At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $50
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, Windsor Brokers App
- Regulators
- FSA, JSC, CMA, FSC
- Leverage
- 2000
Our Verdict on Windsor Brokers
4.0/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex, leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.
Founded in 1988, Windsor Brokers combines MT4 and MT5 with a range of CFD markets and three forex pricing options. Prime has no separate forex commission; Zero and VIP ZERO use raw spreads with per-lot charges, so the better fit depends on trading volume and the account available through your entity. The key drawback is that investor protections are not uniform: international clients should not assume they qualify for European compensation rights. Leverage also depends on the entity and product, making the contracting company an important part of the decision.
| Best for | Intermediate forex and CFD traders who value MT4/MT5 and regular education resources. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Traders who require uniform compensation protection across jurisdictions or do not want leveraged CFD exposure. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of MetaTrader platforms and account pricing structures, with a broad range of CFD markets. |
| Main drawback | Regulation and investor protections vary by licensed company, while raw-spread accounts add commissions. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available account, regulatory, fee, platform, market and funding information; it does not claim first-hand trading or withdrawal testing. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- MT4 and MT5 are available across desktop, web and mobile.
- Prime offers forex trading without a separate forex commission, while raw-spread Zero and VIP ZERO options are also listed.
- A demo account, copy trading, educational resources and market research tools are listed.
- The broker states that it segregates client funds and provides negative balance protection.
What to consider
- Regulatory arrangements and investor protections differ by contracting entity; offshore clients do not automatically receive European compensation rights.
- Zero and VIP ZERO add per-lot commissions, and VIP ZERO requires application.
- Currency conversion and overnight financing costs may apply, and an inactivity fee may be charged.
Windsor Brokers at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1988 |
| Regulator / licence | Regulators listed for the group include FSA, JSC, CMA and FSC. The Seychelles licence number for Windsor Brokers International Ltd is not published here. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $50 (listed minimum; account and entity terms may vary) |
| Account types | Prime, Zero and VIP ZERO |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and Windsor Brokers App |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:2,000 for eligible international clients on forex; limits depend on entity, product and regional rules. EU/CySEC residents are capped at 1:30 on forex. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, GBP, EUR and JPY |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is Windsor Brokers Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Windsor Brokers operates through entities with different regulatory arrangements, so the protections that apply depend on the company named in your account agreement. The available entity-level record identifies Windsor Brokers International Ltd for international clients outside the USA and EEA as regulated by the Seychelles FSA; its licence number is not published in that record. The group also lists FSA, JSC, CMA and FSC, but those regulators should not be assumed to cover every client.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Windsor Brokers International Ltd (International / rest-of-world clients excluding USA and EEA) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | FSA (Seychelles) (International / rest-of-world clients excluding USA and EEA) |
| Licence / registration | FSA (Seychelles): Not published |
| Client-money arrangements | Client funds are stated to be segregated. |
| Negative balance protection | Negative balance protection is stated to be available; the applicable entity and account terms should be confirmed. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible European accounts may fall within local compensation schemes. Offshore clients do not automatically share those rights. Supplemental excess-of-loss civil liability insurance of up to $5,000,000 per client is stated for the offshore entity. |
Segregation and negative balance protection are stated protections, not guarantees against trading losses or provider failure. Compensation depends on the licensed company and client circumstances; the offshore insurance statement is not a universal compensation scheme and does not apply to every account.
