Skip to content
ENLanguage & region

Language

EN
Find my broker
Menu
FxBrokersRankBroker reviewsCPT Markets

CPT Markets review

Trading involves risk. You can lose money.

Review score

Review score 3.9/ 5
Trust & safety
3.9
Fees & commission
3.8
Platforms & tools
4.1
Tradable instruments
3.8
How we assess brokers
01

At a glance

Minimum deposit
$20
Platforms
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, CPT App
Regulators
FSCA, CMA, FSC, SCA
Leverage
1000
02

Our Verdict on CPT Markets

3.9/5Overall score

Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can magnify losses as well as gains. You may lose your capital, so consider whether these products are appropriate for you.

CPT Markets combines forex and CFD access with MT4, MT5, cTrader and its CPT App. Its $20-minimum Classic account is the lowest-entry option; ECN and Prime each require $1,000, with ECN trading tighter advertised spreads for a separate commission. That makes the account choice consequential: compare total costs, not the spread alone. The main drawback is that protections and leverage are not uniform across clients, because they depend on the entity serving them. CPT Markets is therefore most relevant to MetaTrader-focused CFD traders willing to establish which company will hold their account before choosing a pricing model.

Best forForex and CFD traders using MetaTrader who compare account pricing and confirm the applicable entity.
Not ideal forTraders who want identical leverage and safeguards regardless of their jurisdiction or contracting company.
Biggest strengthThree account options with different minimum deposits and spread/commission structures, plus MT4 and MT5.
Main drawbackRegulatory protections and leverage depend on the legal entity and client location.

How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available account terms, fees, entity and licence information, platforms, products and funding details; it does not claim first-hand testing. See our review methodology.

What stands out

  • Classic account has a $20 minimum deposit.
  • MT4 and MT5 are listed alongside cTrader and the CPT App.
  • The three accounts offer distinct advertised pricing structures, including a commission-free Classic and Prime option and a tighter-spread ECN option.
  • Copy trading and MAM account features are offered.

What to consider

  • ECN and Prime each require a $1,000 minimum deposit.
  • A $50 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months without activity.
  • Regulatory protections and leverage vary by contracting entity and client location.
03

CPT Markets at a Glance

FeatureBroker disclosures and checked findings
Founded2008
Regulator / licenceCPT Markets UK Limited: FCA, 606110; CPT Markets Limited: Belize FSC, 6616058; CPT Markets (Pty) Ltd: FSCA, 45954. The contracting entity depends on client location.
Minimum initial deposit$20 for Classic; $1,000 for ECN and Prime
Account typesClassic, ECN and Prime
Trading platformsMetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and CPT App
MarketsForex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs and crypto CFDs
Maximum leverageUp to 1:1000 for eligible clients; UK retail leverage is capped at 1:30
Account / funding currenciesUSD, GBP and EUR account currencies
Demo accountYes
04

Is CPT Markets Safe, Legit and Regulated?

3.9/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

CPT Markets serves clients through three legal entities: CPT Markets UK Limited, authorised by the FCA under licence 606110; CPT Markets (Pty) Ltd, listed with the FSCA under licence 45954; and CPT Markets Limited, regulated by the Belize FSC under licence 6616058. The legal company on the account determines which protections apply, so the safeguards described for one entity should not be assumed to extend to another.

Regulation and Client Protections

Regulatory questionDocumented finding and limitations
Contracting legal entitiesCPT Markets UK Limited (United Kingdom); CPT Markets Limited (International / Belize entity (subject to exclusions)); CPT Markets (Pty) Ltd (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity))
Regulators / jurisdictionsFCA (United Kingdom); FSC (Belize) (International / Belize entity (subject to exclusions)); FSCA (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity))
Licence / registrationFCA: 606110; FSC (Belize): 6616058; FSCA: 45954
Client-money arrangementsCPT Markets says it segregates client funds. The applicable arrangements depend on the contracting entity.
Negative balance protectionStated for retail clients of the UK FCA-regulated entity. The broker's information says it is not offered by its international entities in Belize and Comoros.
Investor compensationEligible clients of the covered UK investment company may qualify for FSCS compensation of up to £85,000, depending on the claim and legal company. It does not cover trading losses.

