At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $50
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, WebTrader, VT Markets App
- Regulators
- FSCA, FSC Mauritius, CMA
- Leverage
- 1000
Our Verdict on VT Markets
4.4/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.
VT Markets is best suited to active CFD traders who want MetaTrader access and a choice of pricing structures. Standard STP avoids an FX lot commission but uses a spread markup; Raw ECN starts from 0.0 pips and charges $6 per standard FX lot round turn. MT4, MT5, TradingView and copy-trading options broaden the available workflows. The key limitation is that the listed markets are CFDs, not direct holdings, and the applicable costs and protections depend on the account and contracting entity.
| Best for | Active CFD traders interested in MetaTrader, social trading and technical-analysis lessons. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors who require ownership of shares, ETFs, bonds or cryptocurrencies; the listed products are CFDs. |
| Biggest strength | A broad platform choice, including MT4, MT5, TradingView and copy-trading options. |
| Main drawback | Costs and protections depend on account, product, jurisdiction and contracting company. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available account, fee, regulatory, platform, product and funding terms and distinguishes entity-specific conditions. It does not claim first-hand trading or withdrawal testing. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- MT4, MT5, TradingView, WebTrader and a mobile app are listed as available platforms.
- Two account structures offer a choice between spread-markup pricing without FX lot commission and Raw ECN pricing with a stated $6 round-turn FX commission.
- Copy and social trading are available through VTrade and app features.
- The product range includes CFDs on forex, indices, commodities, shares, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETFs.
What to consider
- The listed products are CFDs and do not provide ownership of the underlying assets.
- Leverage, costs and regulatory protections vary with jurisdiction, account and product.
- Raw ECN charges a commission, while overnight financing or administration fees may apply depending on account and product.
- Withdrawal costs can depend on the payment route and circumstances.
VT Markets at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2015 |
| Regulator / licence | FSC Mauritius: VT Markets Limited, licence GB23202269; FSCA South Africa: VT Markets (Pty) Ltd, licence 50865. The contracting entity depends on your location. |
| Minimum initial deposit | USD 50 for Standard STP and Raw ECN under the current regional account guide; method and region can change the threshold. |
| Account types | Standard STP and Raw ECN |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, WebTrader and VT Markets App |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, bond CFDs, cryptocurrency CFDs and ETF CFDs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:1,000 for eligible international accounts; limits depend on jurisdiction, product and account. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, AUD, GBP, EUR, CAD and JPY account currencies |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is VT Markets Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The company named in your client agreement determines which regulatory framework applies. The identified records list VT Markets Limited under the FSC in Mauritius (licence GB23202269) and VT Markets (Pty) Ltd under South Africa's FSCA (licence 50865); protections attached to one entity should not be assumed for another.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | VT Markets Limited (International / Mauritius entity (subject to exclusions)); VT Markets (Pty) Ltd (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | FSC (Mauritius) (International / Mauritius entity (subject to exclusions)); FSCA (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity)) |
| Licence / registration | FSC (Mauritius): GB23202269; FSCA: 50865 |
| Client-money arrangements | VT Markets says client money is held separately from its operational funds. Safeguards depend on the applicable entity and terms. |
| Negative balance protection | The broker says negative balance protection applies to retail traders; check the terms for your entity and account. |
| Investor compensation | No automatic statutory payout applies to every broker failure. International arrangements vary; private cover is subject to its terms and does not cover ordinary trading losses. |
Segregation and negative balance protection address specific risks; they do not prevent trading losses on CFDs. The available investor-compensation information identifies safeguards for VT Markets' Australian accounts under ASIC rules, not a universal compensation scheme. The applicable terms also determine how complaints and disputes are handled.
