stock and ETF trades can be $0 commission, with multiple account types and research tools. |
| Active options trader | Conditional | thinkorswim offers advanced charts and options analysis, while online listed options cost $0.65 per contract and require applicable trading approval. |
| Copy trader seeking negative-balance protection | Poor | Schwab does not offer native copy trading and does not state negative balance protection for margin, options or futures. |
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade) vs Alternatives
Saxo1:100Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capitalcore- No overnight swap fee
- No commission
ActivTradesFCA, SCB, BACEN & CVM, CMVM, FSCDetailed Review
Schwab’s strongest case is direct U.S. securities investing with research and dedicated active-trading tools; it is a poor match when native copy trading or stated negative-balance protection for margin, options or futures is essential.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee Charles Schwab's U.S. brokerage and futures or forex businesses?
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. is listed with FINRA as CRD 5393 and with the SEC as 8-16514 for U.S. securities brokerage clients. U.S. futures and forex clients use Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC, a CFTC-registered FCM/RFED.
What is the minimum deposit to open a Schwab account?
Many standard brokerage accounts can be opened with $0. Schwab One International accounts typically request a $25,000 initial deposit. Margin trading has a separate $2,000 minimum-equity requirement under the stated U.S. rules.
What does Schwab charge for online U.S. stock, ETF and options trades?
Online U.S.-listed stock and ETF trades can be $0 commission; online listed options cost $0.65 per contract. Other products and services may carry separate charges.
Which trading platforms does Schwab offer?
Schwab lists thinkorswim Desktop, Web and Mobile, along with Schwab.com and Schwab Mobile. thinkorswim Desktop has detailed charting and options analysis; Web and Mobile provide a lighter active-trading experience.
Can Schwab clients use copy trading or paper trading?
Schwab does not offer native copy or social trading. thinkorswim paperMoney provides simulated trading for practice.
How are eligible Schwab securities accounts protected if the broker fails?
Eligible assets missing after failure of Schwab's U.S. SIPC-member securities broker-dealer may qualify for up to $500,000 of SIPC protection, including a $250,000 cash limit. SIPC does not cover market losses, and positions in the separate futures and forex affiliate are not protected by SIPC.
How long do Schwab bank-transfer deposits take, and are deposits charged?
Bank-transfer deposits take 1–3 business days, and Schwab does not charge a deposit fee. Withdrawal timing is not specified here; outgoing wire transfers may carry a fee.