Skip to content
ENLanguage & region

Language

EN
Find my broker
Menu
FxBrokersRankBroker reviewsSaxo

Saxo review

Trading involves risk. You can lose money.

Review score

Review score 4.8/ 5
Trust & safety
5.0
Fees & commission
5.0
Platforms & tools
5.0
Deposits & withdrawals
3.7
Customer support
2.8
Account opening
3.8
Tradable instruments
5.0
How we assess brokers
01

At a glance

Minimum deposit
$0
Platforms
SaxoInvestor, SaxoTrader
Regulators
DFSA, FCA, MAS, FINMA, JFSA, ACPR, CONSOB
Leverage
100
02

Our Verdict on Saxo

4.8/5Overall score

Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged products can result in rapid losses. You may lose money, and leverage magnifies both gains and losses.

Saxo suits experienced investors who want broad market access and proprietary platforms for both investing and active trading. Its range combines direct securities with derivatives, while SaxoInvestor and SaxoTrader serve different workflows. The main trade-off is pricing: charges vary by market, product and tier, and currency conversion or overnight financing can add to trading costs. Higher tiers have lower listed UK share and ETF commissions, but require substantial funding or qualifying volume. Saxo is a weaker fit for retail traders who want a native public copy-trading marketplace or uniform pricing.

Best forExperienced international investors seeking broad multi-asset access and advanced platforms.
Not ideal forRetail traders who want a native public copy-trading marketplace or straightforward uniform pricing.
Biggest strengthA wide range of direct investments and derivatives across multiple asset classes, supported by proprietary platforms.
Main drawbackCosts vary by market, product and tier, and higher account tiers have substantial stated thresholds.

How we reviewed it: This review assesses Saxo's stated account terms, fees, regulatory entities, platforms and product range; it does not claim first-hand testing. See our review methodology.

What stands out

  • Offers direct investments and derivatives across multiple asset classes.
  • SaxoTrader is available on web, desktop and mobile, with advanced charting and order tools.
  • Classic has no fixed minimum funding requirement.

What to consider

  • Commissions, spreads and other charges vary by market, product and account tier.
  • Platinum and VIP have substantial stated UK funding or qualifying-volume thresholds.
  • There is no native public retail copy-trading marketplace.
03

Saxo at a Glance

FeatureBroker disclosures and checked findings
Founded1992
Regulator / licenceRegulatory arrangements vary by entity. Listed regulators include the FCA, FINMA, JFSA and MAS.
Minimum initial depositNo minimum for a Classic account; local first-deposit requirements may differ.
Account typesClassic, Platinum and VIP
Trading platformsSaxoInvestor and SaxoTrader
MarketsForex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, crypto ETPs and derivatives, ETFs, options and futures
Maximum leverageDepends on jurisdiction, client classification and product. Eligible retail clients may receive up to 1:30 on major FX pairs; qualifying professional clients may receive up to 1:100.
Account / funding currenciesAED, AUD, CAD, CHF, CNH, CZK, DKK, EUR, GBP, HKD, HUF, ILS, JPY, MXN, NOK, NZD, PLN, RON, TRY, SEK, SGD, ZAR and USD
Demo accountYes
04

Is Saxo Safe, Legit and Regulated?

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

Saxo serves clients through locally regulated entities, and the contracting entity determines which protections apply. For example, Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd is authorised by the FCA under licence 551422; Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG is a FINMA-supervised Swiss bank. Saxo Bank Securities Ltd is regulated in Japan, while Saxo Capital Markets Pte. Ltd. serves Singapore under MAS permissions.

Regulation and Client Protections

Regulatory questionDocumented finding and limitations
Contracting legal entitiesSaxo Capital Markets UK Ltd (United Kingdom); Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG (Switzerland); Saxo Bank Securities Ltd (Japan); Saxo Capital Markets Pte. Ltd. (Singapore)
Regulators / jurisdictionsFCA (United Kingdom); FINMA (Switzerland); JFSA (Japan); MAS (Singapore)
Licence / registrationFCA: 551422; FINMA: FINMA-authorised bank; JFSA: Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Kinsho) No.239; MAS: MAS Capital Markets Services licence
Client-money arrangementsSaxo states that retail client money and financial assets are segregated from its own funds. The applicable arrangements depend on the entity and local rules.
Negative balance protectionAvailable to retail clients for relevant margin products. Professional clients are excluded and may be liable for a negative balance.
Investor compensationEligible clients of Saxo Bank A/S and certain covered branches may qualify for Danish protection up to the equivalent of €100,000 for deposits and €20,000 for unreturned client securities, subject to scheme rules. Other subsidiaries have separate arrangements.

Segregation does not prevent trading losses, and compensation is not universal protection against them. Danish scheme eligibility and limits apply only to eligible clients of Saxo Bank A/S and certain covered branches; other subsidiaries have separate arrangements. Retail negative balance protection applies to relevant margin products, but professional clients are excluded and may owe a negative balance.

