At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $10
- Platforms
- ThinkTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, ThinkCopy
- Regulators
- FCA, ASIC, CySEC, FSCA, DFSA, CIMA, FSC, FMA, FSA
- Leverage
- 2500
Our Verdict on ThinkMarkets
4.4/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can result in rapid losses. You may lose money, and leverage magnifies both gains and losses.
ThinkMarkets is best suited to traders seeking leveraged forex and multi-asset exposure through a choice of platforms. Its proprietary ThinkTrader sits alongside MT4, MT5 and TradingView, while accounts offer either spread-only pricing or ThinkZero’s raw spreads with commission. The trade-off is that the listed shares and ETFs are CFDs rather than direct investments, and the value of the pricing and protections depends on the account, instrument and contracting entity. For a closer comparison, the account and fee sections explain how to assess those choices.
| Best for | Forex and multi-asset CFD traders who want ThinkTrader alongside familiar third-party platforms. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors looking for direct ownership of shares, ETFs or other listed CFD underlyings. |
| Biggest strength | A choice of proprietary and third-party trading platforms alongside spread-only and raw-spread account options. |
| Main drawback | Pricing, leverage and protections depend on the account, instrument and contracting entity. |
How we reviewed it: This review compares the broker’s stated account terms, platform features, products, fees and entity-specific regulatory details. We do not present these records as first-hand trading or withdrawal tests. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers ThinkTrader alongside MT4, MT5 and TradingView.
- ThinkZero offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips, with a stated $7 round-turn commission per standard FX lot in a USD account.
- Lists forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, crypto CFDs and ETF CFDs.
- ThinkCopy provides mobile copy trading.
What to consider
- ThinkZero charges commission, unlike the spread-only Standard and ThinkTrader accounts.
- Listed stock and ETF products are CFDs and do not confer ownership of the underlying assets.
- Leverage, protections, fees and account terms depend on the contracting entity and instrument.
- Currency conversion and inactivity fees may apply.
ThinkMarkets at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2010 |
| Regulator / licence | FCA (629628), ASIC (AFSL 424700), CySEC (215/13), DFSA (F004173) and FMA (FSP623289; registration details depend on the relevant entity) |
| Minimum initial deposit | From $10 on ThinkTrader, $50 on Standard and $100 on ThinkZero in the account comparison; requirements can vary by entity and method. |
| Account types | Standard, ThinkTrader and ThinkZero |
| Trading platforms | ThinkTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView and ThinkCopy |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, crypto CFDs and ETF CFDs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:2,500 on some international ThinkTrader accounts; limits depend on account, entity and instrument. UK retail major FX is generally limited to 1:30. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, USDt, AUD, GBP, EUR, SGD, CHF, NZD, AED and QAR |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is ThinkMarkets Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Your contracting company determines which regulator and client protections apply. The named entities include FCA-regulated TF Global Markets (UK) Limited, ASIC-regulated TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd, CySEC-regulated TF Global Markets (Europe) Ltd and DFSA-regulated TF Global Markets (DIFC) Limited. New Zealand records refer to Think Capital Limited or the applicable local entity; confirm the permitted activity and precise contracting company before opening an account.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd (Australia); TF Global Markets (Europe) Ltd (EEA / Cyprus); TF Global Markets (DIFC) Limited (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); TF Global Markets (UK) Limited (United Kingdom); Think Capital Limited / applicable New Zealand entity (New Zealand) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | ASIC (Australia); CySEC (EEA / Cyprus); DFSA (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); FCA (United Kingdom); FMA (New Zealand) (New Zealand) |
| Licence / registration | ASIC: AFSL 424700; CySEC: CySEC licence 215/13; DFSA: F004173; FCA: 629628; FMA (New Zealand): FSP623289 |
| Client-money arrangements | The broker says client funds are segregated from its operational funds and held in separate bank accounts. |
| Negative balance protection | Stated for retail clients. Money Managers and managed accounts are excluded; positive balances on other accounts may be used to offset a deficit, and the broker reserves exceptions for abusive trading. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible UK investment claims may be covered by the FSCS up to £85,000. Eligible Cyprus ICF claims are capped at 90% of the claim or €20,000, whichever is lower. Trading losses are not covered. |
These protections have different scopes. Negative balance protection is stated for retail clients subject to the exclusions and exceptions shown above; segregation does not remove market risk. FSCS and Cyprus ICF compensation applies only to eligible claims, not trading losses, and the New Zealand FSP entry is not proof of authorisation for every product.
