Skip to content
ENLanguage & region

Language

EN
Find my broker
Menu
FxBrokersRankBroker reviewsMoneta Markets

Moneta Markets review

Proprietary platform

Trading involves risk. You can lose money.

Review score

Review score 4.5/ 5
Trust & safety
4.1
Fees & commission
4.5
Platforms & tools
4.5
Tradable instruments
5.0
How we assess brokers
01

At a glance

Minimum deposit
$50
Platforms
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProTrader, AppTrader, CopyTrader
Regulators
FSCA, FCA, FSC, CMA
Leverage
1000
02

Our Verdict on Moneta Markets

4.5/5Overall score

Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you may lose money rapidly.

Moneta Markets is most relevant to forex and CFD traders choosing between spread-only and raw-spread pricing, with a range of desktop, browser and mobile platforms. Direct STP and Prime ECN each start at $50; Ultra ECN’s $20,000 minimum makes it a narrower option, despite its lower stated commission. The main decision is whether the preferred pricing and workflow justify the account threshold. Product access and protections depend on the contracting entity, so UK retail traders seeking crypto derivatives, for example, are not a fit.

Best forForex and CFD traders comparing account pricing and platform choices, including mobile copy trading.
Not ideal forTraders who need Ultra ECN pricing but cannot meet its $20,000 minimum deposit, or UK retail clients seeking crypto CFDs.
Biggest strengthThree account types combine a spread-only option with two raw-spread, commission-based options.
Main drawbackUltra ECN has a $20,000 minimum deposit, and entity-specific rules affect protections and product access.

How we reviewed it: This review compares the available account, platform, market, fee, funding and entity information; it does not present broker claims as the results of hands-on trading or withdrawal tests. See our review methodology.

What stands out

  • Direct STP and Prime ECN each have a $50 minimum deposit.
  • Three account types offer a choice between spread-only pricing and raw spreads with commissions.
  • The platform range includes desktop and mobile MetaTrader, browser-based ProTrader 2.0 and mobile copy trading.
  • The Market Masters programme contains more than 100 training videos.
  • The broker lists forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETFs.

What to consider

  • Ultra ECN requires a $20,000 minimum deposit.
  • Account protections and available leverage depend on the contracting entity and jurisdiction.
  • UK retail clients cannot trade the broker's cryptocurrency derivatives.
  • Raw spreads from 0.0 pips do not remove the applicable per-side commission.
03

Moneta Markets at a Glance

FeatureBroker disclosures and checked findings
Founded2016
Regulator / licenceFCA, licence 613381, for UK clients of Moneta Markets Capital Ltd; FSCA, licence 47490, for Moneta Markets South Africa (Pty) Ltd or clients routed to that entity. Confirm which entity will hold your account.
Minimum initial deposit$50 for Direct STP and Prime ECN; $20,000 for Ultra ECN
Account typesDirect STP, Prime ECN and Ultra ECN
Trading platformsMetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProTrader 2.0, AppTrader and CopyTrader
MarketsForex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETFs; product availability depends on region and platform.
Maximum leverageUp to 1:1,000 where permitted; limits depend on jurisdiction, account and instrument. FCA-regulated UK retail traders are capped at 1:30.
Account / funding currenciesUSD, EUR, GBP, NZD, SGD, JPY, CAD, HKD and BRL
Demo accountYes
04

Is Moneta Markets Safe, Legit and Regulated?

4.1/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

The identified regulatory arrangements apply to specific contracting entities: Moneta Markets Capital Ltd is the FCA-regulated company for UK clients (licence 613381), while Moneta Markets South Africa (Pty) Ltd is registered with the FSCA (licence 47490) for South African clients or clients routed to that entity. These authorisations should not be assumed to cover accounts held by other Moneta Markets companies.

Regulation and Client Protections

Regulatory questionDocumented finding and limitations
Contracting legal entitiesMoneta Markets Capital Ltd (United Kingdom clients); Moneta Markets South Africa (Pty) Ltd (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity))
Regulators / jurisdictionsFCA (United Kingdom clients); FSCA (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity))
Licence / registrationFCA: 613381; FSCA: 47490
Client-money arrangementsMoneta Markets says it segregates client funds from its operational capital. The precise arrangements depend on the contracting entity.
Negative balance protectionMoneta Markets says it offers negative balance protection; eligibility and scope may depend on the entity and client location.
Investor compensationMoneta Markets says eligible clients of its FCA-regulated UK entity may have FSCS protection up to £85,000. It also describes private Lloyd's-backed cover up to US$1 million for eligible accounts; this is not statutory compensation and is subject to policy terms.

Segregation is intended to separate client funds from operating capital, and negative balance protection is intended to limit losses to the account balance; neither prevents trading losses or guarantees recovery if a broker fails. The stated Lloyd's-backed cover applies only to eligible accounts and specified events, not ordinary market losses.