05

Saxo Fees, Spreads and Commissions

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

Saxo's pricing combines charges that apply at different stages of a trade: commissions or spreads when entering or exiting, financing for eligible overnight positions, and conversion when settlement is in another currency. The overall cost therefore depends on the product and how it is traded, rather than a single headline rate.

Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs

Commissions vary by product, market and tier. For UK shares and ETFs, the listed headline commission is 0.08% on Classic, 0.05% on Platinum and 0.03% on VIP, subject to market minimums. Account records describe FX spreads starting from 0.4 pips for Classic and 0.3 pips for Platinum and VIP; these are starting prices, not verified average spreads. The EUR/USD spread and commission convention are not established here.

Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees

FeeAmount / triggerConditions
Overnight financing, swap or margin interestSome positions held overnight incur financing, while others receive a credit. The calculation reflects the instrument, position size, buy/sell direction, interest rates and number of nights held.This applies to eligible positions still open at the daily rollover time. The rate changes with the instrument, trade size, direction, interest rates and number of nights.
Currency conversionSaxo adds a markup for settlement in a currency other than the account currency. Its current UK schedule ranges between 0.20% and 0.60%, depending on account tier.A currency-conversion markup applies when settlement occurs in a currency different from the account currency. Current UK pricing ranges from 0.20% to 0.60% depending on account tier.
InactivityNoNot applicable (no inactivity fee is listed)
Deposits / withdrawalsDeposit: Yes; Withdrawal: NoDeposit: Saxo does not charge wire or instant-funding deposit fees; eligible EEA-issued debit cards are free, while other debit cards may incur card-operator charges of 0.51%–2.24%, displayed before confirmation; Withdrawal: Saxo itself charges no standard withdrawal fee; intermediary and receiving banks may charge for international transfers.

Trading frequency and holding period change which costs deserve the most attention: commissions are especially relevant when comparing frequent share or ETF trades, while overnight financing matters for leveraged positions kept open beyond rollover. Settlement in a different currency adds a separate cost, regardless of the trade's entry price.

06

Which Saxo Account Should You Choose?

3.5/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

Classic is the straightforward starting point: it has no fixed minimum funding requirement and avoids the substantial UK thresholds attached to Platinum and VIP. The higher tiers may be worth considering for clients who meet their funding or qualifying-volume requirements and trade UK shares or ETFs, where the listed headline commissions are lower. Platinum also includes priority support; VIP includes a personal relationship manager. The choice is therefore not simply a lower rate versus a higher rate: it depends on whether your activity qualifies you and whether the listed commission difference and service features matter to your use of the account.

07

Saxo Trading Platforms

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

The platform choice follows the task. SaxoInvestor is geared toward longer-term investing and portfolio monitoring; SaxoTrader is the active-trading workspace, with more advanced charting and order tools. SaxoTrader runs on web, desktop and mobile, although some advanced features are desktop-specific. For custom automation, Saxo provides a separate API rather than a built-in scripting editor.

Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms

PlatformAvailabilityEvidence-backed strength or limitation
SaxoInvestorWeb, MobileSaxoInvestor is aimed at longer-term investing and watching your portfolio through web or mobile, rather than active trading. Saxo has a separate OpenAPI for programmers, but there's no built-in coding tool in SaxoInvestor. Traders who need more advanced features may prefer SaxoTrader.
SaxoTraderWeb, Desktop, MobileSaxoTrader offers more advanced charting and order tools for active multi-asset trading across web, desktop and mobile. If you want to automate your own strategies, you can use Saxo's separate OpenAPI; it isn't built into the platform as a scripting editor. Some advanced features are specific to the desktop version.
08

Markets and Instruments Available

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

Saxo combines direct investments with derivatives, but the distinction affects what the client holds: buying a share or ETF outright gives ownership of the underlying security or fund, whereas a CFD provides price exposure without ownership. Product access, margin and permissions depend on the account and region.

Asset classProducts offeredRestriction
ForexSpot FX / FX forwards; 185There are at least 185 forex pairs, with retail margin starting at 3.33% on certain pairs, roughly equivalent to 1:30 leverage.
IndicesIndex CFDs / futures / options; 20Index CFDs follow index prices without giving traders ownership of the underlying shares. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:20.
CommoditiesCommodity CFDs / futures / options / spot metals; 20Commodity CFDs, futures, options and spot metals each have different trading terms. Leverage may reach 1:20 for eligible clients.
StocksDirect shares / stock CFDs; 23000A direct share purchase makes you a shareholder, unlike trading a share CFD. CFD positions held overnight may incur financing charges. The instruments available and margin requirements depend on the account. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients.
BondsDirect bonds; 5200You can invest directly in more than 5,200 government and corporate bonds as cash securities, rather than through bond CFDs.
CryptoCrypto ETPs / derivatives; 6Crypto exposure is offered through exchange-traded products or derivatives rather than a personal wallet. UK retail clients cannot trade crypto derivatives, and product access depends on the account and region.
ETFsDirect ETFs / ETNs / ETF CFDs; 7400Buying an ETF outright gives you fund ownership; an ETF CFD does not. The selection and margin requirements depend on the account and region. The ETF count and selection have not been fully verified and may differ by account.
OptionsListed options / FX options; Only markets/exchanges reported, not individual options contractsListed options are offered on more than 20 exchanges. Available strikes and expiries change, and the margin required depends on the strategy.
OthersExchange-traded futures; 250Futures expire on set dates, with margin requirements determined by each exchange. You need account approval to trade them.