ThinkMarkets Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Compare the full cost for the way you trade: a low spread can be offset by commission, while spread-only pricing incorporates the trading charge into the spread. Positions held overnight may also incur swaps, and conversion or inactivity charges can affect costs beyond trading. The account comparison below is most useful when matched to your instrument and holding period.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
ThinkZero advertises raw FX and metals spreads from 0.0 pips and charges a commission. The verified EUR/USD figure below is account-specific; it should not be read as an average for other instruments or as a guarantee of the spread at the moment an order is placed. Standard and ThinkTrader are spread-only accounts, with advertised spreads starting from 0.4 pips.
| Account | EUR/USD spread | Commission and convention |
|---|---|---|
| ThinkZero | 0.0 | USD 3.50 per standard lot per side (USD 7.00 round trip; USD account). |
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | An open position may earn or cost a swap when it rolls into the next trading day. Pricing varies by instrument, position size, direction, interest rates and how many nights it stays open. | A swap is relevant only once an eligible trade passes the broker’s rollover cutoff. Amounts depend on market, trade direction, size, interest rates and nights open. |
| Currency conversion | Currency conversion is not always free. Deposits, withdrawals, trades or settlements in another currency may attract a markup, with rates differing by entity, product and method. | Deposits, withdrawals, instruments and realised profit or loss can all require conversion if their currency is different from the account’s. The rate depends on the product, entity and route. |
| Inactivity | ThinkMarkets may apply an inactivity fee after at least 6 months without trading; the charge depends on the account/entity and the fee will not push the account below zero. | ThinkMarkets may apply an inactivity fee after at least 6 months without trading; the charge depends on the account/entity and the fee will not push the account below zero. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: ThinkMarkets generally does not add a standard withdrawal broker fee; international bank or intermediary charges of around USD 25 may apply depending on method. |
For positions held through rollover, swaps may either increase or reduce the cost. Currency conversion is relevant when the account currency differs from the currency used for a transaction or settlement.
Which ThinkMarkets Account Should You Choose?
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The choice is between spread-only pricing and a raw-spread account with commission. Standard combines spread-only pricing with a $50 starting deposit in the account comparison; ThinkTrader also uses spread-only pricing, starts from $10 and connects with ThinkTrader and TradingView. ThinkZero is the raw-spread option, with a $100 starting deposit and a $7 round-turn commission per standard FX lot in a USD-denominated account. Standard and ThinkZero are listed for MT4 and MT5. Minimums and leverage can differ by entity; UK retail major-FX leverage is generally limited to 1:30.
ThinkMarkets Trading Platforms
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The platform choice depends on how you intend to execute. ThinkTrader covers web and mobile trading, charting and account management, but the available evidence does not establish support for user-written live bots. MT4 and MT5 desktop can run their respective automation ecosystems; TradingView scripts and alerts provide signals, not live execution by themselves. ThinkCopy instead automates copying other traders, so it is not a substitute for building a strategy.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| ThinkTrader | Web, Mobile | ThinkTrader provides web and mobile trading, charting and account management. It has tools for analysis and testing ideas, but those aren't proof that you can run your own live trading bots. An in-platform programmable execution engine hasn't been confirmed. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | The advantage of MT4 is its MQL4 automation ecosystem: Expert Advisors, scripts and custom indicators. It still takes desktop MT4, locally or on a VPS, to run those strategies. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 adds more advanced strategy testing and MQL5 automation to its trading tools. Those features run through desktop MT5, not the browser or mobile app. |
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | Pine Script lets you test strategies and set alerts in TradingView. Those alerts are signals rather than live trades unless a compatible bridge or execution service handles them. |
| ThinkCopy | Mobile | ThinkCopy lets you follow other traders and mirror their trades automatically through a mobile app. You don't have to write any code, but you also aren't creating an algorithm of your own; the automated part is copying someone else's trades. |
Markets and Instruments Available
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The range provides leveraged CFDs or rolling FX, not direct ownership of the underlying shares, funds, indices, commodities or cryptoassets. CFD positions do not confer ownership; for example, stock CFDs carry no voting rights, and commodity CFDs do not involve physical delivery. Availability, margin and leverage depend on the product, client location and account; UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 50 | Exotic and less liquid currency pairs can cost more to trade, and overnight positions may incur swap or financing charges. Leverage can reach 1:500 for eligible clients. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 20 | Trading an index CFD does not mean owning the shares that make up the index. Cash and futures contracts may have different trading hours, terms and financing costs. Leverage can reach 1:200 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 15 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:100. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 3500 | Stock CFDs track share prices without giving traders ownership or voting rights. Holding a position overnight may result in financing costs. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:10. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 27 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:50. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 300 | ETF CFDs let traders follow fund prices without buying the ETF units. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Leverage can reach 1:10 for eligible clients. |
This is a derivatives menu, not an account for holding the listed assets. Choose an instrument for its contract exposure and terms rather than assuming the underlying asset can be held.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
For market preparation, the listed resources include Market Analysis, an economic calendar, price charts and the ThinkMarkets Academy, whose videos, articles and recorded webinars cover currencies, shares, ETFs, futures and charting. ThinkTrader adds charting, the TrendRisk Scanner and risk-management tools; these support analysis but do not establish live automated execution. ThinkCopy and ZuluTrade are copy-trading routes, while API access and VPS hosting are listed for eligible uses, including MT4/MT5 automation. A free VPS may require at least 15 forex round-turn lots in a calendar month. Volatility or gaps can also result in a fill at the first available quote rather than the original target.
