At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, CurreneX
- Regulators
- CIMA, MFSA, FSA, FSC, SCA
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on Tradeview
4.2/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can result in rapid losses, including the loss of your invested capital. Make sure you understand the risks before trading.
Tradeview is best suited to experienced traders comparing ECN pricing and automation workflows: it lists MT4, MT5, cTrader, Currenex, API trading and VPS hosting. Its two ILC accounts advertise raw FX spreads from 0.0 pips, but the choice is not interchangeable: Type 5 requires a $1,000 deposit, Type 7 charges more commission per lot, and platform access differs by account. The main qualification is legal-entity protection. Eligible MFSA retail clients have stated compensation protection, but offshore clients should not assume they receive the same safeguards. The account, platform and contracting entity therefore matter as much as the headline spread.
| Best for | Experienced scalpers and algorithmic traders comparing ECN account terms and platform options. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | Traders who need the same protections and account terms regardless of legal entity or who want to avoid per-lot ILC commissions. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of listed trading platforms and automation tools, alongside raw-spread ILC pricing. |
| Main drawback | Entity-specific safeguards and account-dependent commissions, deposits and platform access require careful comparison. |
How we reviewed it: This assessment weighs the stated account, fee, platform, instrument, funding and regulatory terms; it does not represent first-hand trading or withdrawal testing. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- ILC Type 7 has no fixed minimum deposit, and both listed ILC accounts advertise raw FX spreads from 0.0 pips.
- Tradeview lists MT4, MT5, cTrader and Currenex, plus API trading, VPS hosting and copy trading.
- A demo account is listed.
- Eligible retail accounts under the MFSA entity have stated investor compensation protection up to €20,000.
What to consider
- ILC Type 5 requires a $1,000 minimum deposit; ILC Type 7 charges $3.50 per lot per side.
- A $10 monthly inactivity charge is listed for Tradeview Europe ILC accounts after 12 months of continuous inactivity.
- Protection and leverage vary by entity and client group; offshore accounts do not automatically receive the stated MFSA compensation protection.
Tradeview at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2004 |
| Regulator / licence | MFSA (Tradeview Europe Ltd, Malta/EEA; authorisation ID TRDV, company C93990); CIMA, FSA, FSC and SCA are also listed for Tradeview across its regulatory jurisdictions. |
| Minimum initial deposit | $0 for ILC Type 7; $1,000 for ILC Type 5. The X-Leverage account requires $100. |
| Account types | ILC Type 5 and ILC Type 7 |
| Trading platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and Currenex |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrencies, ETPs and options |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:500 offshore; capped at 1:30 for EU retail clients under MFSA rules. |
| Account / funding currencies | EUR and USD account currencies |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is Tradeview Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
Tradeview Europe Ltd is identified as the Malta/EEA entity regulated by the MFSA (authorisation ID TRDV; company number C93990). CIMA, FSA, FSC and SCA are also listed, but the available details do not map each regulator to a specific contracting entity. The protections attached to one entity should not be assumed for another.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | Tradeview Europe Ltd (Malta / EEA) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | MFSA (Malta / EEA) |
| Licence / registration | MFSA: MFSA Authorisation ID TRDV; company C93990 |
| Client-money arrangements | Tradeview states that client funds are segregated. |
| Negative balance protection | Tradeview states that negative balance protection applies, preventing retail account balances from falling below $0. |
| Investor compensation | Eligible retail accounts under the MFSA entity are protected at 90% of net losses up to €20,000 (approximately $22,000). No single statutory safety net applies to every Tradeview account. |
Segregation and negative balance protection address different risks from compensation for losses if a firm fails. The stated 90% compensation protection applies to eligible retail accounts under the MFSA entity, not automatically to offshore accounts; UK FSCS, Cyprus ICF and US SIPC coverage does not automatically extend to offshore Tradeview accounts.
