At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, SquaredFinancial mobile app
- Regulators
- CySEC, FSA
- Leverage
- 2000
Our Verdict on SquaredFinancial
4.0/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can lead to rapid losses, including the loss of your capital. Consider whether these products are appropriate for you.
SquaredFinancial pairs MT4 and MT5 with two distinct FX pricing models, giving traders a choice between spread-based SquaredPro and raw-spread SquaredElite, which adds commission. Copy trading and introductory education broaden the offering, but the practical choice is constrained by access: Squared Financial (CY) Ltd is not onboarding new clients and its CySEC licence is under examination for voluntary renunciation, while the Seychelles entity operates under separate terms. SquaredElite's listed $5,000 minimum also puts that pricing option out of reach for smaller accounts. The account, legal entity and product terms therefore matter as much as the platform choice.
| Best for | Forex and CFD traders who want MT4 or MT5 and a choice between spread-based and raw-spread pricing. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Clients seeking a new account through the Cyprus company, or traders who require a low entry amount for the raw-spread account. |
| Biggest strength | Two distinct FX pricing models alongside MT4 and MT5. |
| Main drawback | Entity-specific access and protections, including the Cyprus company's current onboarding and licence status. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available regulatory, account, fee, platform, instrument and funding information, without claiming first-hand trading or withdrawal tests. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers both MT4 and MT5 on desktop, web and mobile.
- SquaredPro offers commission-free FX trading, while SquaredElite offers raw spreads with a separate commission.
- Copy and social trading are available, including through the SQ CopyTrade app.
- The broker lists no deposit, withdrawal or inactivity fee.
What to consider
- Squared Financial (CY) Ltd is not onboarding new clients, and its CySEC licence is under examination for voluntary renunciation.
- SquaredElite has a listed $5,000 minimum deposit.
- Leverage and investor protections depend on the contracting entity, jurisdiction and account terms.
- Currency conversion fees may apply when transaction or trading currencies differ from the account currency.
SquaredFinancial at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2005 |
| Regulator / licence | CySEC licence 329/17 for Squared Financial (CY) Ltd is under examination for voluntary renunciation; the firm says it is not onboarding new clients through this company. Squared Financial (Seychelles) Ltd is regulated by the Seychelles FSA, licence SD024. |
| Minimum initial deposit | SquaredPro: $100 listed on the comparison page (some homepage variants show $0). SquaredElite: $5,000. |
| Account types | SquaredPro and SquaredElite |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and SquaredFinancial mobile app |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs, cryptocurrency CFDs and ETPs; availability varies by product, account and region. |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:2,000 on major Forex pairs, gold and silver for international accounts under Seychelles regulation. EU limits are lower, including 1:30 for major FX pairs. |
| Account / funding currencies | EUR, USD, GBP, CHF and ZAR |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is SquaredFinancial Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
The relevant protections depend on which company holds the client relationship. Squared Financial (Seychelles) Ltd is regulated by the Seychelles FSA under licence SD024; Squared Financial (CY) Ltd holds CySEC licence 329/17, which is under examination for voluntary renunciation, and is not onboarding new clients. Cyprus protections should not be assumed to cover accounts with the separate Seychelles entity.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Squared Financial (CY) Ltd (EU/EEA — CySEC entity is under voluntary licence-renunciation process and not onboarding new clients); Squared Financial (Seychelles) Ltd (International / Seychelles entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | CySEC (EU/EEA — CySEC entity is under voluntary licence-renunciation process and not onboarding new clients); FSA (Seychelles) (International / Seychelles entity (subject to exclusions)) |
| Licence / registration | CySEC: 329/17 (under examination for voluntary renunciation); FSA (Seychelles): SD024 |
| Client-money arrangements | The broker says client funds are held in segregated bank accounts, separate from company funds. |
| Negative balance protection | The broker says it provides negative balance protection. |
| Investor compensation | Cyprus ICF protection applies only to eligible accounts at the covered Cyprus company. Compensation is capped at 90% of a valid claim or €20,000, whichever is lower; trading losses are not covered. |
Segregation and negative-balance protection do not provide compensation for trading losses. The Cyprus ICF is a separate, limited safeguard: only eligible accounts at the covered Cyprus company qualify, and compensation is capped at 90% of a valid claim or €20,000, whichever is lower.
