At a glance
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Platforms
- Axi Trading Platform, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader WebTrader, MetaTrader 5, Copy Trading App
- Regulators
- ASIC, FMA, FCA, CySEC, DFSA, VFSC, FSA
- Leverage
- 500
Our Verdict on Axi
4.3/5Overall score
Risk warning: CFDs and leveraged trading can lead to rapid losses. You may lose money, and leverage magnifies both gains and losses.
Axi is best suited to forex and CFD traders who want MT4 or MT5, especially those running automated strategies on desktop. Its main practical advantage is a choice between spread-based Standard pricing and raw-spread accounts with separate commissions. The trade-off is that there is no single global set of costs or protections: the relevant account, products and safeguards depend on the entity serving your country. Before opening an account, identify that entity and decide whether the commission-based pricing suits your trading; overnight financing and currency conversion can also affect total costs.
| Best for | Forex and CFD traders who want MT4/MT5, including desktop EA users. |
|---|---|
| Not ideal for | UK retail traders seeking crypto CFDs, which are not available to that client group. |
| Biggest strength | Choice of MT4/MT5 and spread-only or raw-spread commission account pricing. |
| Main drawback | Costs, leverage, product access and protections vary by account and legal entity. |
How we reviewed it: This assessment considers Axi's stated account, regulatory, cost, platform and product terms; it does not treat execution claims as independently measured results. See our review methodology.
What stands out
- MT4 and MT5 are available, with desktop support for Expert Advisors and automated strategies.
- Standard pricing has no separate forex commission, while Pro and Elite offer raw FX spreads with account-specific commissions.
- Axi lists multiple CFD asset classes, including forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrencies and ETFs.
What to consider
- Terms and protections depend on the legal entity, client category and account.
- Overnight financing, currency conversion and a possible inactivity fee can add costs.
- UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.
Axi at a Glance
| Feature | Broker disclosures and checked findings |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2007 |
| Regulator / licence | ASIC 318232; FCA 466201; CySEC 433/23; DFSA reference F003742; New Zealand FSP518226. Entity and client eligibility vary. |
| Minimum initial deposit | Varies by account and payment method. Standard has no fixed minimum in the UK account terms; Axi recommends $100 there. Other account thresholds may apply. |
| Account types | Standard, Pro, Swap-Free, Premium, Axi Elite and Spread Betting |
| Trading platforms | Axi Trading Platform, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader WebTrader, MetaTrader 5 and Copy Trading App |
| Markets | Forex, indices, commodities, stocks, cryptocurrencies and ETFs, primarily as CFDs or other leveraged products |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:1000 for eligible international accounts; limits depend on entity, client status and product. UK retail major FX is up to 1:30. |
| Account / funding currencies | AUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, HKD, JPY, NZD, PLN, SGD and USD |
| Demo account | Yes |
Is Axi Safe, Legit and Regulated?
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Axi serves clients through several legal entities. The UK entity is Axi Financial Services (UK) Limited, FCA licence 466201; the Australian entity is AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd, ASIC licence 318232. Solaris EMEA Ltd is listed for the Cyprus/EEA route under CySEC licence 433/23. Axi's New Zealand route is listed as FSP518226; registration as a financial-service provider should not be taken to mean that every service is licensed. The entity holding your account determines which protections apply.
Regulation and Client Protections
| Regulatory question | Documented finding and limitations |
|---|---|
| Contracting legal entities | AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd (Australia); Solaris EMEA Ltd (EEA / Cyprus); AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd (DIFC Branch) (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); Axi Financial Services (UK) Limited (United Kingdom); AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd / New Zealand branch (New Zealand) |
| Regulators / jurisdictions | ASIC (Australia); CySEC (EEA / Cyprus); DFSA (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients); FCA (United Kingdom); FMA (New Zealand) (New Zealand) |
| Licence / registration | ASIC: 318232; CySEC: 433/23; DFSA: DFSA Ref F003742; FCA: 466201; FMA (New Zealand): FSP518226 |
| Client-money arrangements | Axi states that client funds are held in segregated accounts. The stated arrangement and applicable requirements depend on the relevant entity. |
| Negative balance protection | Available to eligible retail clients in certain regulated jurisdictions, including the UK and Europe; professional or other clients may not qualify. |
| Investor compensation | For qualifying claims against Axi's covered UK investment firm, FSCS compensation can reach £85,000 per person, per firm. Eligibility depends on the firm, account and claim; it does not cover trading losses. |
Segregation separates client money from company operating funds, but does not remove market risk or guarantee recovery in every circumstance. Negative balance protection is limited to eligible retail clients in certain regulated jurisdictions; professional clients and clients under other entities may not qualify. The FSCS limit applies only to qualifying claims against the covered UK firm, not to trading losses. The New Zealand FSP registration is not itself an investment-services licence.