Windsor Brokers Fees, Spreads and Commissions
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Compare the commission-inclusive cost of Zero or VIP ZERO with Prime’s spread-based forex price: a raw starting spread alone does not show which account will cost less for your trading. Positions held overnight may incur financing, while currency conversion and inactivity charges can affect costs beyond individual trades.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
The listed average EUR/USD spread is 1.13 pips, but no verified account-level spread series is available here. Starting spreads are not observed averages, so that figure cannot establish the typical cost for a specific account.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | For trades carried overnight, a swap charge or credit may apply. It is based on the instrument, how large the position is, whether it is long or short, prevailing rates and time held. | Only qualifying positions that stay open past rollover are affected. Charges or credits depend on the product, position size, buy/sell direction, benchmark rates and holding period. |
| Currency conversion | When transactions or trading results are in a different currency, the broker may apply a conversion fee or rate markup. The exact cost depends on the entity, product and route. | The currency used for funding, withdrawing, trading or settling needs to differ from the account currency for conversion costs to arise. The amount varies by product, entity and method. |
| Inactivity | An inactivity charge may apply. How much it costs and when it starts vary by account type and region. | The account needs to pass its specified inactivity period before any fee is due; rates can differ by entity. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: Selected e-wallet methods carry a USD/EUR/GBP 3 charge per transaction; other methods and entities may vary | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Windsor Brokers lists a USD 3 e-wallet withdrawal fee in the supplied method-specific table; international bank or intermediary fees depend on the withdrawal route. |
The stated general inactivity schedule is $3 per month after six consecutive months, though terms can vary by entity and account. The broker lists no deposit fee, but payment providers may charge separately.
Which Windsor Brokers Account Should You Choose?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Prime is the straightforward choice if you prefer a spread-based forex price without a separate forex commission; it lists floating spreads from 1 pip and a $50 minimum deposit. Zero exchanges that pricing for raw spreads from 0.0 pips and an $8 round-trip commission per standard lot, with the minimum deposit dependent on entity or region. VIP ZERO lists a lower $5 round-trip commission, but access requires an application and no standard opening deposit is published. The choice therefore turns on eligibility as well as how you weigh spread against commission.
Windsor Brokers Trading Platforms
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
MT4 and MT5 support desktop, web and mobile workflows, but automated execution is tied to desktop software or a VPS. The Windsor Brokers App is for account management and monitoring, not direct trade placement; trades are made through linked MT4 or MT5 platforms.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | If you use Expert Advisors, MT4 gives you a well-established MQL4 setup. You'll need its desktop version or a VPS to run them; web and mobile are mainly for trading and monitoring. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 combines advanced order tools with MQL5 trading bots and a Strategy Tester. The trade-off is that custom-code work and bot execution require desktop software or a VPS. |
| Windsor Brokers App | Mobile | Despite the name, Windsor Brokers App is mainly for managing an account and monitoring activity, not placing trades directly. Windsor says trading is done through the linked MT4 or MT5 platforms. The app itself doesn't offer trading-bot automation. |
For a manual trading workflow, either MetaTrader platform is available on web and mobile; choosing between MT4 and MT5 matters more if you rely on their distinct MQL4 or MQL5 environments.
Markets and Instruments Available
3.9/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
The listed markets provide leveraged CFD exposure, not ownership of the underlying assets. The distinction matters most for share, bond, commodity, crypto and ETF contracts: these do not confer the ownership rights associated with holding the underlying instrument. Availability and leverage depend on product, account and jurisdiction.
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 50 | The forex range has at least 50 pairs. Dynamic leverage may go as high as 1:2000, subject to account type and regional rules. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 15 | Trading an index CFD does not mean owning the shares that make up the index. Holding costs, rollovers and trading hours depend on the contract. Leverage can reach 1:700 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 14 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Financing charges may also apply. Leverage can reach 1:50 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 150 | At least 150 stock CFDs are offered, with leverage up to 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 4 | Bond-price derivatives track prices without giving you ownership of the bonds or rights to coupon payments. Funding and margin rules vary by contract, and eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:250. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 5 | Crypto-linked contracts provide exposure to price movements, not ownership of the coins. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:500. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; Availability varies by platform or jurisdiction; market-specific count unavailable | Trading an ETF CFD does not mean owning units in the fund. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. The exact number and selection of ETFs have not been fully verified and may vary by account. |
The range spans several CFD categories, but ETF selection is not fully verified and varies by platform or jurisdiction. Crypto CFDs are unavailable to UK retail clients, making regional eligibility a material limitation for anyone seeking that exposure.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
For market preparation, Windsor Brokers lists Market Research, Trading Ideas, Trading Signals, an Economic Calendar, Market Sentiment and Forex Calculators; its education section includes webinars, courses, eBooks, videos and a glossary. Copy and social trading, API trading, and VPS hosting are also listed, alongside MT4 and MT5 Expert Advisors. Thin liquidity and unstable prices can move executions away from requested levels, and the available tools do not establish a particular execution outcome.