VT Markets Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Choose a pricing structure by considering how often you trade and how long positions stay open: a spread markup avoids a separate FX lot commission, while commission pricing makes the spread only one part of the cost. Financing and withdrawal charges can also affect the total.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
VT Markets lists variable pricing. Standard STP quotes EUR/USD from 1.3 pips; Raw ECN spreads start at 0.0 pips with a $6 round-turn commission per standard FX lot. These are starting figures, not average or guaranteed execution prices, and actual costs vary by product and account.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | VT Markets identifies swap, administration and rollover fees as potential trading expenses, depending on the account and product. | VT Markets lists swap/admin and rollover fees among potential trading costs depending on account/product. |
| Currency conversion | No | No separate broker currency-conversion fee is listed; exchange-rate costs may still apply |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: The cost of a withdrawal depends on the route you use and sometimes the currency, amount, location or how many transfers you make. | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Fees are limited to withdrawal routes or situations that carry a charge; the amount can differ by currency, region and withdrawal frequency. |
Swap, administration or rollover costs may accrue on positions held overnight. Deposit handling is generally free, but withdrawal charges may depend on route and circumstances, with separate fees possible from banks or payment providers.
Which VT Markets Account Should You Choose?
4.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Both listed live accounts have a USD 50 minimum deposit in current regional guidance (subject to entity and funding method) and list MT4, MT5 and the VT Markets App. Standard STP uses a spread markup without an FX lot commission, while Raw ECN combines spreads starting from 0.0 pips with a $6 round-turn fee per standard FX lot. The former avoids a separate commission; the latter may suit traders comparing the combined spread and commission across their trading activity. Leverage can reach 1:1,000 on eligible international accounts, while jurisdictional limits may be lower.
VT Markets Trading Platforms
4.7/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
The platform choice matters most if your workflow depends on automation: MT4 and MT5 desktop support Expert Advisors and custom scripts, while TradingView is suited to charting and alerts rather than live strategy execution. WebTrader and the app cover browser or mobile access, but the app is not an environment for writing or running EAs.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | You can trade with MT4 on a phone or in a browser, but its Expert Advisors and custom scripts need the desktop platform. That's where the MQL4 automation tools are available. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 supports MQL5 Expert Advisors and a built-in Strategy Tester. You can trade across devices, but developing, testing and running bots requires the desktop terminal or a VPS. |
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | TradingView works well for charts and rule-based alerts. Its strategy tester uses simulated orders, so real-money execution needs a separate, compatible automation setup. |
| WebTrader | Web, Mobile | VT's WebTrader lets you trade and check charts from the web or mobile. It doesn't have a documented environment for running Expert Advisors or custom code; VT points to MT5 desktop for automated trading instead. |
| VT Markets App | Mobile | The VT Markets app is for trading, receiving alerts, checking positions and managing your account from your phone. There's no documented way to write and run EAs inside it, so custom automation needs another supported platform. |
Markets and Instruments Available
5.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 40 | Keeping a forex trade open overnight can result in swap or financing charges. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:1000. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 26 | Index CFDs follow index prices without giving traders ownership of the underlying shares. Cash and futures contracts may have different trading hours, terms and financing costs. Leverage can reach 1:500 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 23 | Trading commodity CFDs does not involve taking delivery of the physical commodity. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:1000. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 800 | Share CFDs follow stock prices, but do not provide share ownership or voting rights. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Short-selling terms depend on the contract. Leverage can reach 1:33 for eligible clients. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 7 | Trading bond derivatives does not give you the bonds themselves or their coupon payments. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 59 | Trading these crypto-linked contracts does not mean owning the coins or holding them in a personal wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 50 | ETF CFDs track fund prices without giving traders ownership of ETF units. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Leverage can reach 1:33 for eligible clients. |
These products provide leveraged price exposure rather than direct holdings: a CFD does not confer ownership, voting rights, physical delivery, bond coupons or coins in a personal wallet. That distinction matters most if you need to hold the underlying asset rather than trade its price. Availability is not universal; for example, UK retail clients cannot trade the listed cryptocurrency derivatives.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
For automated execution, MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, with a built-in strategy tester in MT5; FIX API access through VT Connect may be available to institutional clients. VTrade and app features provide copy and social trading, including provider-following and risk-limit settings. Separate from execution, the research offering includes market analysis, an economic calendar, price charts, Trading Central and technical analysis; education consists of live and recorded chart-analysis webinars, introductory lessons and a glossary. VT Markets describes fills as occurring at the best available price, which may be favourable or unfavourable against the target, not as a guaranteed execution level.