Tradeview Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
For ILC traders, the relevant cost is the spread at execution plus commission—not the advertised minimum spread alone. Swaps, currency conversion, inactivity and payment-method charges can also affect the total, particularly for overnight positions, non-base-currency transactions or dormant accounts.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
Both ILC tiers advertise FX spreads from 0.0 pips, a starting figure rather than an observed average or a guaranteed execution spread. Type 5 charges $2.50 per lot per side and Type 7 $3.50 per lot per side, so the lower-commission tier is not automatically cheaper overall: the spread and commission together matter at your trading volume and holding period.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Tradeview Europe says it transfers its liquidity providers’ swap costs without adding a markup, with the underlying rates changing as market conditions move. | Tradeview Europe says swaps vary with market conditions and it passes through liquidity-provider swap costs without an additional swap markup. |
| Currency conversion | Using a currency other than your account’s base currency can bring an exchange-rate markup or fee. The rate depends on the product, legal entity and how the conversion is handled. | Conversion costs may arise if the currency of a deposit, withdrawal, trade, profit/loss or settlement differs from the account currency. Rates are not the same across all entities or products. |
| Inactivity | Tradeview Europe lists a $10 monthly inactivity charge, or the base-currency equivalent, for its ILC account. | Tradeview Europe lists a $10 (or base-currency equivalent) monthly inactivity fee on its ILC account pricing. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: USD 35 bank-wire fee and 1%–1.5% Skrill/Neteller fees according to the broker’s withdrawal form | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Tradeview lists a USD 35 bank-wire withdrawal charge and a 1% e-wallet charge in the payment-method information; charges depend on route. |
Overnight financing is relevant to positions carried beyond the trading day, while conversion charges can arise whenever a transaction or balance is in a currency other than the account base currency. Inactivity is the cost to watch if an ILC account is left dormant; withdrawal charges are method-specific.
Which Tradeview Account Should You Choose?
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
The ILC choice is a trade-off between entry requirement and commission: Type 7 has no fixed minimum deposit but charges $3.50 per standard lot per side, while Type 5 requires $1,000 and charges $2.50 per lot per side. Both specify MT5, and the available information gives no volume threshold at which the lower Type 5 commission offsets its higher deposit requirement. The separate X-Leverage account has a $100 minimum and no commission, but its other terms are not detailed here.
Tradeview Trading Platforms
4.6/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
The platform choice affects how a strategy is built and run, not just which interface is used. MT4 and MT5 support desktop, web and mobile trading, but their automated strategies run on desktop or a VPS; cTrader’s C# and Python cBots can instead use supported cloud execution without a VPS. Currenex is listed for forex execution, though its device access and bot-development features are not established here. The two listed ILC accounts specify MT5, so access to the other platforms should be confirmed for the chosen account.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | Expert Advisors make MT4 useful for traders with rules-based strategies. They run through the desktop application, sometimes hosted on a VPS, while mobile and web are for everyday trades. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 supports custom MQL5 strategies and more detailed testing than a basic web terminal. Bots run on desktop MT5 or a VPS, while the mobile and browser versions focus on trading. |
| cTrader | Web, Desktop, Mobile | cTrader's C# and Python cBots offer a route to automated trading. You'll need a desktop for coding and backtesting, but supported cloud execution doesn't require a VPS. |
| Currenex | Not verified | Tradeview lists Currenex for forex execution. Its public documentation doesn't clearly specify device access or in-platform bot development, and Tradeview's separate FIX/API offering shouldn't be treated as a Currenex feature. |
Markets and Instruments Available
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 60 | Forex positions held overnight may incur swap or financing charges. Available currency pairs and margin requirements depend on the account. Leverage can reach 1:200 for eligible clients. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 15 | Index CFDs let traders follow an index’s price without owning its constituent shares. Cash and futures contracts may have different trading hours, terms and financing costs. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 10 | Commodity CFDs provide price exposure without physical delivery. Trading hours vary by contract. Financing charges may also apply. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 800 | Share CFDs follow stock prices, but do not provide share ownership or voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The offering is weighted towards US-listed shares. |
| Crypto | Crypto trading (platform-dependent); Country-specific crypto instrument count not verified | Crypto products and trading arrangements differ by platform and entity. UK retail clients cannot trade crypto derivatives, and access depends on the account and region. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; Exact market-specific ETF count not publicly disclosed | ETF CFDs let traders follow fund prices without buying the ETF units. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. |
| Options | Options / futures options (specialist platforms); Live options-contract count not verified | Options on specialist futures platforms require separate trading permission. The number of live contracts changes by exchange, strike and expiry. |
For stock and ETF exposure, the listed CFDs track prices but do not confer ownership of shares or fund units; they therefore serve a different purpose from buying the underlying asset. The offering also includes other leveraged contracts, while crypto access depends on platform and entity, and options require separate permission on specialist futures platforms.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.2/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
Market Analysis and an Economic Calendar provide market information, while webinars, trading articles and platform instructions are listed as learning materials. For execution, Tradeview lists copy and social trading, API trading and VPS hosting; platform-specific automation includes MT4 Expert Advisors, MT5 MQL5 tools and cTrader cBots. Its slippage information says fills can improve or worsen and that limit orders are generally executed at the specified price or better. These descriptions do not establish execution quality.