Crypto access is a material exception to direct ownership: exposure comes through ETPs or derivatives, not a personal wallet, and UK retail clients cannot trade crypto derivatives. The available choice is therefore broader than CFDs alone, but it does not include direct cryptocurrency holdings.

09

Execution, Trading Tools and Research

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

For market preparation, Saxo lists Market Research, Trading Ideas, Trading Signals, price charts and market news. Its educational material—specialist webinars, product guides and beginner futures and options lessons—can help with product knowledge, but is distinct from tools that place or manage trades.

Execution-related tools include a Level 2 order book, Time & Sales, trailing and stop-limit orders, and a multi-screen workspace. Saxo supports OpenAPI for developers, including portfolio data and trade placement, and a FIX API for institutional clients; it has no native public retail copy-trading marketplace. Saxo describes its slippage policy as treating positive and negative slippage consistently, with price improvements possible; this is not a measured execution result.

10

Saxo Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening

3.5/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.8

Account opening starts with identity verification; once approved, clients can fund by bank transfer or debit or credit card. Both are listed as instant for deposits, while bank transfer is the only confirmed withdrawal method here. Classic has no fixed minimum funding requirement, though local first-deposit conditions may apply.

Account Opening and Identity Verification

Saxo requires KYC verification before clients can fund an account and start trading. The onboarding requirements may include a valid passport or national identity card, proof of residence such as a recent bank statement or utility bill, and personal and financial details. Saxo may also request updated KYC information or proof of funds as part of ongoing checks.

Deposit and Withdrawal Methods

MethodDeposit / withdrawal availabilityBroker feeProcessing time
Bank transferDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not specified.
Debit / credit cardDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals through this method are not confirmed.No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal fee information is not available.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time is not available.

Customer Support

Listed support channels include the help center, in-platform support and phone. Support is listed as 24/5, with service channels and language availability varying by country. Listed support languages include English, Danish, French, Dutch, Italian, Polish, German, Czech, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese and Portuguese.

11

Who Should Choose Saxo?

Saxo is most compelling when an investor expects to use both its direct-security range and its more advanced trading tools. For a simpler starting point, Classic avoids a fixed funding minimum; Platinum and VIP make more sense only for clients who meet their UK funding or qualifying-volume thresholds and can benefit from the lower listed UK share and ETF commissions or tier-specific services.

ProfileFitDecisive reason
Experienced multi-asset investorGoodAccess to direct securities and derivatives across multiple asset classes, with SaxoInvestor and SaxoTrader platforms.
Client seeking higher-tier pricingConditionalPlatinum and VIP have lower listed UK share and ETF headline commissions, but their stated funding or qualifying-volume thresholds are substantial.
Retail copy-trading seekerPoorSaxo does not offer a native public retail copy-trading marketplace.

Saxo vs Alternatives

The clearest dividing line is the trading workflow: choose SaxoInvestor for portfolio-focused investing, or SaxoTrader for more advanced active trading; clients seeking a native public copy-trading marketplace will need a different setup.

?

FAQs

Which regulators oversee Saxo?

Regulation depends on the contracting entity. Listed examples include the FCA for Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd, FINMA for Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG, the JFSA for Saxo Bank Securities Ltd in Japan, and MAS for Saxo Capital Markets Pte. Ltd. in Singapore.

Does Saxo require a minimum deposit?

Classic has no fixed minimum funding requirement. Higher tiers have stated UK thresholds of £200,000 for Platinum and £1,000,000 for VIP, or qualifying trading volume. Local first-deposit conditions may differ.

What trading fees should Saxo clients consider?

Costs can include product- and tier-dependent commissions, spreads, overnight financing and currency conversion. Saxo's current UK conversion schedule ranges from 0.20% to 0.60% depending on tier. Check the terms for the specific product and market.

Which platforms does Saxo offer?

SaxoInvestor is aimed at longer-term investing and portfolio monitoring. SaxoTrader is the more advanced trading platform and is available on web, desktop and mobile, with some advanced features specific to desktop.

Can retail clients copy other Saxo traders automatically?

Saxo does not offer a native public retail copy-trading marketplace. It supports OpenAPI for developers, and SaxoTrader provides trade signals that clients can use to inform their own decisions.

What funding methods are listed?

Bank transfer and debit or credit card are listed as deposit methods. Bank transfers are also listed for withdrawals; card withdrawals are not confirmed. The applicable availability and processing details can depend on the method and location.

Saxo reader reviews

Read what other readers experienced, then share the details that mattered to you.

Share your experience

Set out what worked, what did not, and what others should check.

Your rating