Segregated client funds, negative balance protection and FSCS compensation are separate measures, each with limits. FSCS compensation of up to £85,000 may apply only to eligible claims involving the covered UK investment company; it does not cover trading losses. Confirm the named company and eligibility before funding.

05

CPT Markets Fees, Spreads and Commissions

3.8/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

The account's pricing model determines whether trading costs are built into the spread or charged partly as commission. Compare both components against your expected trade size and holding period, then allow for financing and currency conversion; the advertised starting spreads are not averages or guaranteed execution prices.

Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs

Advertised floating spreads start at 1.4 pips on Classic, 0.7 pips on Prime and 0.1 pip on ECN. ECN also charges a stated $5 per lot, while the Classic and Prime descriptions list no trading commission. Actual costs vary by instrument and market conditions; these starting figures are not verified average EUR/USD spreads.

Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees

FeeAmount / triggerConditions
Overnight financing, swap or margin interestCPT Markets offers 7 days without overnight charges on its swap-free account; swap fees begin on day 8.On its swap-free account, CPT Markets states there is no overnight fee for the first 7 days; a swap charge applies from day 8 onward.
Currency conversionWhen transactions or trading results are in a different currency, the broker may apply a conversion fee or rate markup. The exact cost depends on the entity, product and route.The currency used for funding, withdrawing, trading or settling needs to differ from the account currency for conversion costs to arise. The amount varies by product, entity and method.
InactivityAfter 3 months without activity, there is an inactivity fee of $50 per month.The $50 monthly inactivity fee starts after 3 months without activity.
Deposits / withdrawalsDeposit: No; Withdrawal: NoDeposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: CPT Markets states that it does not charge a standard broker withdrawal fee and that it covers third-party transaction fees on the methods advertised by the group; check the terms of the contracting entity.

Overnight financing is relevant to positions held beyond the trading day; currency conversion can add cost whenever the account and transaction currencies differ. CPT Markets lists no broker deposit or withdrawal fee, though third-party charges or conversion costs may still apply.

06

Which CPT Markets Account Should You Choose?

4.1/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

Classic is the entry-level choice: its $20 minimum, floating spreads from 1.4 pips and no listed trading commission make it distinct from the two $1,000-minimum accounts. Prime keeps commission at zero in the account description and advertises spreads from 0.7 pips; ECN advertises 0.1-pip spreads but adds a $5-per-lot commission. ECN may appeal to traders who prefer a tighter quoted spread and accept a separate charge, but the available information does not establish which account costs less for a given trading pattern. All three account descriptions list MT4 and leverage up to 1:1000, subject to entity and location limits.

07

CPT Markets Trading Platforms

4.1/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

The platform choice matters most for traders who need to build or run automated strategies. MT4 and MT5 support desktop Expert Advisor workflows; cTrader also supports custom algorithms, but cBot development and testing require desktop software. The CPT App is documented for placing trades and managing an account on a phone, not for building or running custom strategies.

Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms

PlatformAvailabilityEvidence-backed strength or limitation
MetaTrader 4Web, Desktop, MobileThe advantage of MT4 is its MQL4 automation ecosystem: Expert Advisors, scripts and custom indicators. It still takes desktop MT4, locally or on a VPS, to run those strategies.
MetaTrader 5Web, Desktop, MobileMulti-asset tools and MQL5 Expert Advisors make MT5 useful beyond basic manual trading. Its full development and testing environment is desktop-only, although trades can be monitored elsewhere.
cTraderWeb, Desktop, MobilecTrader has tools for manual trading and custom algorithms. Creating and testing cBots requires desktop software; supported cloud instances can continue running independently.
CPT AppMobileThe CPT app is designed for placing trades, checking positions and managing your account from a phone. There's no documented support for building or running your own automated trading strategies in the app.
08

Markets and Instruments Available

3.8/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

The listed markets provide leveraged price exposure through CFDs or rolling-spot FX, not ownership of the underlying shares, index constituents, commodities or crypto. The range includes forex, indices, commodities, selected stock CFDs and crypto CFDs, with availability and leverage varying by instrument and client jurisdiction. UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.