SquaredFinancial Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
The useful comparison is not simply the quoted spread: SquaredPro places the FX cost in the spread, whereas SquaredElite adds a commission to its raw spread. That makes trade size and frequency relevant when comparing the two; overnight funding and currency conversion can add costs in their respective circumstances.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
SquaredPro FX spreads are floating and start from 1.2 pips, with no trading commission. SquaredElite raw FX spreads start from 0.0 pips and carry a $5 commission per standard FX lot. These are starting prices, not verified average EUR/USD spreads; costs can vary by instrument and trade. Compare the expected spread and commission together rather than treating the raw-spread figure as the complete cost.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | SquaredFinancial warns that leveraged trading can involve roll-over costs; the applicable overnight funding depends on the instrument and account terms. | SquaredFinancial warns that leveraged trading can involve roll-over costs; the applicable overnight funding depends on the instrument and account terms. |
| Currency conversion | When transactions or trading results are in a different currency, the broker may apply a conversion fee or rate markup. The exact cost depends on the entity, product and route. | The currency used for funding, withdrawing, trading or settling needs to differ from the account currency for conversion costs to arise. The amount varies by product, entity and method. |
| Inactivity | No | Not applicable (no inactivity fee is listed) |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: SquaredFinancial (CY) Limited's published withdrawal policy says third-party payment and transfer charges are borne by clients; withdrawal fees may also apply by client or account type. The document is dated September 2018 and should be checked against current terms. |
The broker lists no deposit, withdrawal or inactivity fee, but payment providers may charge separately. Conversion costs arise only when the relevant transaction or trading currency differs from the account currency.
Which SquaredFinancial Account Should You Choose?
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
For the lower listed entry amount, SquaredPro charges through floating FX spreads starting at 1.2 pips and has no trading commission. SquaredElite starts with raw FX spreads from 0.0 pips but adds a $5 commission per standard FX lot and requires a listed $5,000 minimum deposit. The choice therefore turns on whether the raw-spread pricing suits the trader's expected activity enough to justify both the commission and higher entry threshold; the figures alone do not establish which account will cost less. Both account records list MT4 and MT5. The minimum-deposit information is inconsistent: a separate field shows $0, while the comparison listing gives $100 for SquaredPro and notes that some homepage variants show a promotional $0.
SquaredFinancial Trading Platforms
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
MT4 and MT5 cover manual trading across desktop, web and mobile, but the documented automation workflow is desktop-based: custom bots do not run in the web or mobile versions. MT5 adds a Strategy Tester for testing strategies, while the dedicated mobile app is positioned for trade and account management rather than custom algorithm development.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT4 handles manual trading across devices and automated trading through MQL4 Expert Advisors. Its web and mobile versions don't run custom bots; desktop MT4 does. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 combines advanced order tools with MQL5 trading bots and a Strategy Tester. The trade-off is that custom-code work and bot execution require desktop software or a VPS. |
| SquaredFinancial mobile app | Mobile | The SquaredFinancial app is for placing trades, watching positions and managing your account on mobile. No built-in tools for writing and running custom trading algorithms have been confirmed. |
Markets and Instruments Available
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 40 | Trading costs can be higher for exotic and thinly traded currency pairs. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 20 | Trading an index CFD does not mean owning the shares that make up the index. Trading hours, rollover arrangements and holding costs vary by contract. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 20 | Commodity CFDs track prices without requiring physical delivery. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Financing charges may also apply. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 1900 | Trading stock CFDs does not make you a shareholder or give you voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs (selected accounts); Country-specific crypto-CFD count not verified | Crypto-linked contracts provide exposure to price movements, not ownership of the coins. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; Conflicting availability across supplied files; exact ETF count not verified | ETF CFDs track fund prices without giving traders ownership of ETF units. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. The exact number and selection of ETFs have not been fully verified and may vary by account. |
Most listed exposure is through derivatives: a CFD tracks an asset's price but does not transfer ownership. Stock CFD holders are not shareholders and receive no voting rights; index, commodity, crypto and ETF CFDs likewise do not confer ownership of the underlying shares, goods, coins or fund units. Product access is conditional: UK retail clients cannot trade crypto derivatives, and ETF availability and selection are not consistently established.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
For execution and automation, MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, while API access, VPS hosting and the SQ CopyTrade app extend the listed tools beyond the platforms. Copy trading has a stated $50 minimum balance; VPS access is associated with the Premium Program and may depend on account balance or deposit tiers. Separate research and learning resources include market research, trading ideas, an economic calendar, calculators, a currency converter, market news and SquaredAcademy videos, platform lessons and a glossary.