ThinkMarkets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Payment method affects both access to funds and timing: deposits by card and e-wallet are listed as instant, while bank-transfer deposits take longer. Withdrawal windows differ by route, and a bank transfer may involve an external wire charge even when the broker's own fee is free.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
For verification, the broker requests a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a passport, national ID card or driving licence, and proof of residence, such as a recent utility bill, bank statement or local tax bill. The residence document is generally expected to be from the previous three to six months. Verification is required before full live-account activation or withdrawal processing.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: GBP 50 (UK Standard opening). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100. | No broker fee applies to deposits. Withdrawal broker fee: Free (broker; about USD 25 external wire possible). | Deposit processing time: 1–3 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: GBP 50 (UK Standard opening). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 30. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 14 business days. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: GBP 50 (UK Standard opening). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 30. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 7 business days. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USDT: 50 USDT (entity-specific). | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time is not specified. Withdrawal processing time: up to 7 business days. |
Customer Support
Support is listed through live chat, email and phone, with service hours of 24 hours during the trading week. The listed email is [email protected]; phone contacts include +44 203 514 2374 and +248 4373952. Support languages include English, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Portuguese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Thai, Italian, German, French, Indonesian and Malay.
Who Should Choose ThinkMarkets?
For FX and metals traders, the account decision is whether ThinkZero's raw-spread pricing and commission suit their trading better than spread-only pricing on Standard or ThinkTrader. For listed shares and ETFs, the deciding limitation is different: the products provide CFD exposure, not ownership of shares or fund units.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Forex trader who wants a choice of platforms | Good | MT4, MT5 and ThinkTrader are listed, with spread-only and raw-spread account options. |
| Active FX or metals trader comparing raw pricing | Conditional | ThinkZero offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips but charges a per-lot commission; compare the all-in cost for your trading. |
| Investor seeking direct ownership of shares or funds | Poor | The listed stock and ETF products are CFDs, not ownership of shares or ETF units. |
ThinkMarkets vs Alternatives
Alpari1:3000Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No commission
AdmiralsStocks, ETFs, Bonds, Forex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, CryptocurrenciesDetailed Review
ATFXFCA, ASIC, CySEC, SCA, FSC, FSA, FSCA, JSC, SFC, SERCDetailed Review
Choose the platform by execution workflow: MT4 and MT5 desktop can run their automation tools, whereas TradingView alerts need a compatible bridge or execution service to place live trades.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee ThinkMarkets?
The listed entities include TF Global Markets (UK) Limited, regulated by the FCA under 629628; TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd, regulated by ASIC under AFSL 424700; TF Global Markets (Europe) Ltd, regulated by CySEC under 215/13; and TF Global Markets (DIFC) Limited, regulated by the DFSA under F004173. The relevant entity depends on your account.
What is the minimum deposit for ThinkMarkets accounts?
The account comparison lists starting deposits of $10 for ThinkTrader, $50 for Standard and $100 for ThinkZero. The applicable minimum can vary by entity and funding method.
Does ThinkMarkets charge trading commissions?
Standard and ThinkTrader use spread-only pricing. ThinkZero charges a round-turn commission; for FX and metals in a USD-denominated account, the stated example is $7 per standard lot.
Which trading platforms can I use?
ThinkMarkets lists ThinkTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView and ThinkCopy. Platform availability and features differ: for example, MT4 and MT5 desktop support their respective automation ecosystems, while ThinkCopy is for copying other traders.
What markets does ThinkMarkets offer?
The listed markets are forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrencies and ETFs. The products described are CFDs or leveraged FX, so they do not provide ownership of the underlying shares, funds, commodities or cryptoassets.
How long do deposits and withdrawals take?
Listed estimates vary by method: card and e-wallet deposits are instant, while bank-transfer deposits take 1–3 business days. Withdrawals may take up to 14 business days by card, up to 7 business days by e-wallet, and 3–5 business days by bank transfer.