Windsor Brokers Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
KYC verification is required, and the listed minimum deposit is $50. That figure does not establish the minimum for every account: Prime specifies $50, while Zero and VIP ZERO have different or unpublished opening conditions.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Windsor Brokers requires KYC verification. The required documents, approval steps and country-specific eligibility details: Upload a valid passport or national ID plus proof of residence (such as a utility bill or bank statement) dated within six months via the WB Portal. Eligible documents and approval depend on country of residence.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: 1–7 business days. Withdrawal processing time: up to 7 business days. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fee: USD 3. | Deposits are processed on the same business day. Withdrawals are processed on the same business day. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/7 by live chat, email and phone. Support languages include English, Arabic, Greek, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Russian, Romanian, Serbian, Thai, Vietnamese and Indonesian. Email: [email protected]; phone: +962 6 550 9090. No support response has been independently tested for this review.
Who Should Choose Windsor Brokers?
The strongest fit is an intermediate trader who wants MetaTrader access and can choose between Prime’s spread-based forex pricing and the commission-bearing raw-spread accounts. The account decision is conditional: Zero and VIP ZERO suit only traders for whom the raw-spread structure and, for VIP ZERO, application requirement make sense. Traders who need consistent compensation rights across entities are a weaker fit.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Intermediate forex or CFD trader using MetaTrader | Good, subject to entity | MT4 and MT5 are offered, alongside multiple CFD markets and educational resources. |
| Trader prioritizing raw forex spreads | Conditional | Zero and VIP ZERO list raw spreads from 0.0 pips but charge per-lot commissions; VIP ZERO is application-based. |
| Trader seeking uniform compensation protection | Poor fit | Investor protections vary by licensed company; offshore clients do not automatically receive European compensation rights. |
Windsor Brokers vs Alternatives
ThinkMarkets1:2500Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No commission
ActivTradesForex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, BondsDetailed Review
HF MarketsCySEC, FCA, DFSA, FSCA, FSA, CMADetailed Review
The deciding question is whether you want Prime’s simpler spread-based pricing or can justify a raw-spread account’s per-lot commission and, for VIP ZERO, application-based access.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee Windsor Brokers?
The group lists FSA, JSC, CMA and FSC. For international clients outside the USA and EEA, the identified entity is Windsor Brokers International Ltd, regulated by the Seychelles FSA; regulation and protections depend on the contracting company.
What is the minimum deposit?
The listed minimum deposit is $50. Prime states a $50 minimum; Zero terms depend on the entity or region, while VIP ZERO is subject to application and has no standard stated opening deposit.
Does Windsor Brokers charge forex commission?
Prime lists no forex commission. Zero lists a $8 round-trip commission per standard lot, and VIP ZERO lists $5 per standard lot round-trip. The latter requires an application.
Which trading platforms are available?
Windsor Brokers offers MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and the Windsor Brokers App. The app is for account management and monitoring; trades are placed through linked MT4 or MT5 platforms.
What markets can I trade?
The listed markets include forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs, primarily through CFDs. Product availability and restrictions depend on jurisdiction and account type; CFD trading does not give ownership of the underlying asset.
How long do deposits and withdrawals take?
Bank transfer deposits are listed at 1–7 business days and withdrawals at up to 7 business days. E-wallet deposits and withdrawals are listed as same-business-day processing. Processing times can depend on the payment route.