The broker says market orders execute at the next available price, generally within milliseconds to seconds, without a guaranteed fixed fill. This is a description of its execution terms, not a measured result. Standard news trading is allowed, while high-frequency strategies and latency arbitrage intended to exploit execution delays are prohibited.
SquaredFinancial Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.0
To open a live account, clients must complete KYC, and the Seychelles entity is subject to country exclusions. The Cyprus company is not onboarding new clients, so prospective clients need to establish which entity is available to them before proceeding.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
SquaredFinancial requires proof of identity and residence: a valid government-issued identity document and a recent utility bill or bank statement showing the applicant's name and address.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposit processing time: 1–3 business days. Withdrawal processing time: up to 30 minutes. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 30 minutes. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 30 minutes. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 30 minutes. |
Customer Support
Support is available by email, phone and live chat in English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French. Stated service hours are Monday to Friday, 7 am to 9 pm GMT+3; the general support-hours field also describes service as 24/5.
Who Should Choose SquaredFinancial?
Both account types list MT4 and MT5, so platform access does not distinguish them. The key decision is pricing and entry size: SquaredPro avoids a separate FX commission, while SquaredElite's raw-spread model comes with a $5,000 listed minimum. The latter is relevant only to traders for whom that entry threshold and per-lot charge fit their plans.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| MT4/MT5 trader choosing between pricing models | Good | SquaredPro offers commission-free FX trading with spreads from 1.2 pips; SquaredElite offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a $5 per-standard-lot commission. |
| Trader seeking high leverage | Conditional | International accounts under Seychelles regulation may access up to 1:2,000 on major FX pairs, gold and silver; EU limits are lower, and jurisdiction and account type matter. |
| Client seeking a new Cyprus-entity account | Poor | Squared Financial (CY) Ltd is not onboarding new clients, and its CySEC licence is under examination for voluntary renunciation. |
SquaredFinancial vs Alternatives
ThinkMarkets1:2500Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No commission
AdmiralsStocks, ETFs, Bonds, Forex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, CryptocurrenciesDetailed Review
TickmillCySEC, FCA, FSA, FSCA, DFSADetailed Review
For strategy-led traders, the practical dividing line is whether desktop-based bot execution is acceptable; web and mobile users cannot run custom bots.
FAQs
Which regulator oversees SquaredFinancial?
Squared Financial (Seychelles) Ltd is regulated by the Seychelles FSA under licence SD024. Squared Financial (CY) Ltd holds CySEC licence 329/17, which is under examination for voluntary renunciation; it is not onboarding new clients.
What are the SquaredPro and SquaredElite minimum deposits and fees?
SquaredPro has a listed $100 opening amount, floating FX spreads from 1.2 pips and no trading commission. SquaredElite has a listed $5,000 minimum, raw FX spreads from 0.0 pips and a $5 commission per standard FX lot.
Does SquaredFinancial offer MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5?
Yes. MT4 and MT5 are available on desktop, web and mobile. Custom bots run on desktop, not the web or mobile versions; MT5 also includes a Strategy Tester.
What markets can I trade with SquaredFinancial?
Listed markets include Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrency CFDs and ETPs. Access varies by account and region; UK retail clients cannot trade cryptocurrency derivatives.
Which deposit and withdrawal methods are listed?
Methods include bank transfer, debit or credit card, e-wallets and crypto. Card, e-wallet and crypto deposits are listed as instant; bank transfers take 1–3 business days. Withdrawals are listed as processing within up to 30 minutes for each method.
Does SquaredFinancial charge overnight fees?
Overnight swap fees may apply to leveraged positions held past the market close. Swap-free accounts are also available; terms and holding limits can depend on the asset.