At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $100
- Platforms
- Markets.com WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView
- Regulators
- CySEC, FSCA
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on markets.com
4.3/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex, leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses as well as gains, and you can lose money quickly.
markets.com is aimed at beginner and intermediate CFD traders who want an in-house web platform as well as MT4, MT5 or TradingView. Its listed markets span forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, crypto and ETPs, with a demo account and educational resources also available. The main trade-off is that account terms—including platform access, minimums, leverage and protections—depend on the contracting entity. Costs also differ by pricing structure: Raw adds commission to the spread, while inactivity and currency-conversion charges may apply. Identify your entity and account before deciding whether its platform range and costs fit your trading.
| Best for | Beginner and intermediate CFD traders seeking an in-house platform with TradingView connectivity and access to multiple CFD markets. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Investors seeking ownership of shares, funds, bonds or cryptocurrencies rather than CFD exposure. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of Markets.com WebTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView, alongside a broad range of listed CFD markets. |
| Main drawback | Entity-dependent account terms and protections, plus additional costs such as Raw commission, swaps, conversion charges and inactivity fees. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses the available account, fee, platform, market and regulatory terms; it does not report first-hand execution or withdrawal testing. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Offers Markets.com WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradingView.
- Lists forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs as tradable markets.
- Offers a demo account and an Education Centre with lessons, videos and webinars.
- Lists no broker deposit or withdrawal fee.
What to consider
- Account minimums, platform eligibility, leverage and protections can vary by entity.
- Raw pricing adds commission to the spread.
- A $10 monthly inactivity fee may apply after more than 90 days without activity when funds are available.
- Currency-conversion charges and overnight swaps may add to trading costs.
- The listed instruments are CFDs or derivatives rather than ownership of underlying assets.
markets.com at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2008 |
| Regulator / licence | CySEC, licence 092/08, for Safecap Investments Ltd; FSCA, licence 46860, for the South African route involving Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd or a related group entity. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $100 listed; account and entity terms may vary. |
| Account types | Classic, Standard, Raw and Micro |
| Trading platforms | Markets.com WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradingView |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 under offshore entities; up to 1:30 for retail clients under FCA and CySEC rules. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, DKK, EUR, NOK, AUD, PLN, ZAR, GBP and SEK account currencies |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is markets.com Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Regulatory protections depend on the entity named in the client agreement. Safecap Investments Ltd is the Cyprus contracting company named for EEA clients and is regulated by CySEC under licence 092/08. The South African route involves Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd or a related group entity, with FSCA licence 46860.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Safecap Investments Ltd (EEA / Cyprus); Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd / Markets.com South Africa entity (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity)) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | CySEC (EEA / Cyprus); FSCA (South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity)) |
| Licence / registration | CySEC: 092/08; FSCA: 46860 |
| Client-money arrangements | Client funds are listed as segregated. |
| Negative balance protection | Listed as available; the applicable entity and client terms matter. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible retail clients of the Cyprus ICF-member firm may receive the lower of 90% of a qualifying claim or €20,000 if protected assets cannot be returned. Market losses are excluded. |
Segregation and negative balance protection do not prevent market losses. The Cyprus compensation arrangement is narrower: it applies to eligible retail clients of the Cyprus ICF-member firm and qualifying claims if protected assets cannot be returned, not to trading losses. Other group entities have separate arrangements.
markets.com Fees, Spreads and Commissions
3.9/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
For frequent or short-duration trading, the relevant comparison is the spread and any commission together; positions held overnight may also incur financing. Conversion and inactivity charges matter in different circumstances, so headline FX spreads alone do not capture every potential cost.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Quoted starting spreads are not verified average execution costs. Classic follows the selected Standard, Micro or Raw pricing, so the account label alone does not determine the charge structure. Assess the spread-plus-commission combination for Raw against the commission-free Standard or Micro structure for the instruments you trade.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Overnight swaps can be a cost or a credit on eligible trades held past rollover. What you pay or receive depends on the instrument, trade size, buy/sell direction, interest rates and nights held. | A position must be held across daily rollover for a swap to apply. The result varies with the instrument, long/short side, size, rates and duration. |
| Currency conversion | A conversion fee or markup may be added if a transaction is in a currency different from the account’s. The amount depends on which entity and product you use and how funds are exchanged. | A different currency on a deposit, withdrawal, instrument, profit/loss or settlement can lead to a conversion charge. Rates vary by legal entity, product and payment route. |
| Inactivity | A live markets.com account with available funds incurs USD 10 each month after more than 90 days of inactivity. | The fee starts after 90 days without activity and is collected only when funds are available. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: markets.com does not charge withdrawal fees; banks, payment providers and currency conversions may create separate costs. |
The listed broker funding fees do not include any separate charges a payment provider may impose.
Which markets.com Account Should You Choose?