Asset classProducts offeredRestriction
ForexLeveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 60Less liquid currency pairs may have higher trading costs. Overnight positions can also incur swap or financing charges. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:1000.
IndicesIndex CFDs; 20Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Trading hours, rollover arrangements and holding costs vary by contract. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:100.
CommoditiesCommodity CFDs; 20Commodity CFDs provide price exposure without physical delivery. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Financing charges may also apply.
StocksStock CFDs (selected entities); Country-specific stock-CFD count not verifiedStock CFDs track share prices without giving traders ownership or voting rights. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Leverage varies by product and account.
CryptoCrypto CFDs; 20Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:10.

The stock-CFD count is not verified, so the listed products should not be treated as a complete stock inventory.

09

Execution, Trading Tools and Research

3.8/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

For strategy execution, the broker lists copy and social trading, MAM allocation by proportional, balance-based or equity-based models, MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors and custom indicators, and API-based trading with MetaTrader accounts. CPT Academy covers trading fundamentals, risk management and market events; market analysis, an economic calendar, news, price charts and live quotes provide additional reference material. These resources are distinct from execution quality: CPT Markets warns that scarce liquidity and sharp price moves can cause slippage, and says high-impact news may lead to orders being adjusted, partially filled or cancelled. These are policy and feature descriptions, not measured execution results.

10

CPT Markets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening

4.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 3.9

Opening an account requires KYC identity and residence documents. CPT Markets lists no standard broker charge for deposits or withdrawals, but currency conversion and payment-provider charges may affect the amount received.

Account Opening and Identity Verification

Submit identity documents and proof of residence to complete verification; approval steps and eligibility depend on the applicable entity.

Deposit and Withdrawal Methods

MethodDeposit / withdrawal availabilityBroker feeProcessing time
Bank transferDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposit processing time: 1–5 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days.
Debit / credit cardDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days.
E-walletsDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours.
CryptoDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 business day.

Customer Support

Support channels include live chat, email and phone. Listed support hours are 24/7. Support languages include English, Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, Indonesian, French and Arabic, among others. The listed email is [email protected] and the listed phone number is 400-842-8992.

11

Who Should Choose CPT Markets?

The clearest account decision is between Classic's $20 minimum and ECN or Prime at $1,000. Classic and Prime list no trading commission, whereas ECN pairs a tighter advertised spread with a per-lot charge; the review does not establish which is cheaper for a particular trading pattern. For clients prioritising UK retail safeguards, suitability also depends on qualifying for an account held by the UK FCA-regulated entity.

ProfileFitDecisive reason
Forex and CFD traders using MetaTraderConditionalMT4 and MT5 are available, with different account pricing models and entity-dependent leverage.
Traders seeking a low opening depositGoodThe Classic account minimum is $20, compared with $1,000 for ECN and Prime.
Clients prioritising UK retail protectionsConditionalThose safeguards apply only where the UK FCA-regulated entity holds the account and eligibility requirements are met.

CPT Markets vs Alternatives

Choose based on whether Classic's lower entry point or ECN's tighter advertised spread better matches your intended trading, then confirm the account's applicable protections.

?

FAQs

Which entities regulate CPT Markets?

CPT Markets UK Limited is FCA-regulated under licence 606110, CPT Markets Limited is regulated by the Belize FSC under licence 6616058, and CPT Markets (Pty) Ltd is listed with the FSCA under licence 45954. The entity holding your account determines the applicable terms and protections.

What is the minimum deposit for CPT Markets accounts?

The Classic account minimum is $20. The ECN and Prime accounts each have a $1,000 minimum deposit.

Does CPT Markets charge trading commissions?

The Classic and Prime account descriptions list no trading commission. The ECN account has a stated commission of $5 per lot, alongside advertised spreads from 0.1 pip.

Which platforms can I use with CPT Markets?

CPT Markets lists MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and the CPT App. The account descriptions list MT4 for Classic, ECN and Prime.

What markets can I trade with CPT Markets?

The listed products include forex, indices, commodities, selected stock CFDs and crypto CFDs. These are leveraged products or CFDs, not ownership of the underlying assets. UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.

How long do deposits and withdrawals take?

Listed deposit times are instant for cards, e-wallets and crypto, and 1–5 business days for bank transfers. Withdrawal estimates are 3–5 business days for cards and bank transfers, up to 24 hours for e-wallets, and up to one business day for crypto.

CPT Markets reader reviews

Read what other readers experienced, then share the details that mattered to you.

Share your experience

Set out what worked, what did not, and what others should check.

Your rating