Axi Fees, Spreads and Commissions
4.5/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Axi uses two pricing conventions: Standard builds forex trading costs into the spread, while Pro and Elite add a separate commission to raw spreads. To compare them, consider the combined spread and commission for your account and trading activity, then account for holding and conversion costs where relevant.
Spreads, Commissions and Total Trading Costs
The verified Standard EUR/USD spread is 0.6 pips, with no separate forex commission. Pro and Elite list raw FX spreads from 0.0 pips, but add commissions that vary by account and client region. A starting spread is not a typical spread over time, and market conditions can affect costs.
| Account | EUR/USD spread | Commission and convention |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | 0.6 | No separate forex commission; trading cost included in the spread. |
Other Trading and Non-Trading Fees
| Fee | Amount / trigger | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Overnight financing, swap or margin interest | Axi describes swaps/financing as overnight costs for qualifying positions; swap-free accounts can instead carry an overnight holding fee. | Axi describes swaps/financing as overnight costs for qualifying positions; swap-free accounts can instead carry an overnight holding fee. |
| Currency conversion | You may be charged for converting money between your account currency and another currency, including for trading or settlement. Fees vary by entity, product and conversion method. | A fee or markup may apply whenever money moves between the account’s currency and another currency, including when trading. The applicable rate varies by entity and method. |
| Inactivity | Axi may charge a monthly inactivity fee after 12 continuous months without any trades and no open positions; the charge depends on account currency. | Axi may charge a monthly inactivity fee after 12 continuous months without any trades and no open positions; the charge depends on account currency. |
| Deposits / withdrawals | Deposit: No; Withdrawal: No | Deposit: No general broker deposit fee is listed (method-specific or third-party charges may apply); Withdrawal: Axi’s official support pages differ: one says that withdrawals below USD 50 may incur a USD 25 administration fee (unless the full balance is withdrawn), while a more recent page states that Axi charges no withdrawal fees. Bank/intermediary and crypto-network charges may apply. Check the fee in the client portal. |
Financing is relevant when leveraged positions remain open overnight; conversion charges matter when the account and transaction currencies differ. An inactivity fee may apply after 12 continuous months with no trades and no open positions. Axi lists no broker deposit or withdrawal fee, though banks and payment providers may charge separately.
Which Axi Account Should You Choose?
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
Standard suits traders who prefer spread-based pricing with no separate FX commission; the UK terms list no fixed minimum and recommend $100. Pro is the UK raw-spread option, with a $4.50 round-trip commission per standard lot and a recommended $100 opening amount. Premium also lists raw spreads from 0.0 pips and a $4.50 round-trip commission per standard lot for international accounts; its listed $100 opening amount is recommended for that route. Axi Elite is aimed at higher-volume traders, with raw spreads from 0.0 pips, a $3.50 round-trip commission per standard FX lot and a recommended $25,000 opening amount. Swap-Free follows the linked account's pricing and may replace swaps with overnight administration fees. Spread Betting is listed for MT4, with costs mainly built into the spread and no separate FX dealing commission. Account availability and conditions depend on the relevant entity.
Axi Trading Platforms
4.4/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
The platform choice depends on how you trade: desktop MT4 or MT5 supports automated strategies, while the browser and mobile routes suit access without that automation. Axi's own web and mobile platform and the Copy Trading App serve different workflows from programming an algorithm; the distinctions and platform-specific limits are set out below.
