At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $100
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5
- Regulators
- FSC Mauritius, FSA Seychelles, CySEC, SVG FSA, FSA, FSC
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on Orbex
4.0/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can lead to rapid losses. You may lose money, so understand the risks before trading.
Orbex is a leveraged FX and CFD broker whose strongest fit is for traders who want MetaTrader 4 or 5 alongside instructor-led education and market research. Its three accounts span Starter’s spread-only pricing and raw-spread accounts with commissions, but the entry points differ sharply: Starter requires $100, while Ultimate requires $25,000. The main concern is the entity-specific regulatory position: Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence is under examination for voluntary renunciation, and offshore clients have no statutory investor-fund coverage stated here. Orbex may suit traders comfortable with those account and entity trade-offs, but EU/EEA clients should establish the current status and contracting entity first.
| Best for | Forex traders seeking MetaTrader tools, market analysis and instructor-led education. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | EU/EEA clients who require a confirmed active CySEC licence, unless they first verify the current status and contracting entity. |
| Biggest strength | Three account choices, including spread-only and raw-spread pricing, alongside MT4 and MT5. |
| Main drawback | Protections depend on the account entity; the CySEC licence is under examination for voluntary renunciation and offshore entities have no statutory fund coverage stated here. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses Orbex’s stated account terms, platform range, markets, fees and entity-specific regulatory information. We do not present those terms as the result of first-hand trading or withdrawal tests. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Three account types offer a choice of spread-only pricing or raw spreads with commissions.
- MT4 and MT5 are available across desktop, web and mobile.
- Orbex offers live courses, webinars and a range of market research resources.
- A demo account is available.
What to consider
- Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence 124/10 is under examination for voluntary renunciation.
- The offshore entities have $0 statutory fund coverage stated here.
- Ultimate requires a $25,000 minimum deposit.
- An inactivity fee may apply after four months or more without trades.
Orbex at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2011 |
| Regulator / licence | FSC Mauritius and FSA Seychelles for offshore services; Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence 124/10 is under examination for voluntary renunciation. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $100 |
| Account types | Starter, Premium and Ultimate |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks and cryptocurrencies, offered as CFDs or leveraged FX products. |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 on forex pairs for accounts under the FSA Seychelles and FSC Mauritius entities; eligibility and entity apply. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, EUR, GBP and PLN |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is Orbex Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Orbex’s regulatory position depends on which entity serves the client. Offshore services are associated with the FSC Mauritius and FSA Seychelles, while Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence 124/10 for EU/EEA clients is under examination for voluntary renunciation. Confirm the contracting entity and relevant regulator register entry before opening an account; regulation and stated safeguards do not eliminate trading risk.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Orbex Ltd (EU/EEA — CySEC authorisation is under examination for voluntary renunciation) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | CySEC (EU/EEA — CySEC authorisation is under examination for voluntary renunciation) |
| Licence / registration | CySEC: 124/10 (under examination for voluntary renunciation) |
| Client-money arrangements | Orbex states that client funds are segregated. |
| Negative balance protection | Orbex states that negative balance protection is provided. |
| Investor compensation | Qualifying retail clients of the Cyprus ICF-member firm may be eligible for up to the lesser of 90% of a covered claim and €20,000. The offshore entities have $0 statutory fund coverage. |
Segregation and negative balance protection are stated safeguards, not guarantees against trading losses. The Cyprus Investor Compensation Fund covers only qualifying claims, not ordinary trading losses; the offshore entities have no statutory fund coverage stated here.
Orbex Fees, Spreads and Commissions
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Orbex’s pricing choice is between a spread-only account and raw spreads with a commission. To compare trading costs, consider both components together, along with any overnight financing: a lower quoted spread does not by itself establish a lower total cost. The account-specific pricing and deposit thresholds are set out below.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Starter advertises variable spreads from 1.5 pips with no FX lot commission. Premium and Ultimate advertise raw spreads from 0.0 pips, with round-turn commissions of $8 and $5 per standard lot respectively. A quoted minimum spread is not a guaranteed spread during a trade; compare the applicable commission and spread together for your account and instrument.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Orbex publishes instrument- and account-specific swap rates together with its spreads and trading commissions. | Swap rates are instrument/account dependent and published alongside spreads and commissions. |
| Currency conversion | No | No separate broker currency-conversion fee is listed; exchange-rate costs may still apply |
| Inactivity | After 4 months or more without any trades, Orbex may charge 20 USD/EUR/GBP or 80 PLN per month until trading or account activity restarts or the balance reaches zero. | After 4 months or more without any trades, Orbex may charge 20 USD/EUR/GBP or 80 PLN per month until trading or account activity restarts or the balance reaches zero. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Orbex advertises 0.00% broker withdrawal fees on its supported methods; receiving banks and payment providers may deduct their own charges. |
Overnight positions can incur instrument- and account-specific swap charges, while inactivity can create a recurring cost for accounts left without trades. Orbex lists no broker deposit or withdrawal fee, though payment-provider charges are not established here.
Which Orbex Account Should You Choose?
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Starter has the lowest entry threshold at $100 and uses variable spreads from 1.5 pips with no FX lot commission. Premium requires $500 and pairs raw spreads from 0.0 pips with an $8 round-turn commission per standard lot. Ultimate offers the same advertised raw-spread starting point and a lower $5 round-turn commission, but requires $25,000. The choice is therefore not simply between spread levels: the lower Ultimate commission comes with a substantially higher deposit commitment. All three account types support MT4 and MT5, with leverage up to 1:500 on eligible global offerings.