Tradeview Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.0/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.2
Identity verification is required. Account minimums and funding minimums are distinct: ILC Type 7 has no fixed account minimum, ILC Type 5 requires $1,000, and X-Leverage requires $100, while the listed Standard payment methods require USD 100. Availability and terms depend on the account and entity.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Country restrictions apply, but the listed restriction codes do not identify the affected countries here. The steps, required documents and approval time are Apply online and provide a government-issued photo ID and recent proof of address (such as a utility bill or bank statement). Approval and any residency restrictions are determined by the contracting company..
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fee: USD 35. | Deposit processing time: 1–3 business days. Withdrawal processing time: up to 3 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fees are not specified. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 100 (Standard). Withdrawals are available; the minimum amount is not specified. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. Withdrawal broker fee: 1%. | Deposits are processed instantly. Withdrawal processing time: up to 24 hours. |
Customer Support
Support is listed as available 24/5 by live chat, email and phone, in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Japanese, Korean and Arabic. No support-response test is represented here.
Who Should Choose Tradeview?
The account decision is clearest for traders comparing the two ILC tiers: Type 7 lowers the entry barrier, while Type 5 lowers the stated per-lot commission but requires $1,000. That pricing choice matters only if the available platform and the protections attached to the contracting entity also suit the trader.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| Experienced scalper or algorithmic trader | Conditional | Raw-spread ILC accounts and MT5, MT4, cTrader, API and VPS tools are listed; commissions and account-specific platform access need consideration. |
| Trader seeking a low initial entry | Conditional | ILC Type 7 has no fixed minimum deposit, while its commission is $3.50 per lot per side; the Standard payment-method minimum is USD 100. |
| EU retail client prioritising regulated protections | Conditional | Tradeview Europe Ltd is under the MFSA; eligible retail accounts have stated compensation protection, and EU retail leverage is capped at 1:30. |
Tradeview vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No commission
BlackBull MarketsForex Pairs, Stocks, Indices, Commodities, Futures, CryptocurrenciesDetailed Review
CMC MarketsFCA, ASIC, BaFin, CIRO, MAS, FMADetailed Review
For a trader who can meet the deposit, Type 5 is the lower-commission ILC option; those prioritising a smaller initial commitment can choose Type 7, accepting its higher commission per lot.
FAQs
Which regulator oversees Tradeview Europe Ltd?
Tradeview Europe Ltd is identified as the Malta/EEA entity under the MFSA, with authorisation ID TRDV and company number C93990. Confirm that this is the entity contracting with you.
What is the minimum deposit for Tradeview?
ILC Type 7 has no fixed minimum deposit, ILC Type 5 requires $1,000, and the X-Leverage account requires $100. The listed Standard payment methods have a USD 100 minimum.
What commissions do Tradeview’s ILC accounts charge?
ILC Type 5 charges $2.50 per standard lot per side, and ILC Type 7 charges $3.50 per standard lot per side. Both advertise FX spreads from 0.0 pips.
Which trading platforms does Tradeview list?
Tradeview lists MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and Currenex. The two listed ILC accounts specify MT5; confirm which platforms are available for your selected account.
What markets can I trade with Tradeview?
The listed markets include forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrencies, ETPs and options. Product availability and terms can depend on platform, account and region.
Does Tradeview charge for deposits or withdrawals?
Tradeview lists no general deposit or withdrawal fee, but method-specific charges are also listed: bank-transfer withdrawals may cost USD 35 and e-wallet withdrawals 1%. Check the method and entity terms that apply to your account.
Does Tradeview offer a demo account?
Yes. Tradeview lists a demo account.