Desktop, Web and Trading Platforms
| Platform | Availability | Evidence-backed strength or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Axi Trading Platform | Web, Mobile | Axi's own platform provides web and mobile access for placing trades and looking after your account. It isn't documented as a platform for writing automated strategies; for that kind of trading, Axi points users towards MetaTrader. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT4's main appeal for automated traders is its library of MQL4 bots and custom indicators. Expert Advisors need desktop MT4 or a VPS, rather than the web or mobile versions. |
| MetaTrader WebTrader | Web, Mobile | Trade and manage MetaTrader positions directly in a browser, with no installation required. The trade-off is that Expert Advisors don't run in the web terminal. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Web, Desktop, Mobile | MT5 adds more advanced strategy testing and MQL5 automation to its trading tools. Those features run through desktop MT5, not the browser or mobile app. |
| Copy Trading App | Mobile | The Copy Trading App lets you follow strategies and manage copied trades from your phone. Copying can happen automatically, but it isn't the same as building your own algorithm. More advanced programmable automation, where supported, lives on a separate platform or API. |
Markets and Instruments Available
3.8/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
| Asset class | Products offered | Restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | Leveraged FX (CFD / rolling spot); 70 | Keeping a forex trade open overnight can result in swap or financing charges. The account determines which currency pairs are available and the margin required. Leverage can reach 1:1000 for eligible clients. |
| Indices | Index CFDs; 15 | Index CFDs follow index prices without giving traders ownership of the underlying shares. Holding costs, rollovers and trading hours depend on the contract. The index range and margin requirements also depend on the account or legal entity. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:200. |
| Commodities | Commodity CFDs; 28 | Commodity CFDs provide price exposure without physical delivery. Some contracts have expiry dates or require a rollover. Financing charges may also apply. Leverage can reach 1:1000 for eligible clients. |
| Stocks | Stock CFDs; 100 | Trading stock CFDs does not make you a shareholder or give you voting rights. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The share range and margin requirements vary by account. |
| Crypto | Crypto CFDs; 30 | Crypto derivatives track prices without giving traders coins to hold in a wallet. Availability depends on the region and account type. UK retail clients cannot trade these derivatives. Eligible clients in permitted jurisdictions may use leverage up to 1:200. |
| ETFs | ETF CFDs; 130 | ETF CFDs let traders follow fund prices without buying the ETF units. Overnight positions may incur financing charges. The ETFs available and their margin requirements depend on the account and region. Eligible clients may use leverage up to 1:25. |
Axi's listed stocks, ETFs and cryptocurrencies are CFDs, so they provide price exposure rather than ownership of shares, fund units or coins; crypto CFDs do not provide coins for a wallet. Region and account determine which products are available, including the exclusion of these crypto derivatives for UK retail clients. Commodity contracts may expire or require rollover, and overnight financing can apply to positions.
Execution, Trading Tools and Research
4.1/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
The economic calendar and trading alerts can help users follow scheduled events, while market research and reports provide additional market information; Axi Academy covers trading fundamentals, with separate guides on MT4 and account rules. These resources are distinct from execution tools and do not establish the quality of any trading decision. Axi describes execution prices as capable of differing slightly in either direction from the submitted level; this is not an independently measured result.
Axi Deposits, Withdrawals and Account Opening
4.3/5Area score
Overall review score: 4.3
A live account requires identity verification, and funding minimums and available methods vary by location and account. The payment table gives the listed routes and processing estimates; its method-specific requirements may affect which route is practical for an initial deposit or withdrawal.
Account Opening and Identity Verification
Applicants typically provide a passport, national identity card or driver's licence, plus a recent utility bill, bank statement or similar document showing their name and residential address. Axi says documents can be uploaded through its client portal or trading app. Electronic checks may complete in minutes, while a manual review may take 1–2 business days.
