At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $20
- Platforms
- HYCM Trader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5
- Regulators
- FCA, DFSA
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on HYCM
4.1/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs are complex leveraged products. Leverage can magnify losses, and you may lose your capital.
HYCM’s main appeal is a choice of fixed, floating or raw FX pricing, with MT4 and MT5 available for traders who want MetaTrader tools. The account choice has practical limits: the Fixed account excludes Expert Advisors, while Raw pricing adds a per-lot commission to its tighter starting spread. Occasional traders should also weigh the $10 monthly inactivity fee after three months without activity. HYCM has operated since 1977, but that history does not remove trading risk. The sections below explain the account costs, entity-specific protections and product restrictions that should shape a decision.
| Best for | Forex traders comparing fixed and floating pricing or using MetaTrader tools. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Occasional traders likely to leave an account inactive, or UK retail clients seeking crypto CFDs. |
| Biggest strength | Three FX account pricing structures, including fixed, floating and raw spreads. |
| Main drawback | A $10 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months without activity. |
How we reviewed it: This review assesses HYCM’s stated account terms, costs, platforms, markets and entity-specific regulatory information. It does not claim first-hand trading or withdrawal testing. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- Three FX account structures: fixed spreads, floating spreads and raw spreads with commission.
- MT4 and MT5 are available, with Expert Advisors supported on Classic and Raw accounts.
- HYCM lists a demo account and several research and educational resources.
What to consider
- A $10 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months without activity.
- The Fixed account does not permit Expert Advisors.
- Crypto CFDs are unavailable to UK retail clients.
HYCM at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1977 |
| Regulator / licence | FCA (UK), licence 186171; DFSA (DIFC), licence F000048. The contracting entity depends on client location. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $20 listed for the Fixed, Classic and Raw accounts; regional and account-tier requirements may be higher, up to $200. |
| Account types | Fixed, Classic and Raw |
| Trading platforms | HYCM Trader, MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs and cryptocurrency CFDs |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 on forex with the international entity; limits depend on jurisdiction and instrument. |
| Account / funding currencies | USD, EUR, GBP, AED and JPY |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is HYCM Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
HYCM’s UK and DIFC businesses hold separate authorisations: HYCM Capital Markets (UK) Limited is FCA-authorised under licence 186171, and HYCM Capital Markets (DIFC) Ltd operates under DFSA licence F000048. Your protections follow the entity that contracts with you, not simply the brand name; the UK authorisation does not extend automatically to overseas accounts.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | HYCM Capital Markets (DIFC) Ltd (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); HYCM Capital Markets (UK) Limited (United Kingdom) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | DFSA (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); FCA (United Kingdom) |
| Licence / registration | DFSA: F000048; FCA: 186171 |
| Client-money arrangements | HYCM says retail client funds are segregated from its own operational funds in separate trust accounts at Tier-1 banks. |
| Negative balance protection | HYCM says negative balance protection applies; protections and terms depend on the account entity and applicable rules. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible clients of the UK company may fall within FSCS protection up to £85,000 per claimant, per firm. This does not automatically apply to overseas accounts or cover trading losses. |
Segregation concerns the separation of client money from operational funds; negative balance protection is intended to prevent a protected client from owing more than the account balance. Neither prevents trading losses. FSCS protection is limited to eligible claims involving the UK firm, up to £85,000 per claimant, per firm; it does not cover trading losses or automatically extend to DIFC accounts.