05

Moneta Markets Fees, Spreads and Commissions

4.5/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

Direct STP builds its forex charge into the spread, while Prime ECN and Ultra ECN pair raw spreads with a per-side commission. To compare them, consider the combined spread and commission at your trade size and frequency, not the minimum spread alone. Overnight funding, currency conversion and swap-free administration fees can also affect total costs.

Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs

The quoted spreads are minimums, not observed averages: Direct STP starts at 1.2 pips with no per-lot forex commission, while Prime ECN and Ultra ECN start at 0.0 pips and charge commissions of $3 and $1 per side per standard lot respectively. A zero minimum spread does not mean every trade will incur no spread cost.

Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees

FeeAmount / triggerConditions
Overnight financing, swap or margin interestStandard accounts may have overnight funding; swap-free accounts replace swaps with an administration fee.Standard accounts may have overnight funding; swap-free accounts replace swaps with an administration fee.
Currency conversionA currency-conversion charge may apply when a deposit, withdrawal or trade uses a different currency from your account. The cost varies by entity, product and conversion route.The charge is relevant when a payment, instrument, trading result or settlement needs converting to the account currency. The rate depends on the entity, product and conversion route.
InactivityNoNot applicable (no inactivity fee is listed)
Deposits / withdrawalsDeposit: No; Withdrawal: YesDeposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Moneta Markets lists no standard broker fee for the common withdrawal methods in its payment table; intermediary or overseas bank charges may still apply.

The stated schedule has no inactivity or deposit fee. Withdrawal charges may depend on the method and frequency, and banks or payment providers may apply separate charges.

06

Which Moneta Markets Account Should You Choose?

4.9/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

Direct STP is the spread-based option, with no per-lot forex commission and a $50 minimum deposit. Prime ECN also starts at $50 but pairs raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a $3-per-side commission per standard lot. Ultra ECN keeps the same quoted spread starting point and lowers commission to $1 per side, but its $20,000 minimum deposit makes that pricing accessible to a narrower group. Direct STP and Prime ECN list leverage up to 1:1,000, while Ultra ECN lists up to 1:500; instrument and equity restrictions apply. All three list PRO Trader, MT4, MT5 and AppTrader.

07

Moneta Markets Trading Platforms

4.5/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

For custom Expert Advisors, the documented workflow requires desktop MT4 or MT5; their web and mobile versions allow monitoring and trading but do not run those bots. ProTrader 2.0 provides a browser-based alternative with TradingView-powered charts, while AppTrader and CopyTrader are mobile routes for trading and following other strategies rather than developing custom automation.

Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms

PlatformAvailabilityEvidence-backed strength or limitation
MetaTrader 4Web, Desktop, MobileMT4 handles manual trading across devices and automated trading through MQL4 Expert Advisors. Its web and mobile versions don't run custom bots; desktop MT4 does.
MetaTrader 5Web, Desktop, MobileYou can monitor and place trades in MT5 on mobile or web, but Expert Advisors need the desktop version. That's also where MQL5 development and strategy testing take place.
ProTrader 2.0WebMoneta retired the original ProTrader in December 2025. Its replacement, ProTrader 2.0, is a browser platform with TradingView-powered charts; built-in support for coding and running trading bots isn't documented.
AppTraderMobileThis is a mobile trading interface rather than a bot-development tool. You can follow markets and manage trades, but custom automation isn't documented.
CopyTraderMobileYou can follow a strategy provider and have trades copied for you. That's different from developing or testing a custom trading bot.
08

Markets and Instruments Available

5.0/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

Asset classProducts offeredRestriction
ForexLeveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 44The quoted 44 forex pairs are a minimum, not an exact count. Leverage may reach 1:1000 only when the account type and local rules allow it.
IndicesIndex CFDs; 16The index range changes between platforms: 16 to 23 instruments have been reported, but no exact minimum is confirmed. Leverage up to 1:1000 may be available where allowed.
CommoditiesCommodity CFDs; 15The 15 commodity CFDs reported are a minimum across platforms, not a fixed total. Leverage up to 1:1000 may be available where permitted.
StocksStock CFDs; 635The reported 635 share CFDs are a minimum that varies by platform. Leverage up to 1:33 is conditional and is not a standard retail limit.
BondsBond / rate CFDs; 7Bond-linked derivatives follow prices rather than providing bond ownership or coupon payments. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract.
CryptoCrypto CFDs; 59Crypto-linked contracts provide exposure to price movements, not ownership of the coins. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives.
ETFsDirect ETFs / ETF CFDs; 50Buying an ETF outright gives you fund ownership; an ETF CFD does not. The selection and margin requirements depend on the account and region. Leverage can reach 1:33 for eligible clients.