Deposit and Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Deposit / withdrawal availability | Broker fee | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: International: no minimum; UK local: GBP 10. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 50 (or full remaining balance). | No broker fee applies to deposits. Bank fees may apply. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: 1–3 days. Withdrawal processing time: 2–5 business days. |
| Debit / credit card | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 5. Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 5. | Deposit broker fee: Free up to USD 50,000 monthly (may vary above). No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: Instant (UK). Withdrawals are processed instantly. |
| E-wallets | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 5 (Neteller) / USD 10 (Skrill/PayPal). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: Skrill / Neteller: USD 5; PayPal: USD 10. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are usually processed within minutes. Withdrawal processing time is not specified. |
| Crypto | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: USD 30 (crypto, FCA entity). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: USD 30. | Deposit broker fees are not specified. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposit processing time: 0–15 minutes. Withdrawal processing time: 1–2 business days. |
| Local / QR payments | Deposits are available. Minimum requirement: BRL 30 (PIX) / SGD 10 (PayNow). Withdrawals are available. Minimum requirement: PIX: USD 5; 1-2Pay: THB 500. | No broker fee applies to deposits. No broker fee applies to withdrawals. | Deposits are usually processed within minutes. Withdrawals are processed instantly. |
Customer Support
Axi lists live chat, email, WhatsApp, phone or callback, and a help centre. Support is listed as available 24/7 in English, Polish, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Italian, Greek and Arabic. Published contact details include [email protected] and +44 203 544 9646.
Who Should Choose Axi?
The account decision is mainly whether spread-only Standard pricing or raw spreads with a separate commission better suits your trading; Pro and Premium list a recommended $100 opening amount, while Axi Elite lists $25,000. For automated strategies, the relevant distinction is execution on desktop MT4 or MT5 rather than browser or mobile terminals. Axi is not an option for UK retail clients seeking the listed crypto derivatives.
| Profile | Fit | Decisive reason |
|---|---|---|
| MT4/MT5 trader using EAs | Good | MT4 supports MQL4 Expert Advisors and MT5 supports MQL5 automation on desktop. |
| Trader seeking raw FX spreads | Conditional | Pro, Premium and Elite list raw spreads from 0.0 pips, with account-specific commissions and funding recommendations. |
| UK retail trader seeking crypto CFDs | Poor | UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives. |
Axi vs Alternatives
Libertex1:999Maximum leverageDetailed Review
Capital.com- No inactivity fee
- No commission
AdmiralsStocks, ETFs, Bonds, Forex Pairs, Indices, Commodities, CryptocurrenciesDetailed Review
CMC MarketsFCA, ASIC, BaFin, CIRO, MAS, FMADetailed Review
For a trader who does not need desktop automation, the deciding question is whether Axi's spread-and-commission account structure matches the intended trading style; for UK retail crypto traders, product access rules settle the choice.
FAQs
Which regulators oversee Axi?
Axi's listed regulatory routes include the FCA in the UK, ASIC in Australia, CySEC in Cyprus/EEA, DFSA in the DIFC and the FMA route in New Zealand. The contracting entity and protections depend on your location and account.
Does Axi offer negative balance protection?
Axi describes negative balance protection for eligible retail clients in certain regulated jurisdictions, including the UK and Europe. It may not apply to professional clients or clients under other entities.
What is the minimum deposit for an Axi account?
The minimum depends on account and payment method. The UK Standard account has no fixed minimum in the listed terms, with $100 recommended. Pro also lists $100 recommended for UK clients, while Axi Elite lists $25,000 recommended.
Does Axi charge commission on trades?
Standard includes forex costs in the spread and has no separate forex commission. Pro and Elite charge separate commissions, which vary by account and client region. Overnight financing and currency conversion may also affect total costs.
Which platforms can I use with Axi?
Axi lists its own web and mobile platform, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader WebTrader, MetaTrader 5 and a mobile Copy Trading App. MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 automated strategy features run on desktop, not in browser or mobile terminals.
What markets does Axi offer?
Axi lists forex, index CFDs, commodity CFDs, stock CFDs, crypto CFDs and ETF CFDs. Availability varies by region and account; UK retail clients cannot trade the listed crypto derivatives.
How long do Axi deposits and withdrawals take?
Published estimates vary by method: bank-transfer deposits are listed at 1–3 days and withdrawals at 2–5 business days; card deposits are instant in the UK and card withdrawals are processed instantly. Other methods have separate processing estimates and eligibility conditions.