HYCM Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
HYCM’s FX pricing is either spread-only or spread plus commission, so the relevant comparison is the cost of a completed trade, not the headline spread alone. Costs can also accrue while a position is held or when funds are converted; account inactivity and payment-provider charges matter for different usage patterns.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
The Fixed account has spreads starting at 1.5 pips, while the Classic account has floating spreads from 1.2 pips; neither charges a separate FX dealing commission. Raw spreads start at 0.1 pips, with a $4 round-turn commission per standard lot for forex. These are starting prices, not a guarantee of the spread available when you trade. HYCM also lists average EUR/USD spread information, but the available account-level verified-spread table does not provide data for a like-for-like account comparison.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | You may pay or receive an overnight swap if a position stays open past rollover. The amount changes with the instrument, trade size, long or short position, interest rates and holding period. | Swaps are worked out for qualifying trades carried into the next day. Rates can differ by market, position size, long/short direction and time held. |
| Currency conversion | You may be charged for converting money between your account currency and another currency, including for trading or settlement. Fees vary by entity, product and conversion method. | A fee or markup may apply whenever money moves between the account’s currency and another currency, including when trading. The applicable rate varies by entity and method. |
| Inactivity | After 3 months without activity, there is an inactivity fee of $10 per month. | The $10 monthly inactivity fee starts after 3 months without activity. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: HYCM shows a $0 broker charge for the withdrawal methods on its funding page, though banks and payment processors may charge their own fees. | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: HYCM’s funding page lists $0 broker fees for displayed withdrawal methods; banks/payment routes may still create external costs. |
Holding a leveraged position past rollover can add or credit financing, making holding period part of the cost comparison. Conversion charges may also matter when the account and transaction currencies differ, while external payment-provider charges can arise even where HYCM lists no broker withdrawal fee.
Which HYCM Account Should You Choose?
3.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
The account decision turns on the pricing model and whether you need automated execution. Fixed uses a stated fixed-spread structure without a separate FX commission, but excludes Expert Advisors; Classic has floating spreads without a separate FX commission and supports automation. Raw also supports automation, with a lower starting spread paired with a $4 round-turn commission per standard forex lot. The listed minimum is $20 for each account, though regional and account-tier requirements can reach up to $200 for Raw. For Raw, assess spread and commission together against your expected trading activity.
HYCM Trading Platforms
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
Choose HYCM Trader for mobile trading and account management; choose MT4 or MT5 when your workflow calls for MetaTrader tools. Both MetaTrader platforms are available on desktop, web and mobile, but Expert Advisors and custom-script tools require the desktop versions. HYCM has no proprietary desktop platform, and EAs are unavailable on the Fixed account, so automation requires both a suitable platform and an eligible account.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| HYCM Trader | Mobile | HYCM Trader is a mobile app for trading, following markets and managing an account. It doesn't offer a documented environment for writing trading bots. For Expert Advisors and more involved automation, HYCM traders use MT4 or MT5 instead. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | You can trade with MT4 on a phone or in a browser, but its Expert Advisors and custom scripts need the desktop platform. That's where the MQL4 automation tools are available. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 adds more advanced strategy testing and MQL5 automation to its trading tools. Those features run through desktop MT5, not the browser or mobile app. |
Markets and Instruments Available
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
HYCM’s listed markets are offered as leveraged CFDs or rolling spot forex, not as direct holdings of the underlying assets in those CFD markets. A stock CFD gives no shareholder or voting rights, and a cryptocurrency CFD does not place coins in a personal wallet. These products provide price exposure rather than ownership; availability and leverage depend on the product, account and jurisdiction.
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 70 | Keeping a forex trade open overnight can result in swap or financing charges. Leverage can reach 1:30 for eligible clients. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 15 | Index CFDs follow index prices without giving traders ownership of the underlying shares. Cash and futures contracts may have different trading hours, terms and financing costs. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 14 | Commodity CFDs track prices without requiring physical delivery. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Leverage can reach 1:20 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 1000 | Trading stock CFDs does not make you a shareholder or give you voting rights. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. Leverage can reach 1:5 for eligible clients. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 28 | Trading these crypto-linked contracts does not mean owning the coins or holding them in a personal wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:2. |
For traders seeking direct shares or cryptocurrency holdings, these CFD markets do not provide that form of ownership. The clearest regional gap is crypto: UK retail clients cannot trade HYCM’s cryptocurrency CFDs.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
3.7/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
For market preparation, HYCM lists Market Analysis, an Economic Calendar, Trading Central, technical and seasonal analysis, calculators, educational articles and FX-week-ahead webinars. These sit alongside platform tools rather than replacing them: MT5 includes six pending-order types and 21 timeframes, and both MetaTrader platforms offer strategy testing. HYCM allows news trading, but fast markets and gaps can produce favourable or unfavourable slippage. It has no dedicated direct API or free VPS hosting, so continuous automated operation requires arranging a VPS independently; there is no native HYCM copy-trading network, though MetaTrader Signals and third-party account copiers may be used.