Product structure determines what the exposure represents: a CFD tracks price movements without transferring ownership, while buying an ETF outright gives fund ownership. Bond-linked contracts likewise do not confer bond ownership or coupon payments. The range and availability of contract-based products can differ by platform and region.

09

Execution, Trading Tools and Research

4.5/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

For market monitoring, Moneta Markets lists Trading Ideas, an Economic Calendar, Market Buzz and Technical Analysis; Market Masters adds more than 100 training videos for new and experienced traders. CopyTrader, ZuluTrade, DupliTrade and PAMM/MAM provide ways to follow or allocate trades, not guarantees of results; the broker describes access to more than 6,000 strategy providers. API access is listed through the cTrader ecosystem and MT5 programming environment, while VPS hosting is described as available to qualifying MT4 or MT5 clients. Rapid or volatile moves can produce fills above or below the anticipated price.

10

Moneta Markets Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening

4.7/5Area score

Overall review score: 4.5

Live-account activation, deposits and withdrawals require identity and anti-money-laundering checks. Completing verification before funding may reduce withdrawal delays. The account-opening minimum is $50 for Direct STP or Prime ECN and $20,000 for Ultra ECN; withdrawal minimums depend on the payment method.

Account Opening and Identity Verification

Applicants are asked for identity documents such as a passport, driver's licence or national identity card. Proof of residence, such as a recent utility bill or bank statement, is also required for withdrawals. Demo accounts can be opened without KYC, but live-account activity requires verification.

Deposit and Withdrawal Methods

MethodDeposit / withdrawal availabilityBroker feeProcessing time
Bank transferDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: 40 units of account currency.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposit processing time: 2–5 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 3–5 business days.
Debit / credit cardDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: 40 units of account currency.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days.
E-walletsDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: 40 units of account currency.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days.
CryptoDeposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: 40 units of account currency.No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals.Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: 1–3 business days.

Customer Support

Support is listed as available 24/7 by live chat, email and phone, in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Indonesian, Malaysian and Arabic. The listed email is [email protected] and the phone number is 44 (113) 3204819.

11

Who Should Choose Moneta Markets?

Moneta Markets is a stronger fit when its range of trading interfaces or mobile copy trading is useful to your workflow; traders relying on custom Expert Advisors need desktop MT4 or MT5. For pricing, the practical choice is between spread-only Direct STP and commission-based Prime ECN, while Ultra ECN's $20,000 minimum narrows access to its lower stated commission. UK retail clients seeking crypto CFDs should rule it out.

ProfileFitDecisive reason
Forex trader comparing commission and spread pricingGoodDirect STP has no per-lot forex commission; Prime ECN and Ultra ECN offer raw spreads with stated per-side commissions.
Trader seeking a low minimum account depositGood, for Direct STP or Prime ECNBoth account types have a $50 minimum deposit; Ultra ECN requires $20,000.
UK retail trader seeking cryptocurrency CFDsPoorUK retail clients cannot trade the broker's crypto-linked derivatives.

Moneta Markets vs Alternatives

For a forex account, compare Direct STP's spread-only pricing with Prime ECN's raw spread and per-side commission at your expected trade size; Ultra ECN adds a $20,000 entry requirement for its lower stated commission.

?

FAQs

Which regulators oversee Moneta Markets?

The identified entities are Moneta Markets Capital Ltd, regulated by the FCA under licence 613381 for UK clients, and Moneta Markets South Africa (Pty) Ltd, registered with the FSCA under licence 47490 for South African clients or clients routed to that entity. Confirm which company will contract with you.

What is Moneta Markets' minimum deposit?

Direct STP and Prime ECN each require a $50 minimum deposit. Ultra ECN requires $20,000.

How do Moneta Markets account commissions work?

Direct STP has no per-lot forex commission and quotes spreads from 1.2 pips. Prime ECN and Ultra ECN quote raw spreads from 0.0 pips, with commissions of $3 and $1 per side per standard lot respectively.

Which trading platforms can Moneta Markets clients use?

The listed platforms are MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProTrader 2.0, AppTrader and CopyTrader. Custom MT4 and MT5 Expert Advisors require the desktop platforms; ProTrader 2.0 is a browser platform.

What markets are available at Moneta Markets?

The listed markets include forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETFs. Many are offered as CFDs, and availability can depend on region and platform. UK retail clients cannot trade the crypto derivatives.

How long do Moneta Markets deposits and withdrawals take?

Listed deposit estimates are instant for cards, e-wallets and crypto, and 2–5 business days for bank transfers. Listed withdrawal estimates are 1–3 business days for cards, e-wallets and crypto, and 3–5 business days for bank transfers.

Moneta Markets reader reviews

Read what other readers experienced, then share the details that mattered to you.

Share your experience

Set out what worked, what did not, and what others should check.

Your rating