VT Markets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.4
Payment routes and processing estimates depend on location and method. Live-account activation and withdrawals require identity verification, so complete KYC before relying on a particular funding schedule.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
VT Markets requires a government-issued photo ID and recent proof of address; face verification may also be required. The broker says verification is completed through the Client Portal. Account eligibility and the applicable company depend on your jurisdiction.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 50 (account base currency); method limits may differ. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 40 (account currency); method exceptions. | Deposit broker fee: Usually free (broker; bank fees possible). Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: Local: within 1 business day; international: 3–7 business days. Withdrawal processing time: Local: 1–3; international: 3–7 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 50 (account base currency); method limits may differ. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 40 (account currency); method exceptions. | Deposit broker fee: Usually free (broker). Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: within 60 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days (up to 7 for some cards). |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 50 (account base currency); method limits may differ. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 40 (account currency); method exceptions. | Deposit broker fee: Usually free (broker; provider fees may apply). Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: within 60 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: 1–2 business days. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 50 (account base currency); method limits may differ. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 40 (account currency); method exceptions. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: 30–60 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days. |
| Mobile Money | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: Generally 50 (account base currency); method limits may differ. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Standard 40 units account currency. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: up to 1 business day. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/7 through live chat, email, the Client Portal and Help Center. Supported languages include English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Vietnamese, Chinese, Thai, Indonesian, Malay, Italian and German. Formal complaints and client safeguards are handled by the company named in your agreement.
Who Should Choose VT Markets?
The choice is clearest when you separate trading workflow from investment objective: MetaTrader and copy-trading users can choose between two CFD pricing structures, but traders seeking direct ownership of shares, ETFs, bonds or crypto will not find it in the listed products.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Active MetaTrader CFD trader | Good, subject to regional terms | MT4 and MT5 are available, with Standard STP and Raw ECN pricing structures. |
| Trader seeking direct ownership of shares, ETFs, bonds or crypto | Poor | The listed products are CFDs and do not confer ownership of the underlying assets. |
| Trader comparing costs or protections across entities | Conditional | Commission, financing and regulatory terms vary by account, product and contracting company. |
VT Markets vs Alternatives
BDSwiss1:2000Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capitalcore- No commission
- No overnight swap fee
ActivTradesForex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, BondsDetailed Review
Charles Schwab (formerly TD Ameritrade)SEC, FINRA, SIPC, CFTCDetailed Review
For traders who need automation, MT4 or MT5 desktop is the relevant platform choice; those who need asset ownership should rule out VT Markets' listed CFD products.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee VT Markets?
The identified entity records list VT Markets Limited under the FSC in Mauritius, licence GB23202269, and VT Markets (Pty) Ltd under South Africa's FSCA, licence 50865. Your applicable terms depend on the company named in your agreement.
What is the minimum deposit for VT Markets accounts?
VT Markets currently lists a USD 50 minimum for both Standard STP and Raw ECN in its regional account-opening guidance. The final payment minimum depends on entity and funding method; verify the amount displayed in the client portal.
What are the trading fees on Standard STP and Raw ECN?
Standard STP uses variable spreads with a markup and has no FX lot commission. Raw ECN spreads start from 0.0 pips and its stated commission is $6 per standard FX lot round trip.
Which platforms does VT Markets offer?
Available platforms include MT4, MT5, TradingView, WebTrader and the VT Markets App. MT4 and MT5 desktop terminals support their respective Expert Advisors and custom scripts.
Does VT Markets offer real shares or cryptocurrency ownership?
The listed share and cryptocurrency products are CFDs. They provide price exposure and do not give you ownership of shares or coins in a personal wallet.
How long do deposits and withdrawals take?
Published estimates vary by method: card and e-wallet deposits are listed as within 60 minutes, while bank transfers can take from one business day locally to 3–7 business days internationally. Withdrawal estimates also vary by route, including 1–3 business days for cards and 3–7 business days for international bank transfers.