HYCM Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
3.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.1
HYCM requires identity verification before clients can fund an account, trade or request withdrawals. It says clients have seven days after account creation to submit documents; account features may be restricted until approval. Funding is available by bank transfer, debit or credit card and e-wallet, with method-specific processing times and possible third-party charges.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
HYCM requests a clear government-issued photo ID and proof of address issued within the preceding three to six months, such as a recent utility bill or bank statement.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 300 (China-facing HYCM entity). | Deposit broker fees are not specified. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: Instant–7 business days. Withdrawal processing time: 1–7 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 20 (China-facing HYCM entity). | Deposit broker fees are not specified. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 1 hour. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available; the minimum amount is not specified. Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours. |
Customer Support
HYCM lists support by live chat, email, phone and Telegram, with support hours of 24/5. Its listed support languages include English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Swedish, Czech, Polish, Russian, Arabic, Persian, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, Hindi and Urdu. The general contact email is [email protected].
Who Should Choose HYCM?
HYCM’s strongest fit is an FX trader choosing between fixed pricing and MetaTrader automation. These priorities can conflict: the Fixed account excludes EAs, so algorithmic traders must choose Classic or Raw; the latter adds a per-lot commission to its tighter starting spread.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Trader seeking fixed FX spreads | Good, conditionally | The Fixed account offers spreads starting at 1.5 pips without a separate FX commission, but does not permit EAs. |
| MetaTrader algorithmic trader | Good, conditionally | MT4 and MT5 support EAs on Classic and Raw accounts; the Fixed account does not. |
| UK retail client seeking crypto CFDs | Poor | HYCM's listed crypto CFD restriction excludes UK retail clients. |
HYCM vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No withdrawal fee
- No commission
ACY SecuritiesForex Pairs, Stocks, Commodities, Cryptocurrencies, ETFs, IndicesDetailed Review
AdmiralsFCA, CySEC, ASIC, FSADetailed Review
For an automated strategy, the practical decision is between Classic’s floating spread without a separate FX commission and Raw’s tighter starting spread plus commission; the Fixed account is not an option for EAs.
FAQs
Which regulators authorise HYCM?
HYCM Capital Markets (UK) Limited is FCA-authorised under licence 186171. HYCM Capital Markets (DIFC) Ltd operates under DFSA licence F000048. The applicable entity depends on the client and location.
What is HYCM’s minimum deposit?
The listed minimum is $20 for the Fixed, Classic and Raw accounts. Requirements can vary by region and account tier, with the initial requirement reaching up to $200.
Does HYCM charge commission on forex trades?
Fixed and Classic accounts have no separate FX dealing commission. The Raw account has a $4 round-turn commission per standard forex lot, alongside raw spreads starting at 0.1 pips.
Can I use Expert Advisors with HYCM?
HYCM supports EAs through MT4 and MT5 on Classic and Raw accounts. Automated trading is disabled on the Fixed account.
What markets can I trade with HYCM?
HYCM lists forex, index CFDs, commodity CFDs, stock CFDs and cryptocurrency CFDs. Crypto CFD availability depends on jurisdiction and account type; UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives.
What deposit and withdrawal methods does HYCM list?
Listed methods include bank transfer, debit or credit card and e-wallets. Processing estimates vary by method: deposits range from instant to seven business days for bank transfers, while withdrawals range from up to one hour for cards to one to seven business days for bank transfers.
Does HYCM charge an inactivity fee?
HYCM charges $10 per month after three months without activity.