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Standard and Micro use floating FX spreads from about 0.7 pips without trading commission; Raw starts at about 0.1 pip and adds commission. The practical choice is between the commission-free structure and Raw’s spread-plus-commission pricing, assessed against the combined cost for your trading activity. Minimum deposits for these account types vary by entity. Classic follows the selected Standard, Micro or Raw pricing rather than offering a separate schedule. MT4 and MT5 availability for the described Standard, Micro and Raw accounts is specified for the BVI entity, so confirm whether those platforms are available for your account.
markets.com Trading Platforms
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
WebTrader is the browser-based option for traders who do not want a desktop download. The choice between MetaTrader and TradingView matters most for automation: MT4 and MT5 Expert Advisors and custom scripts require desktop access, while TradingView’s strategy testing does not itself execute live trades. Platform and account eligibility can affect which workflow is available.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Markets.com WebTrader | Web, Mobile | The main benefit is trading directly from the web, without a desktop download. There's no documented editor or runtime for custom automated strategies. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | You can trade with MT4 on a phone or in a browser, but its Expert Advisors and custom scripts need the desktop platform. That's where the MQL4 automation tools are available. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | You can monitor and place trades in MT5 on mobile or web, but Expert Advisors need the desktop version. That's also where MQL5 development and strategy testing take place. |
| TradingView | Web, Desktop, Mobile | TradingView works well for charts and rule-based alerts. Its strategy tester uses simulated orders, so real-money execution needs a separate, compatible automation setup. |
Copy trading, social trading and API trading are also listed, while VPS hosting is unavailable.
Markets and Instruments Available
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 54 | Forex positions held overnight may incur swap or financing charges. Leverage can reach 1:30 for eligible clients. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 25 | Trading an index CFD does not mean owning the shares that make up the index. Cash and futures contracts may have different trading hours, terms and financing costs. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:20. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 19 | Commodity CFDs provide price exposure without physical delivery. Trading hours vary by contract, and some contracts expire or need to be rolled over. Financing charges may also apply. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:20. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 257 | Trading stock CFDs does not make you a shareholder or give you voting rights. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients. |
| Bonds | Bond / rate CFDs; 4 | Bond derivatives track bond prices without giving traders ownership of the bonds or coupon rights. Funding costs and margin requirements vary by contract. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 75 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:2. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 67 | ETF CFDs let traders follow fund prices without buying the ETF units. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. |
The listed products provide derivative price exposure, not direct holdings: a stock CFD carries no shareholder or voting rights, a bond derivative gives no coupon rights, and a crypto CFD does not put coins in a wallet. That distinction matters for investors seeking ownership rather than price exposure. Availability is not uniform; UK retail clients, for example, cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives, and contract hours, financing and expiry or rollover terms vary by product.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Market execution carries a normal risk of price slippage; no execution-speed or slippage test results are established here. For market context, the listed research tools include market analysis, an economic calendar, news, sentiment and technical analysis. The Education Centre’s Trading 101, definitions, lessons, videos and webinars provide learning materials, but these resources are distinct from the broker’s execution functions.
markets.com Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Identity verification is required to open an account. Bank transfer, card and e-wallet funding and withdrawals are listed; the withdrawal estimates differ by method.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Identity verification (KYC) is required.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD/EUR/GBP 100. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: up to 2 business days. Withdrawal processing time: up to 5 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD/EUR/GBP 10. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time is not specified. Withdrawal processing time: 2–7 business days. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Skrill / Neteller: USD/EUR/GBP 5. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time is not specified. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/5 by live chat, email, phone and online query form, in English, Thai, Vietnamese, Spanish, Arabic, Italian and Greek. The help centre covers funding, account management and platform functions; complaint procedures vary by country and entity.
Who Should Choose markets.com?
The key distinction is whether the goal is CFD trading or direct ownership: markets.com’s listed stocks, funds, bonds and crypto products provide derivative exposure. For traders who do want CFDs, the platform range offers several workflows, but the account and entity determine which terms and access apply.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Beginner or intermediate CFD trader | Good, if the entity and risks suit | The broker identifies this group as a target fit and offers a demo account, education resources and a proprietary web platform. |
| Trader who prefers raw-spread pricing | Conditional | Raw FX spreads start at about 0.1 pip, with a separate trading commission; compare the total cost for your trades. |
| Investor seeking ownership of underlying assets | Poor fit for the listed products | The listed stocks, ETFs, bonds and crypto products are CFDs or derivatives, not ownership of the underlying assets. |
markets.com vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No commission
ActivTradesForex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, BondsDetailed Review
AdmiralsFCA, CySEC, ASIC, FSADetailed Review
For automated MetaTrader strategies, desktop access is the decisive platform constraint; WebTrader and TradingView serve different workflows.
FAQs
Which regulator oversees markets.com?
Safecap Investments Ltd is regulated by CySEC under licence 092/08 for the EEA / Cyprus route. The South African route involves Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd or a related group entity and FSCA licence 46860. Check your contract to identify the entity providing your account.
What is the minimum deposit at markets.com?
A $100 minimum deposit is listed, although the minimum for account types such as Standard, Micro and Raw varies by entity.
Does markets.com charge trading commissions?
Standard and Micro accounts are listed with no trading commission and floating FX spreads starting at about 0.7 pips. Raw spreads start at about 0.1 pip and a separate commission applies. Classic pricing follows the selected Standard, Micro or Raw account.
Which platforms can I use with markets.com?
The listed platforms are Markets.com WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradingView. Availability can depend on the account and entity. MT4 and MT5 Expert Advisors and custom scripts require the desktop platform.
What markets does markets.com offer?
The listed markets are forex, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies and ETPs. These are offered as CFDs or derivatives, so trading them does not generally give ownership of the underlying asset.
How long do markets.com withdrawals take?
Listed withdrawal estimates are up to five business days for bank transfers, two to seven business days for cards and up to 24 hours for e-wallets. The broker lists no withdrawal fee.
Does markets.com have a demo account?
Yes. A demo account is listed as available.