Orbex Trading Platforms
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Platform choice is most relevant to traders bringing an existing automated setup: MT4 uses MQL4, while MT5 adds market depth and MQL5 tools. Automated trading and backtesting require the desktop terminal or a VPS; web and mobile versions support trading and monitoring but not bot execution. Orbex’s separate mobile app is for account management.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | If you use Expert Advisors, MT4 gives you a well-established MQL4 setup. You'll need its desktop version or a VPS to run them; web and mobile are mainly for trading and monitoring. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 provides MQL5 indicators, Expert Advisors and backtesting in one desktop terminal. Web and mobile access is available for placing trades, but not for running bots. |
Orbex also lists API, copy and social trading. A free VPS is offered to accounts maintaining a balance of at least $500 and trading a minimum of three standard lots per month.
Markets and Instruments Available
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 70 | Forex positions held overnight may incur swap or financing charges. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 15 | Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Trading hours, contract terms and financing costs can differ between cash and futures versions. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:100. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 12 | Commodity CFDs track prices without requiring physical delivery. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Financing charges may also apply. Leverage can reach 1:100 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 300 | Trading stock CFDs does not make you a shareholder or give you voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 11 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. |
These markets provide price exposure through leveraged FX products or CFDs, not direct ownership of the underlying assets. A stock CFD does not make the trader a shareholder or confer voting rights, and a crypto CFD does not provide coins to hold in a wallet. Crypto CFD access depends on region and account type, and UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
For execution, MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, scripts, custom indicators and strategy backtesting; MT5 also has market depth. Orbex lists multiple order and execution types, copy and social trading, and API trading, but no execution-speed or slippage test results are established here; market volatility and stop orders can expose trades to slippage. Research materials include market research, trading ideas, an economic calendar, Market Buzz and technical analysis. Live courses and webinars sit alongside video lessons, eBooks, articles and a trading glossary, giving users both market-related material and structured educational formats.
Orbex Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
Orbex requires identity verification (KYC). Account currencies include USD, EUR, GBP and PLN, and funding options include bank transfer, cards and e-wallets. Account and payment eligibility may depend on the client’s jurisdiction and contracting entity.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Specific document requirements, application steps and approval times are Register in the broker portal, select the account and platform, and upload proof of identity and proof of address; account approval is subject to compliance checks, with no universal completion time guaranteed.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 200. | No broker fee applies to deposits. The broker fee for withdrawals is 0%. | Deposit processing time: 2–5 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. The broker fee for withdrawals is 0%. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | No broker fee applies to deposits. The broker fee for withdrawals is 0%. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours. |
Customer Support
Support is available 24/5 through live chat, email and phone, in English and Arabic. The listed contacts are [email protected] and +230 467 2000. Account-service contacts can also help with questions about webinars and training events.
Who Should Choose Orbex?
The practical account choice is between Starter’s lower entry threshold and the raw-spread accounts’ per-lot commissions; the contracting entity is a separate consideration because protections differ. The profile table shows where those trade-offs matter most.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Forex beginner seeking a lower entry deposit | Conditional | Starter has a $100 minimum and no FX lot commission, but variable spreads start at 1.5 pips. |
| Trader preferring raw spreads and MetaTrader tools | Conditional | Premium and Ultimate advertise raw spreads from 0.0 pips on MT4 and MT5, with account-specific commissions. |
| EU/EEA client prioritising an active CySEC licence | Not ideal unless status is confirmed | Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence 124/10 is under examination for voluntary renunciation; verify the latest register entry and account entity. |
Orbex vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
FP Markets- No inactivity fee
ACY SecuritiesForex Pairs, Stocks, Commodities, Cryptocurrencies, ETFs, IndicesDetailed Review
ZERO MarketsASIC, FMA, FSC, SVG FSADetailed Review
For EU/EEA clients, the unresolved CySEC status may be the deciding constraint; confirm the contracting entity before weighing the account-pricing differences.
FAQs
Which regulators are associated with Orbex?
Orbex’s offshore services are associated with the FSC Mauritius and FSA Seychelles. Orbex Ltd’s CySEC licence 124/10 for the EU/EEA entry is under examination for voluntary renunciation; verify the latest register status and your contracting entity.
What is the minimum deposit for Orbex?
Starter requires $100, Premium $500 and Ultimate $25,000.
What are Orbex’s account trading fees?
Starter advertises variable spreads from 1.5 pips and no FX lot commission. Premium advertises raw spreads from 0.0 pips with an $8 round-turn commission per standard lot; Ultimate advertises raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a $5 round-turn commission per standard lot.
Which trading platforms does Orbex offer?
Orbex offers MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 on desktop, web and mobile. Its separate mobile app is for account management.
What markets can I trade with Orbex?
Orbex lists forex, indices, commodities, stocks and cryptocurrencies. These are offered as leveraged FX products or CFDs; stock CFDs do not confer shareholder rights, and crypto CFDs do not provide coins to hold.
How long do Orbex deposits and withdrawals take?
Cards and e-wallet deposits are processed instantly, while bank-transfer deposits take 2–5 business days. Withdrawals take 3–5 business days for cards and bank transfers, and up to 24 hours for e-wallets.